We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #37 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Glasgow
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I only stayed here one night. The room was comfortable but, as others have said, refurbishment is overdue. I would give it 3 stars for accommodation but four for food. Our tour party had a special dinner and the food, particularly the lobster and the lamb, were excellent. I'd probably stay here again. It's convenient for the city centre and in quite a quiet spot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga an taking the time to write.

I am glad to hear you had great stay and liked our good lobster and lamb.

I hope to see you again soon

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    239
    186
    57
    18
See reviews for
85
242
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We selected this Hotel because it looked more modern than the Radisson in the city centre of Reykjavik and the walk into town is manageable (about 10,15 mins). Don't be fooled. While the restaurant and the lobby area make a good impression the rooms are seriously, seriously worn out. There are scratches on the door, walls, furniture, spills on the carpet, and the beds (we had a room with two single beds) are about as comfortable as bunk beds in a youth hostel. The bath rooms must have been recently refurbished as they were ok.

Make no mistake, this claims to be a 4 star hotel with the price tag to match it. The restaurant and the breakfast broadly live up to this standard (though I'd describe the staff as a tad grumpy) but the rooms are quite a joke. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write.

I deeply aplogize for your experience here at the hotel and thank you for the feedback.

We started the year with some renovations and do wish that on your next visit we can meet your expectations.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalais, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found the hotel warm and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly. The beds were large and we slept extremely well. The only downside was the food.Breakfast we couldn't fault - lots of choice and plenty of it. Bar snacks were good but no-one wants to eat burgers and sandwiches every night. The buffet in the restaurant was unimaginative, and waiting 5 minutes for a refill of sauce led to cold food for one of our party. Not good for a €39 menu.
On the plus side, the attractions of Iceland tend to make up for anything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Many good points about this hotel, but a number no so good.

On the upside, the staff were always very helpful and attentive. The public areas (reception, restaurants and bar) were good and welcoming. Mimisbar was a particularly pleasant place to spend an evening, with a good selection of drinks and bar food menu. Happy hour was especially good value.

We ate in the restaurant only once for dinner, but found the food to be delicious. It was good to meet and speak to the chef, who was both enthusiastic and very informative about his food. Not a cheap meal but good value for the quality.

The basement gym was well equipped but a little cramped. The jacuzzi was also very relaxing if you've got some spare time - a adequately sized complimentary towel would be nice though!

On the downside, the room was a little tired and grubby. It was an adequate sized room, but we felt if really did need a deep clean or renovation.

Breakfast was generally good, with a decent variety/choice of hot and cold food. Service was chaotic at times, when the hotel was busy, resulting in long queues to get a table and often running out of some foods.

Overall not bad, but not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for the nice comments and feedback. We will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 8th Nov-11th Nov. The hotel is quite old and the rooms were average.
I was not impressed by the beds and the room anywhere. Room service was alright and food was ok. In terms of the location, it is quite near to the city center. Not more than 5-10 mins taxi drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

We appreciate the feedback and we do take them very seriously.

Happy holiday

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is a but outside the center an not so convinent for a quick stroll in the city or near restaurant, but some fresh air dont kill anyone.

The hotel as i understand have rooms that is modernized, but not the ones i stayed in. The room was old looking, some of the interia was broken and was not positive to the overall impression. Curtains and shower was defect (i did'nt bother to mention this to the reception, i actually didnt spend time enough in my room to bother)
The service was ok and nothing special to say to this.
Overall the hotel gave you the impression, that they where just surviving and thats it.
I will proberly not stay here Again, but if the Price is low then i might :)

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here on the nights of August 20, 21 & 22. We arrived very late at night...around midnight, and were glad that someone was at reception to check us in. (The cab ride from Keflavik is around $100.00 US....very expensive.) Our room was the tiniest we have ever encountered in more than 45 years of traveling the globe; and to say we were shocked is an understatement! It resembled a cruise cabin, except that the bed (actually two twins pushed together) was jammed up against one wall, so you had to crawl across the bed to get into it. Not great for two people in their upper 60's! The shower was exactly like those in a small cruise cabin...jammed into the corner, with a rounded sliding plastci door. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was chaos, as there were many groups booked into the hotel. Just trying to get a clean table was a challenge; and if you didn't arrive by 8:00AM, they were running out of certain items.

The plus side...it was only about a 10-minute walk into town, or a 5-minute taxi cab ride. Watch OUT for the taxi drivers here...we accidently overpaid by about $100.00, between being jet-lagged and confused by the Icelandic currency; and the DISHONEST taxi driver said nothing and kept it. We didn't realize it under after the fact. Should have reported him, but neglected to do so. Overall, if I were to travel to Reykjavik again, I would pick another hotel in the city centre, to avoid the hassle of getting a taxi, plus easier access to everthing.

Room Tip: If you go, know what type and size room you are getting. We never thought to question the dimension...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and do take them very seriously. I am also sorry to hear about your experience regarding the taxi. It should cost about $100 but at night it´s more expensive then it cost about $122. However the flybus is $20 per person one way.

I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conference Hotel located near the university, a 5-minute walk from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.