We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Yorkshire. England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From start to finish we very much enjoyed our stay at the Natura. The reception staff were so helpful and friendly. The room although not 5 star was very clean and just right for a short stay the bar and restaurant staff were also very good. The food served in the restaurant was simple but very well cooked and presented. Use the pool it is a great way to finish the day. What let the 5 Star rating down was the information/excursions desk at the hotel. Don't want to be too harsh because she seemed like a nice girl but the seemed very disinterested and bored with her work. Just the body language of when you had eye contact with her did not instil confidence on the products. We booked for the Gateway Golden Circle with her. When we were picked up at 8am in the morning we were told we were not booked on the tour. Some negotiation in Icelandic with the lady on the day and we we allowed on the tour. Did she forget? Just a little point on a great stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Use the pool and spa facilities if you can. First rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Thank you also for taking the time to praise our reception staff, they will be very happy to hear your compliment. However I am very sorry to hear about the service breakdown at the tour/excursions desk. Thank you for notifying us though, I will forward your polite complaint to the tour desk management. I am glad to hear that you liked your overall stay and I agree that it´s nice to finish the day at Sóley Natura spa. You are most certainly welcome back to Reykjavik Natura

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    448
    192
    26
    11
See reviews for
133
386
77
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our second (and third) stays at the Natura. The staff is attentive, fluent in Icelandic and English, and knowledgeable. The rooms are somewhat different than what Americans are used to in our hotels: rooms are smaller and really just for sleeping; bathroom is very small; and the beds are more of a platform bed with separate linens for each side of a double bed (it may seem odd but it works and is really comfortable). There is a good restaurant and bar on site. They have recently added aspa. I hope to try that out on our next stay. The rooms are immaculate and the location is convenient to downtown and to the regional airport for in-country flights!

Room Tip: If touring, you really only need the double room, not a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
You absolutely must try out the Sóley Natura Spa, next time you visit us. It truly is a wonderful place. I am glad that you tried out Satt restaurant and Satt bar. You are most welcome to stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Do not be deceived by the outside of this hotel as as soon as you walk in it's modern, clean and welcoming. The restaurant and bar area are cosy without being one on top of each other and prices are reasonable. The staff are also friendly, approachable and knowledgable.
Most rooms have been refurbished but there are still a few that haven't so make sure you specify as the original rooms are as nice but are still clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was a large selection of cereals, hot breakfasts and continental, therefore something for everybody and was served until 1000 which is a lot more sympathetic to those of us that are late risers.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the airport but this is a domestic airport where only smaller aircraft are allowed to land within certain hours and traffic is very light. Our first room was on the airport side and very little was heard.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a convenient location for Reykjavik, onward flights to both Akureyri and Egilssdadir and for exploring the area and had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, it was very pleasant to read your comment. I am glad to see that you liked the location of the hotel, it really is an advantage to be surrounded be the Icelandic nature but still only 2,5 km from the Reykjavik central area. Yes I agree that it is necessary to have the breakfast buffet available until 10:00 a.m. for those who want to make an extra use of our comfortable beds.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of our tour package through IcelandAir. Hotel was cozy, great fireplace by the bar. There was 3 of us and we all had a separate room, we usually all share one room. It was nice having a room to myself. We were all on the same floor and together, that was nice. Staff was nice and friendly. Hotel gave us free bus tickets to get into town. The pool at the Hotel was great, warm and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always pleasant to hear that our guests want to visit us again, you are most welcome to do so. I agree that the fireplace by the bar is really cozy after a long day exploring Reykjavik and beyond.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were told that this hotel underwent massive redecorating in 2011. In any case it looked nice, modern and clean. The biggest drawback in my opinion is its location. There are many other hotels in Reykjavík equally far from the city center in the old part of town. But most of the other hotels have a supermarket or a bank or a restaurant in their immediate vicinity. This one has - absolutely nothing! Apart from an airport, the one for domestic flights within Iceland. But even if you want to take such a flight, you are not conveniently located, because the terminal is not by the hotel. It is on the opposite side of the runways so that you have to circle around the whole area. There is a shuttle bus to the city center but it does not run often. The in-house restaurant is a bit pricey. Be warned that there is NO machine (ATM) to withdraw money anywhere close to the hotel! One advantage of the location, though, is that you can walk up the hill to the famous Perlan, with the revolving restaurant on top. Most of the staff seem experienced. They were all friendly during our stay.

Room Tip: If you like watching planes, ask for a room towards the airport. No need to be afraid of air traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
We do not provide a Shuttle anymore but we do provide free bus tickets which is much more convenient. For example you can go every half an hour to the city center directly from the hotel. However if you feel like walking it only takes about 20 minutes to walk into Reykjavik central area. It is true that we do not have an ATM machine in the hotel so if you want to withdraw some money you have to go about 1 km into town to do so. However, every store, hotel, restaurant, shop etc. accept debit and credit cards so you should be able to use your credit/debit card until you can withdraw some money, if that is what you prefer. I am pleased to hear that you liked the staff and found it experienced and friendly. I will make sure they receive your compliment.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My first ever holiday to Iceland (Jan 2013). Expected basic accommodation but surprisingly comfy. Had basic room through a package, but very comfy and had hair dryer, iron, ironing board plus tea/coffee making facilities. Free internet access a small cost, unless you upgrade - then free. Good bus service (free) into town, Staff are very helpful and friendly and the food was very good. the spa area is lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed my swim and hot tub there. Bonus - towels provided. Would be very happy to stay here again. It is next to the domestic airport but this doesn't cause a problem and is very convenient if you are travelling north. Stops flying at midnight, but didn't disturb us at all. Busy couple of days due to an International Bridge Competition, but this all added to the interesting guests we met.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad that you decided to visit Iceland, definitely a good decision. I am also glad that you had such a positive experience at Reykjavik Natura. You are always welcome back.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Formerly known as Hotel Loftleidir, this hotel is owned by Icelandair. The accommodations were clean, the beds comfortable, the pillows very comfortable. The hotel has a clean, modern decor and the food in the restaurant was very good; the breakfast includes selections from almost every single national background, so it is definitely worth it, particularly if you really like breakfast.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were lodged there overnight by Icelandair because of a missed connection, so we had only less than a 24 hour stay. I do not know if I would have chosen this hotel in the domestic airport if I were to have made plans to stay in Reykjavik, but for an airport hotel, it was very pleasant, and surprisingly close to the center of the city. There is a spa in the basement, which we did not have a chance to visit.

This hotel is in the Reyjkavik Airport (domestic) is far (50 km) from the Keflavik International Airport, so do not mistake it as a hotel near the international airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I agree that the breakfast buffet is fantastic and definitely worthy of consideration. I am pleased that you found the accommodation and the hotel in general to be clean and comfortable. Thank you also for notifying other readers that the hotel is indeed next to the domestic airport but not the international airport. Hopefully you will stay with us again and if so I recommend you to try out our exquisite Sóley Natura Spa.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.