We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Save Saved
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would Stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Natura as part of Northern Lights City Break.

I thought the hotel rooms were nice, clean etc.

Reception were very helpful with anything that was needed.

Free bus tickets into town however I walked and that was only 15 mins.

Breakfast was charged extra but we chose to do this and I thought that the breakfast was nice. Ate once in restaurant and although food was nice the service was appalling.

Also the tour desk is based at hotel which is good but very slow process for done reason.

But overall I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always nice to hear our guests say that they would definitely stay with us again. That gives us a hint that we are doing well for our guests, so thank you for that. Thank you as well for notifying us about the service inconsistency at the restaurant and at the tour desk. We will try our very best to improve this service failure. I am glad to see that you took the time to walk into town since it is such a nice walking route and really gives you the chance to get to know the city, a little bit better. I will make sure that our reception staff receives your compliment. You are always welcome back to Reykjavik Natura.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    373
    159
    19
    7
See reviews for
107
331
64
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoosick, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked a trip to Iceland via Icelanairlines. I twas an excellent value for everything that we did.
This hotel was very good, great service, clean rooms and quiet. The breakfast buffet was also
good. It is a little distance from the city but very accessible by walking 20 min or by taxis. They are always by the hotel and not to expensive. The drivers are very willing to tell you about . Reikevec. I would go there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Thank you also for taking the time to praise us, it really means a lot to us. Hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again someday and experience more of our lovely hotel.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Natura is the venue for an annual bridge festival in January, gets lots of top players. I suppose it's in some way a continuation of the intellectual tradition started by the Spassky-Fischer match which was held in this very hotel. Do find the chess match corner where you can touch the chess table that was used, look at various memorabilia, etc.
In other words, I keep coming back to this hotel year after year - my impression is that the business is doing well. Still spotlessly clean, everything in good working order, very friendly staff, etc. Pretty reasonable fitness centre and relaxing hot tub/sauna/steam room. It is not obvious from the brochures, but the fitness room is accessible 24 hours with your room key, it's only the pool that limited opening hours.
I saw complaints about the cost of internet - well, there are public computers in the lobby. In addition I found an unprotected network with strong connection from my room, so did not need hotel wi-fi after all :-)
Hotel is only about 20-25 min walk from the city center, so we only used taxis on really horrid days. I quite the walk actually, through a small park and round the pond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always nice to read such a positive review from our returning customers. The Bridge tournament in January is getting bigger every year so hopefully you will continue to visit us and do your best at the Bridge tournament. I am glad that you liked the walk to the Reykjavik central area. Thank you also for notifying me about the lack of information regarding the gym and the fact that it is accessible 24 hours. It is something we should advertise better and I will work on getting it fixed. Hopefully you will have a pleasant stay with us again and do well in the next Bridge tournament, in January 2014.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
386 helpful votes 386 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having stayed in this hotel multiple times in the past, I was delighted to return. However the place has undergone some changes. Given the remote location of the hotel and the distance from the city centre, it is unfortunate that you now pay for internet access on a daily basis. Moreover, the distance from the centre should imply quiet and tranquility, but my room - which was nicely proportioned, was facing the city airport, and the throughout the night we could hear the snow clearing equipment in action, making it near impossible to sleep. The minibar in the room was empty adding to a rather indifferent experience of the hotel. The menu does not appear to change much over time, and I was therefore obliged to take taxis into the centre to find different food. Will be looking to stay some where else next time around as the hotel needs to learn to keep pace with competition and with the expectation of travellers. The place was clean and the room large, but shame about the extras...

Room Tip: You may wish to avoid facing the airport, when snow is on the horizon. The views are good, but the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am very sorry to hear that Reykjavik Natura did not meet your expectations. I can understand that you did not have much sleep because of the snow clearing equipment at the airport. When this happens, we advise our guests to close the windows since they are completely soundproof. Regarding the minibar, a decision was made last year to discontinue to have a minibar in the guest rooms. Instead, our guests can use it as a mini fridge and go for a drink down at our lovely Satt bar. We also sell beer and wine in the lobby 24/7 which our guests can take with them up to the rooms. The chefs are working on a new menu for Satt Restaurant which will have more variety so hopefully, if you ever return, you will give it another try. I am really sorry to hear that you are thinking about staying somewhere else but hopefully you will give us another chance since we really want to keep our returning customers satisfied and meet their high expectations.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura hotel for 4 nights as a part of our Icelandair Northern Lights Holiday. Although we didn't see the lights (too cloudy) or go on the Whale Watch (too windy), we did enjoy our time at the hotel. There were three of us sharing a triple room which was comfortable, clean and simple, just what we needed for a base for the trip. We arrived at about 1am after our flight from Heathrow and were checked in by pleasant reception staff. Everytime we had a question about anything, the staff were more than happy to help - and did so with a smile. We had dinner at the Satt restaurant on our first full night - which was tasty and well presented. The pool and spa facilities were excellent (though do cost for use), although we were not able to book any treatments as they were fully booked. The hotel has WIFI which is not free, which was a bit disappointing, but there were two public computers available for use.

The hotel, itself, is about a 20 minute walk into the city centre, however, they also provide you (free of charge) bus tickets to be used on the bus which stops directly outside the hotel. This was a bonus as it was so windy! We loved everything about Iceland - and to have a nice base such as this was a lucky break!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am really glad to see that you had such a great stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again and be able to enjoy some treatments at the Sóley Natura spa. I also recommend you to try our Bedtime Stories on Thursday nights. These bedtime stories, located in our in-door theatre room, are free for guests to attend and presented in English. We also encourage you to wear your pyjamas; we’ll provide the hot chocolate and some blankets under which to snuggle during the readings.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise.

We booked a last minute 3 day break to Iceland on a whim because it was a cheap package booked through the Icelandair website, and a change of scenery. We spent our first night at this hotel. Ample parking and very easy to find from the road with sat nav even in the driving snow!

Reception staff - really very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with some nice touches in terms of quality bathroom products and the shower was great. Beds were very conducive to sleep, which is the most important thing. It's opposite a small domestic airport so you get a little aircraft noise, but it wasn't during the hours you really want to sleep so it wasn't a problem.

The bar in the evening was a nice looking area but we didn't stay owing to a very drunk American tourist who was slurring loudly and talking a load of absolute **** which made the bar an undesirable place to spend time in - not the hotel's fault at all, although I hope they stopped serving him alcohol.

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair that you find in a tourist class hotels such as this - not great, but you fill yourself up with what you want and move on.

The only other minor drawback of the hotel is that it is not walkable to the centre of Reykjavik (it may not be far, but the roads are not pedestrian friendly), but it's only 5 minutes in a cab which are cheap and easy enough to come by. Both drivers we met were very friendly and helpful - another very nice surprise.

Iceland is a great country to visit, with very friendly people and good food, believe it or not, if you hunt it out. Go for it, and if this hotel is on your package itinerary then you needn't worry - it's absolutely fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-airport runway side of the hotel. Unless you are a plane spotter, in which case I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Thank you also for taking the time to praise our staff. We empathize much on customer service so you can imagine how great it is to receive such a positive comment regarding our service. You are right about the airport, they don´t take off or land during the night time so our guests can enjoy a pleasant sleep without any airport noise. The windows are also soundproof so if you visit us again and you are having trouble with the airport noise during the day, you can always close the windows to exclude the noise. I am sorry to hear that there was another guest disturbing you in the bar. Our policy is to stop serving guests who are impolite to other guests, so I assume that he was not served any more drinks after you left. Like you mentioned it is hard to control how our guests behave but we always try to find a solution to fit all of our guests needs when this happens. Fortunately this happens very seldom. I am glad to see that you liked the people and the food in Iceland. If you return to Reykjavik Natura again, I advise you to make use of our free bus ticket service, if you want to save some money on taxi fares. However if you visit us during the summertime, I definitely recommend you to enjoy a lovely walk into Reykjavik central area.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire. England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From start to finish we very much enjoyed our stay at the Natura. The reception staff were so helpful and friendly. The room although not 5 star was very clean and just right for a short stay the bar and restaurant staff were also very good. The food served in the restaurant was simple but very well cooked and presented. Use the pool it is a great way to finish the day. What let the 5 Star rating down was the information/excursions desk at the hotel. Don't want to be too harsh because she seemed like a nice girl but the seemed very disinterested and bored with her work. Just the body language of when you had eye contact with her did not instil confidence on the products. We booked for the Gateway Golden Circle with her. When we were picked up at 8am in the morning we were told we were not booked on the tour. Some negotiation in Icelandic with the lady on the day and we we allowed on the tour. Did she forget? Just a little point on a great stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Use the pool and spa facilities if you can. First rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Thank you also for taking the time to praise our reception staff, they will be very happy to hear your compliment. However I am very sorry to hear about the service breakdown at the tour/excursions desk. Thank you for notifying us though, I will forward your polite complaint to the tour desk management. I am glad to hear that you liked your overall stay and I agree that it´s nice to finish the day at Sóley Natura spa. You are most certainly welcome back to Reykjavik Natura

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.