We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbearably noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Skjaldbreid to your Saves list
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
roma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unbearably noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

we spent here the worst night in a hotel ever! disco music was played aloud from 1 to4 am!!! in the nearby. We simply couldn't sleep.
Absolutely not recommended if you wish to rest

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    51
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
151
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We loved the location of this hotel. It was right on the main street, close to restaurants, shopping, bars and more. The hotel itself was no frills but very clean and comfortable. A healthy breakfast was provided every morning. The staff was also very helpful in aiding us with booking our excursions. We would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Iceland.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Got a special price to stay for one night. Room is small accoding to N.American standard. Similar to other European or Japanese hotel room size. For us, it's good enough size. Location wise, it's the best that you'll find in Reykjavik. Lots of shops and eating place, close to most major tourist attractions. Bed is clean although we did find some crumps on the carpet. Shower only in the bathroom. A nice breakfast is included from 0800-1000 every morning on the third floor. Service is attentive. As with other comments, noise is an issue here, but what you pay for is the perfect location in town. Parking are on the streets and it's free from 1800-1000. Free internet is provided through a cable connection or a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed at the hotel in March 2009 for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday night). It is a small convenient hotel and the location is perfect, right in the center of town, close to the big Lutheran church (which unfortunately is being renovated and covered by scaffolding for most of 2009). The staff is amazing, they help with everything, including calling our rental car agency to pick us up in the cold snowy weather and bringing us free drinks even after the restaurant was closed. Although the room is small (as noted by many reviewers), especially according to American standards, it was fine for us, similar to rooms in central hotels in many European cities. It is more than ok for the price we paid.

We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews about noise, since we have a one-year old baby. However, we didn't hear any noise from our room, not even on Friday night, unless we walked out of the hotel and towards one of the bars at night. Of course it was still winter and therefore less people may be outside?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

This city centre hotel is ideally placed for on foot sight seeing. If you hire a car, although there is no on site parking, you can get by with 6pm to 10am on street parking and the nearby public parking.
Other reviewers have been concerned about small rooms, we had a corner room that was quite good so I guess it is luck of the draw. The hotel and room was kept quite clean, facilities were good with TV (only 3 channels) kettle, iron, hairdryer., internet acess. Breakfast buffet was predictable but plentiful. Complimentary coffee all day was quite nice.
The area was very quiet on weekdays but as others have said in their reviews Friday and Saturday the locals "let rip". This hotel does have good insulation and we did not need to use the ear defenders that we had brought with us. (we are 48 yrs old)
We are well travelled folk and what really made a difference for us was the reception staff. When we arrived (2.30 am!) the chap on duty speeded up the registration process and made us feel really welcome. The next day the lovely lady on duty organised us a pick up by Hertz who we had hired a car from, sorted out the deficient creamer sachets in the room etc. Nothing was too much trouble... I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to others, just remember you are looking at a city hotel when considering size of room etc.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in December (Friday and Saturday nights). First the hotel is in an outstanding location right in the middle of the main shopping, restaurant street in Reykjavik. We had a twin bedded room which is the smallest room I have ever stayed at anywhere I travelled. The room barely fit the two beds and desk. You could not even watch the TV from the bed. We both had to sit at the end of the bed to see the TV.
The room was clean but the furnishings worn. The bathroom was tiny but I expected that. The hotel itself is on the upper three floors of a building with businesses underneath. The elevator is six steps up from the street so anyone who has mobility problems needs to stay away. The "lobby" is on the first floor (as opposed to the ground floor). The staff was very helpful, made reservations for tours and gave suggestions.
Breakfast was a cold Scandanavian breakfast which was fine, if not elaborate. The biggest issue for the hotel was the noise which emanates from a club next door from midnight to 4am on weekends. The noise was loud and anyone who is disturbed by noise should not book the hotel on weekends.
The value was reasonable for the money paid but this is NOT a 4 star hotel. This would rate no more than 2 1/2 stars, maybe, and this is a stretch, 3 stars. Seriously, consider the noise factor before booking.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — noise noise noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The location is good - on the main street. The photo is deceptive. The entrance is like an ordinary house door with a stairwell inside leading to a small reception room upstairs. No lobby or other public area. The standard room is VERY small. The superior room is just adaquate. The only international TV channel was a travel channel. The rest (4) were all local. The decor and furnishings are tired looking. The staff were very friendly. The Full Breakfast was a very basic cold buffet. No bar or lounge/cafe. Overall, more like a good hostel. Very definately not a four star hotel by European standards - maybe a poor three star. The amazing country and tours saved the holiday.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — More like a good Hostel than a four star Hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Skjaldbreid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.