We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I didn't have much time to research the merits of this hotel before booking a well-priced package from Icelandair. Fortunately the risk paid off. The hotel is clean and quiet. The basic rooms are pretty small and basic, but everything functions. There was always hot water in the shower and I slept well every night. The wi-fi (free for guests despite what it says on the web) is reliable and fast.

The hotel is something of a walk from Reykjavik, which would be more of an inconvenience in the winter. The bus pass provided free of charge by the hotel is very handy. Not many people use the bus and it only takes about 5 or 6 minutes to get to a bus station where you can switch to many other lines. There is also a grocery store (1011) just across the street from the station that was very handy considering all the hotel rooms have a mini fridge. As well, most tours include hotel pick-up so the distance is not really so inconvenient.

There is a restaurant in the hotel that is the only dining option nearby. (Next closest are two restaurants in the Perlan and a couple of take out type places near the long-distance bus station.)It is pricey, but comparable in price to similar class restaurants.There is a daily special, but if it does not strike your fancy, there is not a lot of choice. The buffet breakfast, by contrast, has lots of choice. They have the typical northern European breads, cold cuts and cheese as well as smoked salmon and jams. They also have fruit, granola, cereals, porridge and some rather rubbery eggs.

Despite the somewhat confusing information on the web, entrance to the spa is free for hotel guests. They do give you a towel, but robes and slippers are extra. There are lockers in the change rooms for your things. It's in the basement, so it is rather dark. There is a small pool, a sauna, and a very large hot tub (without jets). A nice extra to try out one day, although the hours are not terribly convenient.

The location near the domestic airport means that there is easy access to car rentals and roads leading out of Reykjavik. The paved roads in Iceland are well maintained and there is little traffic outside of the capital. Although gas is expensive, the agencies tend to rent diesel cars with standard transmissions, so the cars are efficient. Also, there is free parking at the hotel.

This is not the place to go if you are expecting luxury. However, it is very good value for those who plan to spend most of their visit outside of their hotel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Reykjavík Natura. It seems like you got lucky regarding the internet, since we are experiencing some technical issues and therefore the internet is free of charge at the moment. But for the sake of other readers; I must correct you and say that the internet is not free of charge for our guests. However we do have two computers down at the lobby which are complementary for all of our guests and of course include an internet access. I also have to correct you regarding the newly renovated spa which is not free of charge for all of our guests. It is only free of charge for the guests who are staying in an upgrade room. I am pleased to see that you found the location to be well suited for you and that you could make use of our free bus pass system.

I hope that you will have the chance to visit us sometime in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    437
    188
    23
    11
See reviews for
129
378
76
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I guess 'don't judge a book by its cover' applies here. The hotel does not look great from the outside but looks are definately deceiving. Inside the hotel is stylish, spotless and the staff are very friendly. The meals are excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful with my gluten free diet. The spa is fab and the pool is the only indoor pool in Reykjavik. There is a free bus service from the hotel into the town centre that takes only 5 minutes. All in all a great base to enjoy the spledours of Iceland.

Room Tip: Because it never gets fully dark at this time of year, make sure you close the curtains tight to ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear, traveler

I would like to thank you for your wonderful comment! I will make sure to pass on the nice compliments to the staff, they will surely be happy to hear such a positive review. All in all your feedback is very much appreciated and we thank you for taking personal time out and sharing your positive experience here at Reykjavik Natura. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this hotel as a package through Iceland Air and were not disappointed. It looks like a big office building from the outside, but don't let that fool you, it is beautifully decorated inside in a retro 60's style. Our room was very clean and nice and we enjoyed the spa products in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet is amazing and has more than you can ever eat. They had a large selection of food, something for everyone and even had soy products. The service was great and we liked that we were able to book tours directly through the hotel instead of having to go and search for tour companies. We also used the spa downstairs and enjoyed it very much, it was very relaxing. It is only a 15 minute walk into the city. Overall, it was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Your comment really made my day and i would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive feedback, we highly appreciate it. I sincerely hope that you will be able to visit us again someday in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is surprisingly attractive inside, given the rather grim and unappealing exterior. We found our room was absolutely adequate for our needs, with a small refrigerator that we appreciated very much. The front desk staff were very accommodating and responded promptly to all our requests. The hotel is nicely located, within walking distance of downtown, but without the noise of downtown. We had a great view of the "Pearl". We found it interesting to be right beside the control tower of the domestic airport, which was not very busy. Actually we never saw a plane land or take off during our 7 days at the hotel. We used the hotel as a convenient sleeping spot for all of our activities while in Iceland, so didn't take as much advantage of its excellent facilities, such as the spa, that we could have done. We only had one meal there, a breakfast buffet, which was very good. Overall, this hotel was excellent value.

Room Tip: Depends what you want to see - airport on one side, "Pearl" on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always pleasant to read such positive comments from our guests and I would like to thank you for recommending Reykjavik Natura to other readers. I hope that you will have the chance to visit us again so that you can experience the spa and everything else the hotel has to offer.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this Icelandair hotel as part of the Glacier/Northern Lights excursion. The food in the restaurant was very good and it is a short walk to other restaurants and the museum at the Perlan. While the outside is 60's architecture the inside is very attractively redone. We scheduled the optional Golden Circle day trip from the concierge in the lobby which was very good and worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at Reykjavik Natura. Hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again, sometime in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived in Iceland and stayed at this hotel before traveling out to the rest of country. We were also booked here at the end of our stay for one night.

Our first night room was small and drab. It had 2 twin beds pushed together to make a king and a shelf which was probably a couch with no cushions which was located next to the bed. The bathroom was small but not a problem.The shower was tiny. There were black out curtains which worked well and the bed was comfortable. There was soap in a pump for the bathroom and also one in the shower. If you need conditioner for your hair, be sure to pack some. Also pack lotion if you use it as there was none in the room.

Our room on the last night of our stay was excellent. It was huge and had a real king size bed! There was a bath and shower in the large bathroom. There was also a box of tissue and some lotion which was not in our first room.

The staff was very nice and the internet was free at the terminals in the lobby. The restaurant looked overpriced and we decided not to eat there.

Breakfast was served as a buffet each morning and it was excellent with a wonderful selection of foods.

The location is about a 20 minute walk from the center of town and it felt good to get out and walk in the fresh air.

The place is not luxurious. It is a practical place to sleep with a nice staff and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: There are rooms on two sides of the building. One block of rooms are reached by taking an elevator b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It looks like you had a deluxe room on the last night of your stay at Reykjavik Natura. So if you will visit us again you will definitely know the benefit of upgrading to a deluxe room. Also included when you upgrade to a deluxe room is an access to the lounge, access to the spa and free Wi-fi. I think you will find Reykjavik Natura a bit more luxurious if you try out the newly renovated Sóley Natura spa.I also recommend you to try out Satt Restaurant, especially the lunch and the brunch buffets.

I am glad to see that you found our staff to be nice; I will make sure they receive your compliments. Hopefully they will have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

On the flight over (Icelandair) the hotel was shown and had an amazing review by the manager, saying how some people never leave the hotel.

When we arrived though, the hotel appears to be a converted office as the Icelandair office is attached and has the same exterior.

The rooms are an ok size, but the bathrooms are a little snug. You can't open the shower door fully as it smashes into the toilet bowl. Also if you sit back on the toilet, it would flush thanks to the large push button being a little too low! The beds were 2 singles pushed together...so not the most romantic of situations!!! But they were VERY comfortable, and I slept like a log every night there.

The hotel also offers a restaurant, this is very over priced (even for Iceland) and had very small portions. After the first (and only meal) there we decided if we didn't want to go to bed with growling stomachs we would go elsewhere.

The tourist information which is located in the shop is good, apart from the bad English and booking us on a trip on the wrong day. (Not that my Icelandic is very good) The lesson is there CHECK ALL BOOKINGS

Overall though the hotel is in a great location, only 20 minutes walk from the city centre, and 5 minutes away from the coast ideal for the coastal walk. So as long as you stay out all day and eat out, it really is a good base for the trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Yes the Icelandair office is in the same building as our hotel but we consider that to be a benefit for both our guests and our staff, being able to work closely with Icelandair to create the best overall experience for our customers. The exterior of Reykjavik Natura has not changed much since it was built but the hotel was renovated on the inside (lobby, restaurant, spa, rooms etc.) in 2011. Unfortunately we could not renovate all of our rooms at that time but we plan on renovating more rooms in the coming months.

I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy our restaurant, Satt. I will make sure to forward your complaint to our restaurant manager. If you will visit us again during the summer time I advise you to try out our lunch buffet or our dinner buffet, which is very popular during the summer time.
If you will stay with us again I strongly advise you to upgrade to our deluxe rooms which are much bigger in size, both the room itself and the bathroom. Furthermore the bathroom also has a bathtub instead of a shower but perhaps you will not be using it to much since staying in a deluxe room means that you will have free access to the Sóley Natura Spa. You will also have free Wi-Fi and an access to our lounge, all included when staying in a deluxe room.

I am glad that you found the location to be convenient for you and I can see from your comment that you made use of the nearby surroundings. I truly hope that you will stay with us again in the future and I hope that you can make use of some of my suggestions.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.