We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got an upgraded room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
The World
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Got an upgraded room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Friends we were traveling with chose this hotel because of its proximity to the city airport (we were flying back from Greenland together, and getting in at 10 pm). It was very nice, but the location was only ideal if you needed something near the airport. After staying here we traveled to the West Fjords, and then came back to Reykjavik and stayed at the Centre Hotels Klopp-- a far better choice (though not as slick) for checking out the city center. Plenty of free parking (NOT true in the city center!) was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad that the hotels location next to our small domestic airport was convenient for you. I am sure that it came in handy when traveling around the country. And yes we do have a plenty of free parking spots for our guests that do rent a car to explore the country. I will have to disagree with you though regarding the location; I think it can be ideal in a lot of ways. For example for people that want to be able to explore the city center but then return to a peaceful and tranquil hotel in a beautiful natural surroundings. And it will only take you five minutes to drive to the center from the hotel, or you can take a 20 minutes’ walk to the center for a greater experience. If you do not want to walk and don´t have a car, you can always make use of our free bus pass service.

All in all I would like to thank you again for your review and I hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    470
    202
    27
    12
See reviews for
135
411
82
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks like an office building entrance makes up for it, the guy behind the counter said it costed billions of krones to get it likes this. I rather see it spent on the rooms, wifi, or cleaning. Rooms are decent, but dont get one with even numbers. Then you are looking straight at the airport. Desk says the flights stop after 9 pm. Not. If you like planes taking off and landing within 150 meters of your window this is your hotel. If not, bring some cheese to put in your ears :-) wifi is terrible, you have to pay, but to get connection you need to get into the hallway. In the room the connection is just not there. And to finish, what about you enter your room, check the bathroom and find someone elses pubic hair, three dots, clearly to see. This was not my perfect entrance to this hotel, walking in other's genital hair.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am very sorry to see that your bathroom was not cleaned decently. We are usually praised for the cleanliness of our rooms and of the whole hotel in general but clearly we can do better. Please accept my sincere apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Regarding the airport we seldom receive complaints and usually people enjoy watching the little domestic airport and the planes taking off and landing. Flights do stop at 9 pm so I am not sure why you tell otherwise.

Please let me know what room you were staying at so I can have a look at the internet connection, since our Wi-Fi should work in each and every room but we will definitely have to look into it if you were not able to connect in your room. Thank you for letting us know so we can make necessary adjustments.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Icelandair Hotel Natura some good things and other not so good. The lobby, public areas and central staircase are beautiful. The rooms are not bad. Bed was ok and I got a good night sleep. The restaurant was good yet expensive - you can easily run up a high bill, but the food was well presented and good quality (fish stew was simply marvellous). Breakfast was a bit crowded. Good selection and regular quality. Next time I will stay in an hotel in the center of Reykjavick. Nevertheless they give you free bus pass, it is far from the main attractions. One other point: it is located at the side of Reykjavick domestic airport - it is busy! - and the room is awfully hot. To refresh it you need to open the window and cope with the airplanes constant noise.

Room Tip: Try not to have the view of the airport or you will have to deal with the noise or to cook yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the newly renovated public areas and our restaurant, Satt. I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you visit Reykjavik and although Reykajvík Natura is not located exactly downtown, it only takes about 20 minutes to walk or you can, as you mentioned, use our free bus pass service. I would also like to point out all the fascinating things surrounding the hotel. For example all the walking paths found in the natural surroundings and the geothermal beach which is located about 500 meters from the hotel. You could also go for a walk up to the Pearl for some excellent views over Reykjavik city. And if you feel like staying inside, I definitely recommend the newly renovated indoor spa for the ultimate relaxation. We also have an indoor cinema room if you would like to catch an original Icelandic movie, of course with English subtitles.

At last I would like to thank you for stating your dissatisfaction regarding the room temperature; I will definitely forward your complaint to the general manager so we can work on a solution to fix this.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Icelandair Hotel Natura is a mixed afair - some great features and some not so great.

The good stuff includes the lobby, public areas and central staircase - all very cool and funky. The owners have put a lot of effort into making the entrance area very attractive. The central staircase is pure 1960's - very retro and very cool.

But the rooms! They are not bad but they are not in keeping with the quality or the design of the lobby/restaurant areas. Our room felt a bit "budget" and needed an update - it wasn't bad but it was clear that it hadn't been updated for a while. The bed was ok and I got a good nights sleep.

The restaurant was good but expensive - you can easily run up a high bill, but the food was well presented and good quality.

Breakfast was a bit lame - they are catering to package tours so don't put in much effort on the breakfast. The selection was small and the quality definitely "budget".

I wouldn't stay there again because the location is poor for Reykjavik and there is no compelling reason to stay there when you could select a city centre hotel.

Room Tip: I had an airport view which was quite nice - there aren't too many flights and it makes an inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour. Here is what I really liked about it:

a) The free bus pass (on a small deposit) makes exploring downtown Reykjavik a breeze. There is a bus stop right across from the hotel for #19 bus going to the downtown terminal . The bus comes every 20 minutes and is always on time. It takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the city center. Coming back is a little tricky because the bus goes to two different directions. Make sure you get on the one going to Hotel Natura! And remember to get a bus schedule along with the pass from reception.

b) Breakfast is included and is awesome! Large variety of fruits, cold cuts, breads, cereals, etc. Don't miss the Icelandic specialty yogurt called Skyr. Delicious!

c) The hotel is within walking distance of two attractions: The Pearl (Perlan) offers fantastic views of the city and reasonably priced food. There is a man made beach with a geo-thermal pool 10 minutes away. The locals hang out there in the summer.

Yes. The domestic airport is right behind the hotel but I barely heard any noises. They stop flying before 7pm. The restaurant is not cheap but just like everywhere else in Iceland. In fact, the food there is not overpriced for what it is.

That said, this hotel is not in the city center and the last bus leaves downtown at 11:30pm. If you want to experience the legendary night life in Reykjavik and stay in the bars/clubs until the wee hours, you are better off finding a place in the city center.

Overall, a great place to stay in Reykjavik. I would stay there again and highly recommend it for groups, families and anyone else who want to stay at a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the front end of the building if they plan to stay there during the day. People in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and thank you so much for recommending us to other readers, we highly appreciate it. I hope that you will have a chance to visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel was booked as part of a package holiday with flights and accommodation included. Hotel is clean and tidy but the room we stayed in was on the small side but expected it for the price we paid. There was free Internet access in the lobby which was handy to check weather up dates. The swimming pool/sauna was an added bonus. I had asked for a room at the front of the hotel as other reviewers had noted that you can hear the air planes if your room was at the back of the hotel. We rented a car so never used the free shuttle bus into the city, If we didn't have a car, I would certainly preferred to have stayed closer to the city, since we went to the city centre for breakfast and or dinner most days. All in all, we had a lovely experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and everything it has to offer. I agree with you regarding the spa, it truly is an amazing place. If you stay with us again I advise you to upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms. The room itself is bigger compared to a standard room and also has a bigger bathroom with a bathtub. An access to the 4th floor lounge and an access to the spa is included if you are staying at a deluxe room. You will also have a free Wi-Fi so you can check for weather updates straight from your room.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hognoul, Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were reviewing this hotel to accomodate a professional football club. We got exactly what we were looking for as to accomodation, meals, meeting rooms. This hotel is adjacent to Reykjavik domestic airport which is closed during the night.It is 2km away from City Centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.