We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May. The name was deceiving as I thought it would be in a park-like setting with walking trails outside the door. That being said, we found the hotel to be comfortable and clean with a good restaurant. We liked having a frig in our room for drinks and snacks. Public transportation to central Reykjavik was nearby with the hotel providing passes.

Next trip we would likely stay in the centre of Reyjkavik to be closer to shops and restaurants, but this hotel was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    470
    202
    27
    12
See reviews for
135
411
82
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Choosing the Natura for our first ever stay in Reykjavik, we had only web descriptions to judge from, and the surprisingly low cost when booking some months in advance made us almost anxious that we were being fooled. But not at all; the room was everything we had hoped it to be, the staff very friendly and helpful, the breafast tasty and plentiful, and then the spa made a very pleasant bonus. The location on the outskirts of Reykjavik ment we had a nice walk to town every day, on clarely marked footpaths anlongside the main road - all in fresh Icelandic air. Those few times we felt too lazy, the hotel's free shuttle bus service came in handy. Our only agony was that the wi-fi network did not work properly in our room (in the far end of one wing) - but on the whole we really enjoyed Natura and hope to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a hotel near the small domestic Iceland airport. We did not experience any noise from any aircraft taking off or landing. The only noise was from loud American's in the hallways at night, and I could hear the person above me walking around.

The rooms are small but adequate. They were clean and comfortable. I would bring moisturizer for the skin as all water in Iceland uses sulfur to purify it. It also gives off a slight odor, but this is for all hotels.

The free morning breakfast has the standard European options as well as other things you may venture to try. There really are not to many places to eat breakfast in the city as things do not generally open until 10 am.

This hotel provides a free bus pass for the city, making it easy to get around.

The hotel has a place to book tours and will adjust the time of any tour your previously scheduled. If you have AAA it is best to go to the company and book to get your discount.

This hotel also provides discounts for a few museums, which I took advantage of.

We stayed in Iceland 4 days and nights and that was far enough to experience the country. I would only stay longer if I was golfing at a few courses or driving around the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I thought it was going to be a let down because it's a adjacent to the Iceland Air corporate offices but the hotel was really nice. The rooms were decent size and the bathroom was super clean. The shower was small but functional. The water is amazing because it's all from the hot springs. Bring extra face lotion! I used a light night cream during the day to prevent dry skin (I took really long showers, the water is just that good). The beds were ok, we just ended up sleeping on our own because of the crack in the middle.

Yes you're not in downtown Reykjavik but the front desk will give you free bus tickets and it's a really nice ride.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited Reykjavik again, and stayed at the Natura for a second time.

Last year, we stayed in a Deluxe room. It was so huge, I figured that the standard room would suffice this time. Not so. It was much, much smaller, along the lines of a room in London or New York City (OK, maybe a touch bigger). Very few places to put your bags, to place toiletries, and almost no electrical outlets. I prefer the shower, which is less treacherous than the bath in the Deluxe room.

Not only are the rooms small, but the standard rooms do not include free wireless internet and free access to the spa, the latter being a major selling point to staying at this hotel. It's relatively cheap to upgrade online to any other class of room (before you go), which gives you wifi and spa, but becomes much pricier if you upgrade onsite or pay a la carte. The fact that these services are not included with the standard room, but are with the better rooms, is not explained on any of the travel reservation sites, nor is it on the Natura's own web site.

Although the restaurant and lobby areas are nice at the Natura, I'm not sure that there's a compelling reason to stay there if you don't use the spa. If you do, make sure you don't book a standard room. If you don't, it's reasonably far from the city and restaurants, and the rooms are not charming, so you might be better off somewhere else.

Another secret about the Natura is the lunch buffet at Satt. The breakfast buffet has a huge variety of options and is very good quality, and dinners are excellent (but not cheap), but you get a good variety of restaurant-quality options at lunch for only a few dollars more than breakfast. Of course, many people are out on tours at lunch, perhaps that's why they offer a little more.

Other points:
- Very good service
- Hard beds
- Travel service person onsite (very handy)

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room. Rooms that face the runway have a great view but can be noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the pink suit on our wedding night and I have to say that I liked the whole interior. Bed was great. Loved the bath in the bathroom.
Room service was good for breakfast and they could sell us some toothpaste as we forgot it in the middle of everything

However the fact that it backs onto an airport is very poor. A lot of noise comes from airplanes taking off and landing. The private jet entrance is just at the back of the hotel.

Also there were drunken Icelanders in the lobby when we came to pick up keys about 2 in the morning who were making drunken comments about me and my then wife which I did not appreciate. Could have used a security guard to deal with this sort of personnel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, and overall it was a good experience. We decided to book the pink suite, which is (arguably) the best room of the hotel, as we had a special occasion to celebrate.

From the outside, the hotel looks more like an office than a hotel, but on the inside they have decorated it pretty nicely.

The suite is nicely decorated as well, is big (it seems to be made of two hotel rooms joined together), the bed is very comfortable, sofa is good, bathroom is great (big bath, as well as a good separate shower), and furthermore the usual stuff: water cooker with tea and coffee (and chocolates!), hair dryer, iron with ironing board, and of course a nice view of Reykjavík's domestic airport. Don't worry about the airport: yes there is the occasional prop plane taking off or landing, but weekdays it was quiet until about 7:30 AM, and activity seemed to end at around 9:30, 10:00 PM.

Included with the suite package was wi-fi access and access to the swimming pool, hot tub, steam cabin and sauna. We decided to have breakfast in the city itself, so I can't comment on the breakfast offerings of the on-site restaurant.

The hotel is not in the middle of the city, but (as others already noted) the walk to town isn't that bad, and you can borrow a bus card from the hotel, offering free bus rides across town.

So, why do I rate the hotel "very good" instead of "excellent"?

Well, there is room for improvements.

- Our room included access to the lounge (which was actually right next to the suite). However, on both days that we wanted to visit the lounge, we had to go past reception first as our room keys were not set up to open the lounge door. On top of that, after the first lounge visit, we couldn't open our own room's door, meaning another visit to reception. This was rather annoying, and really shouldn't have happened multiple times in a row;
(the lounge, by the way, was average at best, serving only soft drinks, light beer (2.25%) and a very limited offering of food: peanuts, fruit, some cookies)

- Wi-fi access was included with the room, but upon logging in you still have to agree to a charge to your room, and you receive an e-mail saying "you have paid, it will be charged to your room". Upon checkout, these costs are then waived. Wouldn't it be friendlier to include a message on the login screen saying "rooms X, Y and Z have access included", or even - it being 2013 - to offer free wi-fi across the whole hotel?

- Amenities in the bath room (shampoo, face spray, liquid hand soap) were of good quality, but shower gel and body lotion were lacking (we got some of the latter from the spa though, but still, please put it in the bathroom as well);

- the TV in our room appeared to have a life of its own, turning itself on at random three or four times during our stay (but luckily not in the middle of the night). Sitting on the sofa reading a book when suddenly the TV switches on is a bit strange, especially when the remote is nowhere near;

- the hotel sent us an e-mail afterwards about how we liked our visit; however, we were unable to send in the questionnaire as it kept on claiming we didn't fill it in completely, when in fact we did.

Of course, these are relatively minor things, and I wouldn't hesitate coming back, as we liked our stay here very much. The male member of staff who checked us out at 4 A.M. deserves a special mention; he was a really nice, friendly and helpful guy.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to the Pink Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.