We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Skjaldbreid to your Saves list
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Our first impression was confusing because the picture on the website and the door we were dropped off at didn't appear to match. The photo makes you think that you will enter the hotel by an entrance on the corner of the building but the actual entry is at the side and you have to climb steps to the door and then once inside more steps to get to the lift which takes you to reception on the 2nd floor. Our room was clean and spacious but the shower-room was a bit tight on space. Breakfast was served on the third floor in a "glass house" - very clean and there was plenty of food on offer - no staff in sight so help yourself. Tea and coffee were available in the "glass house" all day. There was no other food provision but all manner of eating places close by, so no problem.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    172
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
36
193
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Skjaldbreid from April 25th – May 01st 2013.

We were on the main floor and yes it is noisy on weekends, however the hotel is very central to Cafes, restaurants and shops etc.

A special thank you to Johnathan for helping us with our maps and trip planning, and being so patient and friendly with us on our many other questions. Tony was also helpful and friendly and so were the other staff members on the reception desk and kitchen.

We truly enjoyed our trip to Iceland and many thanks to all the staff at the Skjaldabreid.


Katherine MacLean
Robert Wiggins

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubbekøbing, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It is very central in Rekjavik - and therefore one must be preared forsome noise from the mainstreet.
The room was ok - but not more. Two separate beds in each side of the room.
The staff was very friendly - especially one English guy had a good sense of humour and was very helpful.
BUT - the breakfast was very poor. Cold, hardboiled eggs, neutral toast bread, neutral cheese, frozen rye bread that had been thawn (still cold though) and a very non-cosy room. Very disappointing.
Should we come to Reykjavik again, we would chose another hotel.
It has 4 stars - should hav 2-3 instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danderyd, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Skjaldbreid is a rather small hotel in the middle of the city centre, close to most things in Reykjavik. The staff very kind and helpful, the rooms well furbish (but perhaps a bit old). Excellent working free WiFi. Bathroom was a bit small, and very cold since there was no heating in there. Breakfast had what you could wish for, but nothing exceptional. Some noice from the street in the weekend nights from party-people, but otherwise calm and peaceful. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quemado, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect spot to visit the city. Situated in the center of the city the hotel is clean and good priced. Breakfast buffet and wifi is included. Rooms are small but you dont need any more. We will stay here again when in Iceland. The location and price cant be beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here Mon 8th April to Mon 15th April and were generally quite happy until the weekend when we discovered that our room shared a wall with the club next door!

Unfortunately, although the windows have sound insulation, our room was so noisy on Friday and Saturday night that we were unable to sleep. The noise was the club next door and we could clearly hear every song they were playing and make out every word the DJ was saying. Reception was sympathetic to us but exlained that it was out of his hands as there were no other available rooms. He also said that there were complaints from our room and the room below every weeekend and gave us some earplugs. The earplugs did not help much and the noise was constant from approx midnight until around 6am when the club closed. The same thing happened on the Saturday night and and again we were advised that there was nothing that could be done.

We stayed here for a week, and the location couldn't be better. Within a five minute walk you have access to the whole of downtown Reykjavik. For the first 5 days we really enjoyed our stay but no sleep at the weekend did ruin it a bit.

The staff really depend on who you get. The housekeepers are amazing and do a great job but we hardly ever saw them. On reception, Tony was great - cheerful, friendly, knows the city, and is more than happy to provide you with reccomendations, info, etc. The other reception staff were not very helpful however.

Room Tip: When you book, request a room which does not share a wall with the club next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean and reasonably priced, especially for a city centre hotel. Great location on a Main Street with lots of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of continental food, with cereals, lots of breads and plenty of choice of drinks. Tea and coffee available all day long. Room cleaned everyday without ever seeing a maid. All trips picked up and dropped of at the hotel on time with no problems at all. Rooms quite small but comfortable with tea and coffee, 4 English tv channels, hot shower. Very good hotel to base exploring Iceland

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Skjaldbreid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.