We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real swimmers swim here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laugardalslaug

Laugardalslaug
v/ Sundlaugarveg 104, Reykjavik, Iceland
411 5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Fun & Games in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Munich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real swimmers swim here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A fantastic outdoor 50m pool. I've been over 20 times, and it's wonderful. Swimming in a naturally heated pool, often alone or with only one other person in my lane, breathing in the crisp cool air as you work out... It's the best! There is a 25m indoor pool as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    157
    33
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
marietta GA
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
129 attraction reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

a great mix of heated pools - inside/outside, olympic lap pool, many hot tubs- including ones for kids, great waterslide
all of this at a great water temperature and so cheap, hard to convert but my family of 3 was no more than $10. lockers included in admission. kids of many ages there - appropriate for all.

only issue now - renovations going on in mens lockers, so you have to use temporary ones outside on back side of pool - makes for a chilly dash after you are done.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value and Pool for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very inexpensive (for Iceland) way to spend time with kids. I have teens, so much of this pool was for younger kids but was still great to hang out in pool, played basketball (in pool) and went in hot tubs. This is an outside pool (although they have an inside pool that we didn't see). Went on a Fri morning, lots of families - very few non icelanders. This is a regular pool (not like the blue lagoon) good for swimming laps (bring goggles) or just hanging out. Note the water slide is under construction so not available (at least as of Jun 21st).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great swimmingpool and best massage in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recommend the www.laugarnudd.is best massage in town at a good price. Situated next to the brand new sea jacuzzi.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible value, fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This pool has several hot tubs of varying temperatures and jet options, and one large tub with natural boulders. There are two lap pools (one is indoor and cooler) and a few leisurely, shallow pools for children and families. The water slide is a great touch. One of the hot tubs is a mineral soak in which they pipe in sea water. There's also a space-age steam room (go in, you'll see what I mean).

The locker rooms are impeccably clean and have have free (included) high tech locking systems and all the amenities you need (including a suit spinner, which is absent at the Blue Lagoon... crazy!).

This is not intended to be a spa experience, but I found it wonderful and relaxing and it was a great place to spend several hours on a sunny afternoon alone or with friends. The locals were very friendly and helpful (one offered to let me use goggles so I could swim laps).

Things to know... the locker rooms have rigid rules about shoes (off before you go in), how you shower before getting into the pool (nude and supervised!), and where you need to dry off (before going back to the locker room). The rules are good and make the pools able to maintain without chemicals. Also, all of my swimming and bathing experiences in Iceland had life guards that looked more like security guards. They are actually kind and helpful, don't be fooled by their uniform.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugardalslaug also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laugardalslaug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laugardalslaug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.