We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, fabulous food and it's not all raw!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glo

Glo
Engjateigur 19 | Laugavegur 20b, 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 553 1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Glo is always on the way. Located at three locations in the capital area, one inside Listhusid in Laugardalur valley in Reykjavik, one on Laugavegur 20, downtown Reykjavik and the third in Hafnafjörður at Strandgata 34. Glo is Iceland's hottest new organic restaurant. The menu consists of vegetarian- and raw food courses, meat dishes, soups and salads. The courses are somewhat modest as they are simple, filling and not flooded with too much spice or ingredients.The head chef at Glo is Solveig Eiriksdottir, a pioneer in the field of healthy cooking in Iceland. Healthy food and haute cuisine started as a hobby for her, as she had a career in textile design before she got into the restaurant business. She founded the vegetarian restaurant Graenn Kostur in 1994, and ran it for ten years. She also founded Himneskt, a best-selling organic food label, along with Elias Gudmundsson. Last year, Solveig and Elias took over management at Glo.Glo is Iceland's first raw food restaurant. Raw food is about consuming unprocessed vegetables, fruits, nuts, almonds and seeds, heated under 47°C. This preperation method preserves the enzymes in the ingredients, so your body gets an extra large portion of excellent nutrition. You can go to Glo and get healthy food to take away or eat at the restaurant. The menu is put together of raw food dishes, warm vegetarian dishes, meat dishes, soups and salads. Glo always uses organic vegetables and ingredients without additives and preservatives in every dish.The food is surprisingly inexpensive, given how costly it can be to eat organic. For example you can get soup, bread and hummus for 1090ISK, meat dish of the day for 1890 and deserts for 790. The best part about those deserts is that you can fully enjoy them without feeling guilty. Treat yourself to a wholesome and soothing meal at Glo, your body will thank you afterwards.Gló has bin voted the "Best vegetarian" 2011, 2012 & 2013
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great concept, fabulous food and it's not all raw!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Don't be put off by the emphasis on raw food as you enter the door! There is cooked food too, including soups and yummy lasagne.
This is a great food concept, super healthy, a small but varied choice of mains and then choose three salads from a great range. Each salad I had were super yummy and tasty.
There is plenty of funking seating areas, free wifi and a quite trendy atmosphere. It is well frequented by locals and is an excellent option for vegans or not!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    59
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had the vegetable lasagne which came with a choice of three side salads (I chose broccoli and pomegranate, butternut squash and roast potatoes) all for about £10. Excellent food, fresh and healthy in lovely modern surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Could not have been more delighted with finding this amazing place with a huge selection of salads and wraps and delicious desserts. Choose the plate of 5 salads. Health shop downstairs provided snacks for the day trips - humous and crisp bread. It was perfect for a quick meal after tiring day trips as you order at the counter and then sit and eat straight away. Cost was fair considering that Iceland has to go to so much trouble to grow / import vegetables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you need raw and healthy, go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

An absolutely amazing place in downtown Reykjavik. It's all ready so no waiting involved and the quality and selection is just fabulous. We are big raw foodies and this place was at the top of our list. Great desserts too. Raw tiramisu and chocolate brownie. Hmmmmmmm! You will not be disappointed. The chef is very well known and she has great reviews world wide as a reputable raw chef. It's not the most expensive place in Iceland but its Iceland so it's going to be a bit more that uk prices. And be prepared to ear n go if you go a lunchtime as its very popular. Afternoon tea/late lunch is quieter. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good food but without the atmosphere of its predecessor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was a little confused when I found this place, as I was looking for its predecessor A naestu grosum, which I understand has now sadly been closed. This though, which is in the same location is a more than satisfactory replacement, although it lacks the atmosphere and charm having somewhat more modern décor. I miss the old place.

The variety of main courses, as others have said could be better. Given the fact that it is billed as a vegetarian restaurant I was somewhat surprised to find that at least some of them included meat which I must admit tended to put me off. The vegetarian sushi rolls I had though were delicious with a nice variety of different salads, all of which I was delighted to find were gluten free. The meal I had came in at around 2400 kronur including a very hot and strong Icelandic coffee, which by Icelandic standards is not too bad. I haven't got the credit card bill yet but this is around £13-£14.

I can't comment on the deserts as I didn't try them, but they certainly looked nice, as if I needed an excuse to go back ....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glo also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Glo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.