We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights Self Drive 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iceland Travel - Day Tours

Iceland Travel - Day Tours
Skogarhlid 12, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
+354 585 4210
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iceland Travel is the leading Travel Company, Tour operator and DMC in Iceland. We offer a wide range of high quality services for travelers and travel agents from all over the world. We organize various vacation packages, tours and activities, as well as planning conferences, events and incentive programs.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Northern Lights Self Drive 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I can't recommend this tour enough - unbelievable quality for the price! Iceland Travel were so helpful from the beginning and everything was perfect. Two amazing hotels, lovely breakfast included, car hire and northern lights tour thrown in. Our car even had a GPS already sorted out, and the apartment had heated floors and a hot tub! My partner and I had a wonderful time, worth twice the money!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Johannesdottir, Service Department at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for the lovely review!
We are happy to hear your satisfaction with the tour. We always strive to get the best accommodation at each location and really love Grimsborgir ourselves. The closeness to the South coasts beautiful sights such as Gullfoss, Geysir and Þingvellir makes it a prime location for sightseeing and enjoying the Northern Lights (hope you got a great Northern Lights „show“ during your stay).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Snow nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a package through Icelandair in conjunction with Iceland Travel. The part in Reykjavik was good but the weak link was Akureyri and we did not think much of Saga Travel, the agents of Iceland Travel. On the night of our Northern Lights tour it was snowing heavily. There may have been a chance of seing the aurora if we had gone higher but we were taken along the valley to look at a Christmas shop and the outside of a church. This is not what we had booked and the trip should have been cancelled. We were promised a second go the next evening and we were ready in the hotel foyer before we were told that the trip was cancelled. During that day we had booked a trip to Lake Myvatn by superjeep (not provided - just a normal 4WD car). We were told at the hotel that the pass was closed by snow and blocked by a lorry. After 2 hours we were told that everything was OK. Instead of going directly to our destination we were taken on a tour to some farms and the ski resort in Akureyi. We eventually set out fo Lake Myvatn but when we reached the pass we were told it was still closed. After much telephoning by the guide, we were taken on an alternative route. It was snowing hard and conditions were poor. We eventually came to a road which was deep in snow. There was then another telephone conversation and we started up the road. Conditions became increasingly dangerous and eventually the guide was persuaded to turn back, which was achieved by much sliding and getting stuck. We asked for a refund, which we got, but we were left with the impression that Saga Travel cared more about their income than the satisfaction and safety of their customers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to thank you for sending us comments on your stay in Akureyri. It is useful for us to hear about how people experience our service and we will use the information in order to improve our services. For us it is priority that people are feeling comfortable and safe on our tours and we regret that you did not enjoy your tours with Saga Travel.

The supplier Saga Travel has been our long time successful cooperating partner in Akureyri and we have been in contact with them because of your experience. When it is snowing there is a little chance to see the Northern Lights, but sometimes it happens that a “window” in the sky opens and the lights can been seen. Going higher in the ground when it is snowing does not help. The mountain roads in Iceland are not high enough, only about 1500 feet the highest when these snow clouds are usually at least 3000 feet high. Saga Travel is a pioneer and designer of these Northern Lights tours in North Iceland and they have very rich experience. Northerly winds were blowing at the time you stayed in Akureyri and just then it is better to head south in to the valley to see the Northern Lights. This has got to do with vapor drying up and the hope was that the air would be drier in the valley than by the coast. We focus on giving our customers an alternative when weather is impossible to see the Northern Lights and the experience is that it is difficult to know ahead of time if the lights are going to be seen or not. The best chance to see the northern lights that particular night was at the valley where you came across the Christmas Garden and the church. No one can control the weather or the Northern Lights but we can try do things instead, things you would not have seen or experienced otherwise.

Usually the option of going for the Northern Lights is kept open as long as possible. The second night you were staying in Akureyri it was a hard decision if to cancel the tour or not. A representative from Saga Travel should have been sent to the hotel to brief you about the situation. On the other hand it is often difficult to find all people booked on the tours and therefore the information about the cancellation is left at the hotel reception.

Regarding the Lake Myvatn Super Jeep tour, when the weather is bad it is sometimes difficult to get details about the road conditions. The information given by the road administration turned out to be wrong that morning, but the main reason was that there was a lorry stuck in the Vikurskard pass. The telephoning was for the safety of the guests, trying to find out which road was open and exchanging the information between the two super jeeps travelling together. The passengers should probably have been kept better informed about what was going on, we think it would have made you feel better about the tour. The jeeps used for this tour are modified vehicles with extra big tires, one was on 38" tires and the jeep you were on was on 35" tires. The weather played a big rule on your holiday and sometimes we have to give in to Mother Nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Iceland Complete 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Did the 9 day tour in September because didn't have time to research a driving trip on my own. Pleasantly surprised - numerous stops at interesting attractions, such as geysers, waterfalls, geologic formations. Very well organized tour. The guide explained the geology of the country, history and culture so well that it added immensely to my understanding of Iceland which I would not have learned on my own. Pace of the tour, accomodations and food were excellent. Very photogenic country so bring an extra SD card for the camera in case you max out. Dress in layers as the weather changes frequently during the day - temperature was between zero celsuis and 10. Plan to return in the future and explore more of Iceland and based on this experience would use Iceland Travel again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking time to write to us! I am glad that you enjoyed our Iceland Complete tour. We always try to select the best guides and hotels, we know how important that is. I hope you will get the opportunity to visit Iceland again and we help you planning the perfect Iceland trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Iceland Complete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did the Iceland Complete, ( 9 Day Tour ), and everything was perfect.
Super driver and Guide.
First class Hotels and food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed our Iceland Complete, it is a wonderful tour! Thank you so much for taking time to write this review; it is important for us to know what we are doing well and where we could improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Colours of Iceland Tour 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family of four drove the country of Iceland in 12 days following the schedule and accommodations set by Iceland Travel. It was simply WONDERFUL and coming from the U.S. I did not know what to expect. I usually book all of my own hotels but since this was a foreign country I decided to pay the company to plan our trip. It was the best!! Iceland is a National Park country, and it had so much to offer. Our 16 and 24 year old kids enjoyed it as much as we did and found excitement in different areas such as standing on the glacier where the Batman movie was filmed and sailing on the same glacial lake as James Bond drove on in his sports car. The few city evenings complimented the rural adventures along with hot springs, geysers and waterfalls. We hope to return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfaS, web manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your nice words! We are happy that you all enjoyed your holiday in Iceland and that your children could see with their own eyes the areas where an increasing number of American movies have been shot (some still are even right now!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iceland Travel - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.