We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, would stay again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, would stay again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here on an Icelandair Northern Lights long weekend package, which just means that the Northern Lights tour is included. And yes, we did see them! A beautiful amazing sight! But it took the free second night's tour to find them. We were so lucky! The hotel was a little out of town but the 20-30 minute walks probably did us good! The bus terminal was only a few minutes walk away actually, although the tours picked us up from the hotel. It's a modern looking hotel, we guess originally built when the domestic airport next door was the main airport. That was not a problem at all, it's not very busy and only operates in the day. Everyone seems to speak English in Reykjavik, so no problems at reception and the restaurant. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night, and the food was good. They also do a lunch buffet and snacks. We didn't experience breakfast as we took our own. Meals were not included in our package and Iceland is not cheap although the hotel prices were competitive. There is a nice atmosphere in the lobby with lots of seating and a cosy centre with a gas fire with real flames that you can sit by. There are several quirky statues around, (as everywhere in the city actually) and the hotel ones were crafted from wood such as three sheep, and an old lady and gent which reminded us of our aged parents!
The room itself wasn't spectacular but fit for purpose. The bathroom was a little tight for space at the toilet end, and only a shower, but no real problem. The twin beds were comfortable enough. The tea and coffee facility, which to me is a must, was fine. There were only two or three English channels on the TV (BBC2 was one, and no BBC1 bizarrely) but that wasn't a problem. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and The Pearl (Perlan) observatory style building up on a hill which houses a history museum and a revolving restaurant. We walked up there one morning (keeping fit again!) and had a nice lunch in the more informal cafe. Beautiful view of Reykjavik from there.
The hotel also has a spa area which we didn't have time to use, but it looked very nice. There is also a shop which sells some of the goods you can buy on the Icelandair planes, plus you can book any tours in there, and get maps and advice.
One thing that would have been nice is if the staff on the desk had reminded us we could and should book our seats on the plane going home before we got to the airport. I remembered afterwards seeing an internet terminal that we could have used. It would probably have been fine if the bus taking us to the airport had not been delayed at the bus terminal because of a flat tyre, which meant that when we got to the airport, and used their auto check in machines, there were only two seats left on the entire plane, one in the middle of row 11 and the other in the middle of row 14! But you still have to check your luggage in, what's that about? It doesn't really save time! Actually we found when on the plane they had overbooked the flight by one, and had to get someone to volunteer to stay another night before we could take off, then they had to find his luggage! So we were a little delayed... but we'd had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad that you got to see the northern lights, they are quite spectacular. In my opinion taking a walk into the Reykjavik central is a great way to get to know the city itself, a little bit better. But if you stay with us again and you are not in the mood for a walk, you can make use of our free bus pass system. The stop is right outside the hotel and there is a bus that goes every half an hour to the heart of Reykjavik central. But overall I am glad to see that you went for a walk, both into the central area and as well up to the Pearl. If you visit us again I recommend you to upgrade to our deluxe rooms, for a bigger room with even bigger bathroom and a bathtub. You´ll also get a free internet access and a free access to our Sóley Natura Spa which you definitely have to try out. Hopefully you will visit us again someday in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    472
    203
    27
    12
See reviews for
136
413
82
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's all in what you're comparing it to, don't you think? Reykjavik is growing fast, responding to a tourist industry that increases by an extraordinary 10% each year. As more hotels enter the game, the competition will become greater. It's true the proximity of the local airport is not a problem, the check in staff and tourist office staff are all very helpful but I have a couple of comments that prevent me from rating this as a very good hotel. Good but not very good.
The service in Hotel Natura's Satt restaurant leaves something to be desired which is a real shame because the food coming from the kitchen is pretty good though be forewarned, it's expensive though that does seem the story almost everywhere we went at better places. A hamburger and fries at lunch is around $25! We ate at Satt twice, our first night when we were very jet lagged, lacking the energy to head back into town and at lunch on our last day. Each time, the wait for one's food was long and the wait for the bill even longer. Our drinks arrived quickly enough but we were then left to languish, wondering what had gone wrong and at dinner, one of us was served the wrong meal. Mistakes happen and we're always very polite but when paying top dollar for a meal, one should also receive top service.
In our Poet's room, if you prefer to wash with a bar of soap, bring your own as the bathroom is supplied with pump bottles of liquid soap only. There is no magnifying mirror though the light is good. My 6' tall husband didn't care for the lack of top sheet on the bed leaving him with exposed feet. I'd recommend bringing some rich body lotion as my skin felt extraordinarily dry for some reason and the coarse terry robes provided were a bit of an irritant.
As a Poet guest, you have access to the lounge at the end of the floor for a TV, coffee/tea/soft drink and a little snack which is a great concept and one I've enjoyed in several hotels and B&B's. However, the room absolutely cooked with the afternoon solar heat pouring in through the large window, actually melting the little chocolate cookies that were left there one day I dropped by so it wasn't really that comfortable. Neither I or two other guests could figure out how to work the Gaggenau coffee maker. Perhaps it wasn't working or were all three of us technically challenged? Possible. If the latter, perhaps some directions would be helpful?
I haven't stayed anywhere else in Reykjavik to compare accommodation so therefore base this on other 'very good' hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
First of all I would like to apologize for the lack of service quality at our restaurant, Satt Restaurant. I will make sure that our restaurant manager receives your complaint. I would also like to apologize for the condition of our lounge. Apparently we will have to do something about the sun heating it up and we also need to make some instructions regarding the coffee machine. So thank you for notifying us and telling us about your experience. We really appreciate it since it gives us an idea of what we need to improve at our hotel. I do hope that you will visit us again and I am sure that you will experience our restaurant staff to be more professional.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here four nights as part of Icelandair package. 20 minute walk into town or use the bus pass which we did. Bus system super easy to use. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wi-fi works great (about $7.50) or you can use free computer in lobby. No problem with domestic airport next door. Rooms are a little on the small side, but you'll be out exploring so no big deal. Shower works great but there's no shelf if you bring your own shampoo. Breakfast buffet has good selection, although the hot items were the same each day we were there. Didn't use the spa except for pool which was very nice. There is a fridge in the room as well so you can keep drinks cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel as an Icelandair Northern Lights Package. As previous reviewers had stated it was a little out of the way and next to the domestic airport however this was not a problem. We got the bus ticket from a very helpful lady at reception who gave us a map, a guidebook and the bus timetable. The hotel looks like an office block from the outside but inside it is very modern, clean and has lots of little unusual features.The rooms, although small were very cosy and comfortable. We ate at the Satt restaurant a couple of times and although it was overpriced (as all the restaurants are) it was delicious. The spa was fantastic, just what we needed to warm up after a day out sightseeing in freezing cold Reykjavik. It was an easy walk up to the Perlan for some fantastic city views and the cafe is great for coffee and cake. Our first attempt to see the Northern Lights was unsuccessful so we went out the following night and it was saw them for about an hour - it was a brilliant experience. All in all we had a great time at this hotel and would recommend it for a great city break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great stay at this hotel!...Staff was extremely helpful, pleasant! Facilities were clean..Upgraded to a "suite" without any difficulty...used the bus pass to go into town...no noise from domestic airport next door. Loved the hot water....nice to have the spa after a long day touring...:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this room as part of a deal on the iceland air website. I was worried about the location and about the noise reading other updates from people, but was pleasantly surprised. I had no delays checking in. The hotel is in a great location, and is an easy walk into the city. I am fairly fit and it took about 15 mins to walk to the downtown area of shops. I also faced the small airport and didn't think the noise was bad at all (I do live in a city at home though). The breakfast buffett was included in my room and it was wonderful. Much better then I would have expected, with lots of fruits, breads, and cheeses and meat items. I was also very impressed that most items were available starting at 4am for those of us on early excursion trips to other parts of the country. Coffee was great, and available in the room. There was also a mini-fridge in each room. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel. We had lovely large, quiet room. All staff, whether on reception, in spa or restaurant, were so friendly and helpful. Fabulous spa area, perfect for relaxation. Travel desk really useful to for queries and booking trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.