We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Save Saved
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of our tour package through IcelandAir. Hotel was cozy, great fireplace by the bar. There was 3 of us and we all had a separate room, we usually all share one room. It was nice having a room to myself. We were all on the same floor and together, that was nice. Staff was nice and friendly. Hotel gave us free bus tickets to get into town. The pool at the Hotel was great, warm and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always pleasant to hear that our guests want to visit us again, you are most welcome to do so. I agree that the fireplace by the bar is really cozy after a long day exploring Reykjavik and beyond.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    411
    176
    20
    8
See reviews for
118
356
71
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were told that this hotel underwent massive redecorating in 2011. In any case it looked nice, modern and clean. The biggest drawback in my opinion is its location. There are many other hotels in Reykjavík equally far from the city center in the old part of town. But most of the other hotels have a supermarket or a bank or a restaurant in their immediate vicinity. This one has - absolutely nothing! Apart from an airport, the one for domestic flights within Iceland. But even if you want to take such a flight, you are not conveniently located, because the terminal is not by the hotel. It is on the opposite side of the runways so that you have to circle around the whole area. There is a shuttle bus to the city center but it does not run often. The in-house restaurant is a bit pricey. Be warned that there is NO machine (ATM) to withdraw money anywhere close to the hotel! One advantage of the location, though, is that you can walk up the hill to the famous Perlan, with the revolving restaurant on top. Most of the staff seem experienced. They were all friendly during our stay.

Room Tip: If you like watching planes, ask for a room towards the airport. No need to be afraid of air traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
We do not provide a Shuttle anymore but we do provide free bus tickets which is much more convenient. For example you can go every half an hour to the city center directly from the hotel. However if you feel like walking it only takes about 20 minutes to walk into Reykjavik central area. It is true that we do not have an ATM machine in the hotel so if you want to withdraw some money you have to go about 1 km into town to do so. However, every store, hotel, restaurant, shop etc. accept debit and credit cards so you should be able to use your credit/debit card until you can withdraw some money, if that is what you prefer. I am pleased to hear that you liked the staff and found it experienced and friendly. I will make sure they receive your compliment.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My first ever holiday to Iceland (Jan 2013). Expected basic accommodation but surprisingly comfy. Had basic room through a package, but very comfy and had hair dryer, iron, ironing board plus tea/coffee making facilities. Free internet access a small cost, unless you upgrade - then free. Good bus service (free) into town, Staff are very helpful and friendly and the food was very good. the spa area is lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed my swim and hot tub there. Bonus - towels provided. Would be very happy to stay here again. It is next to the domestic airport but this doesn't cause a problem and is very convenient if you are travelling north. Stops flying at midnight, but didn't disturb us at all. Busy couple of days due to an International Bridge Competition, but this all added to the interesting guests we met.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad that you decided to visit Iceland, definitely a good decision. I am also glad that you had such a positive experience at Reykjavik Natura. You are always welcome back.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Formerly known as Hotel Loftleidir, this hotel is owned by Icelandair. The accommodations were clean, the beds comfortable, the pillows very comfortable. The hotel has a clean, modern decor and the food in the restaurant was very good; the breakfast includes selections from almost every single national background, so it is definitely worth it, particularly if you really like breakfast.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were lodged there overnight by Icelandair because of a missed connection, so we had only less than a 24 hour stay. I do not know if I would have chosen this hotel in the domestic airport if I were to have made plans to stay in Reykjavik, but for an airport hotel, it was very pleasant, and surprisingly close to the center of the city. There is a spa in the basement, which we did not have a chance to visit.

This hotel is in the Reyjkavik Airport (domestic) is far (50 km) from the Keflavik International Airport, so do not mistake it as a hotel near the international airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I agree that the breakfast buffet is fantastic and definitely worthy of consideration. I am pleased that you found the accommodation and the hotel in general to be clean and comfortable. Thank you also for notifying other readers that the hotel is indeed next to the domestic airport but not the international airport. Hopefully you will stay with us again and if so I recommend you to try out our exquisite Sóley Natura Spa.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice. Both times w were pleased with it. But now it's gone throug a compled overhall and it's quite nice. The staff is very friendy and helpful. The new restaurants are quite servicable. This last trip we had two different rooms and they were bright and clean. It's a little outside of the city center but there's a shuttle bus or you can take one of the ubiquitous taxis. Just across from it, and within walking distance for the intrepid, is Perlan (the Pearl) which is a nice restaurant. The restaurant is touristy but the dinner we had there was very good if a little expensive. Rthe restaurant rotated and the view is beautiful. This hotel was part of a package tour from Icelandair but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always nice to hear from our returning customers so thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you liked the renovations; it has definitely given the hotel a new, warmer and better look and feel. I have to correct you though, we do not provide shuttle bus service anymore but we do provide free bus tickets for our guests. I agree that The Pearl is a nice restaurant with an amazing view over the city. I am glad that you liked your stay and hope that you will continue to visit us.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here as a part of an IcelandAir package, and honestly I did not have high expectations. However, I was very mistaken. The hotel is located walking distance to city center (we had a car and there was free parking). Our basic room was your standard small European style two single beds, but it was always clean, with a nice bathroom. The hotel itself was always well maintained and the amenities were great! We used the geothermal indoor pool and hot tub (in the spa) for free every day (towel service is free as well). The bar in the dining room was a great place for a drink while warming up from the cold and checking our email. The staff was very kind every time we needed directions and even when I left my earrings in the room after check-out, they sent them with a bus driver and I picked them up at the Reykjavik airport! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing this positive experience and hopefully you will stay with us again sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The website boasts a 4-star rating. The service is excellent and the food is superb. The rest of the hotel is lacking. The bathrobes were scratchy and torn. The toiletries destroyed face and hair. Did I mention the hotel is surrounded by an aiport? At least it doesn't operate 24 hours a day.

The website also states that it is perfect for people who loves nature and the ourdoors. FYI: their version of nature includes a small grove of pine trees with a large concrete walkway.

We stayed in December, so I leave open the possibility that the City doesn't maintain the "geothermal beach" advertised on website. But when we walked to the "beach" all we saw was high grass and weeds.

A further note: for all of the Icelander's talk of geothermal this and that - we did not encounter anyplace with hot water. The hotel showers, sinks and heated pools all had luke warm water.

The Hotel Natura is away from the main part of the City. If you stay downtown, you can walk to ALL of the sites in Reykjavik and avoid taxi fares.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am really sad to hear that you did not like your overall stay at Reykjavik Natura. I do apologize for the damaged amenities, the scratchy bathrobes and toiletries that destroy face and hair. This is something that is not standard in our service and obviously needs to be fixed. So thank you for notifying us and I will make sure it gets replaced. I see from your comment that you found the service and the food excellent which I find very pleasing. Hopefully you will visit us again and give us a chance to make your stay more positive and enjoyable.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.