We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here on my first trip to Iceland. The hotel appears dated from the outside, and looks like an old business centre. Inside, scandinavian design in lots of natural wood, stone, and minimalist features are quite striking. Rooms are very small, but have comfortable beds and functional bathrooms. Heating was a non-issue.

An important factor is that this hotel is NOT near the downtown core. You do, however, get a free transit pass (I think buses run 2x/hour) with a stop out front of the hotel. You can walk downtown (probably 20-30 minute walk), but there are some busy highways to maneuver.

The restaurant was great, but $45 CAD for Breakfast buffet seemed excessive. Food in Iceland is expensive overall. There are a few "grab and go" options (sandwiches, croissants, and coffee items). Reservations are recommended.
.
We stayed here as part of a Travelzoo deal, so we were out on a lot of tours. Tours were prompt and well displayed screens/signs to help you figure out where to go. The tour desk and front desk staff were pleasant and helpful.

We were a few floors above the banquet rooms, which proved to be a bad thing when a wedding started and the music was booming. When I called the front desk, they offered another room in another wing of the hotel, but we were so exhausted from tours that I couldn't be bothered. There was no consideration of acoustics when building this hotel

We didn't get to use the pool because the pool hours are quite useless late open, early close especially if you're on tours/exploring the city.

There is a regional airport right behind the hotel, but I honestly didn't notice any noise from it.

Overall, this was a pleasant experience, but being our first time in Iceland, I wish we were a bit closer to the town core and other attractions.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the banquet halls if there is a wedding booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    565
    237
    29
    14
See reviews for
166
507
97
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Cons: location. The are a few other hotels right in downtown reykavik but we got this stay as part of a Groupon package so we didn't have a choice. It's about a 25 min walk into town but they do offer free bus passes that come in handy.
Pros: clean, classic, simple rooms. Beds were very comfortable. Friendly hotel staff. There is an excursion desk in the hotel which is a great help. The breakfast buffet was included in our package and had a nice selection of fresh baked breads among other tasty treats.
Overall, I LOVED my trip to Iceland and my stay at Natura!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really liked this note and the other hotels in the Icelandair chain. This one has a particularly good restaurant and a nice spa. It's right at the domestic airport, but honestly, I never heard a plane after check in. Staff was nice and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location of this hotel put us off at first - it is not in the center of town. You'll get over that quickly with the free bus card provided for you at the desk, or by just walking into Reykjavik. It's quiet. I like the staff. We ate supper in the dining room one night, and it was very good. Well worth the money. Make sure you walk across the street into the wooded area - pretty trails. Good reliable place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a "Poet Room," which was nice. If you choose a west facing room, make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The highlight of this hotel was the staff. They were always helpful and were able to help us whether it was an excursion we wanted to book, directions to a restaurant or helping us get another flight after ours was cancelled. The buffet breakfast had many choices and the baked goods were especially good. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was awesome with controls for both pressure and water temperature! The hotel was a short (20 minute) walk from downtown. If you wanted they would provide you with a free bus pass. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a local airport on one side of the hotel. Our room faced the airport and weekday flights di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were there for a total of 4 days in May 2014. We arrived at 7:30 AM and we were provided a room right away. Check-in time is usually 10am but they had room and took pity on two tired travelers. The room was small but clean and modern. Plenty of room for two suitcases and our assorted stuff. Really appreciated the location because we walked a lot and could always find our way back. Breakfast was provided and it was yummy!! I'm a gluten free eater and they had plenty of options for me including BREAD. Quite a treat. Great staff, good food, clean rooms, easy to find, close enough to town that you can afford a taxi if you're too lazy to walk or take the bus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked this trip using Gate 1 Travel and they were very well put together. I loved the optional excursions offered separately that would fit into our tight schedule. Not knowing where anything is or what time frame it would take, this was a very important piece for us and Gate 1 knew what would work perfectly. This hotel was very nice, clean, friendly with helpful staff. Hotel is located about 2 miles away from the main part of downtown or 20 min walk. They do offer a bus pass you can take, but must return to avoid charges. We were here in March and the hotel was super packed and very busy, so service in the bar lounge was very slow, but drinks were good once you got them. The buffet breakfast was "ok" for us, but fine for most. We did have to wait a few hours before our room was available, but once we got in, room satisfied all needs! I would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: This hotel is backed by an airport, so a little noisy on our side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.