We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of four stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Island to your Saves list
Hotel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Armuli 9 | Hotel Iceland, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson) (Háaleiti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deserving of four stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really wanted to give the hotel four stars but I can't overlook some of the things that bring the rating down. On the good side, the staff was excellent, pleasant and helpful. The free wifi was the best reception I have found in Europe. We loved the walk in shower with excellent water pressure and no sulfur smell the tour guides warned us about. The beds were clean and comfortable even though the room was poorly arranged. Moving the bed closer to the window would open up a lot of space and save the wife and I from crawling over one another to get in and out of the room. The breakfast was fabulous. That only a Frenchman would complain should tell you enough about how good their complimentary breakfast is. Though the hotel is no where near the city centre, which is a good 10-minute drive, the major tour companies conveniently pick up and drop off in front of the hotel.

On the downside, the renovations were a bit much to ignore and get over. Even with GPS we couldn't find the hotel because it does look like a demolition zone with no markings whatsoever, not even a temporary sign identifying the place as a hotel. I was not aware of the renovations. Failing to look up the comments on trip advisor was my fault, but I received no notice either warning me of any renovations. The drilling and hammering, directly above us, started early in the morning (7-ish) and went on well into the evening (7-8pm). We requested a room on the upper floors hoping for a room with a view. Instead we got a fifth floor room facing the front which has a spectacular view of the street below and the office building across the street. If we stretch, way off to one side we sometimes could catch a glimpse of the Hallgrimskirkja. The one tiny overused elevator was occasionally monopolized by the workers. There is no business centre, or so the receptionist told me. Perhaps it is being renovated. I was allowed to use their reception computer to print tour vouchers, though I would suspect that is some kind of security breach.

Even when renovated, we would likely not stay here again. We would choose some place closer to the city centre or with better views of the bay and mountains.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
51
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sure this hotel is being renovated, but it didn't cause any disturbance or annoyances. And to be fair the hotel is a bit dated so the work is necessary. Deal with it because it's a great little place. I think the renovations should be finished by june 2015.
Our hotel room was clean, comfortable and spacious but as I said a bit dated in a 90s way. We also had WiFi, a great mountain view and tea making facilities. The breakfast was good. Hot and cold options available. The staff are genuine, warm and friendly. They will chase up excursions for you, find out if trips are going ahead, call the airport transfer company etc. Couldn't fault them. Icelanders are generally very nice people.
The hotel is a little way out of the city centre. There is a bus you can get or a taxi which I think was about £15. There are various shops, bars and restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel. We'd recommend brassarie Askur for dinner. There's a sports bar next to the hotel which isn't anywhere as intimidating as it looks! It was pretty quiet though!
I'd advise you not to get a taxi to or from the airport as it's very expensive. The coach transfers are much cheaper and drop you to your hotel.
We only had two full days in Reykjavik and it wasn't enough. We did the express golden circle tour which still took several hours but was was spectacular. My favourite was the national park. Also the blue lagoon and the northern lights cruise. Alas we didn't see the lights. Book any northern light trip for the first night. If they cancel or you go out but don't see the auroral they let you go again for free. If you are going as a family and feel confident you might be better hiring a car and viewing the attractions for yourself as the outdoor activities are free. You'll probably save money this way.

Take good walking shoes preferably waterproof and warm socks. Take lots of clothing layers including base layers and water/ wind proof outer layers. Hats, gloves, thermal face masks are necessary. It's flipping freezing in Iceland and the weather is very changeable! Also take snacks and a thermos flask with you. That'll save you some money and warm you up on outdoor excursions! All the popular outdoor places had cafes and loos.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Picked this place for it’s location in town and that’s about all it has going for it. It is being renovated which is supposedly going to be done in spring 2015 but it seems like that deadline is too ambitious. Looks like they’re only working on the exterior when the interior is what needs updating. The room felt like it came straight out of the 70’s. It was however one of our bigger rooms and it there was a fridge in the room. Breakfast had a good spread of options; the only place we stayed at that had bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed a week at this hotel with my son and found the hotel to be clean, beds were very comfortable and breakfast was great. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. They were eager to assist us in car hire, directions etc. The Hotel was in the midst of a major renovation and so was practically a building site. It was noisy during the day which did not bother us as we were out most of the day visiting the sites. The noise didn't start till late so it didn't affect us. Our room was old but spacious and easily met our needs. The bathroom also needed renovating but was clean and functional. My son commented that the Wifi was excellent so he was happy. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had one of the back rooms that faced the amazing view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

when we got there we couldnt believe what we see,it didnt even look like a hotel,the front is a right mess,but we we given a suite room which was fantastic and the free wifi was very strong,breakfast ok heard a little bit of drilling aout 8am overall a good stay but iceland is a grim horrible overpriced country,and i wouldnt go there again

Room Tip: mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whist there are good things about this hotel it was all overshadowed by the building work. The noise, dust and mess was unbelievable. It was unsafe, (power tools left on stairs) and frustrating (the small lift was took over by the builders during the day) The noise starting from 7am till after 7pm and was constant. You could not even get the family in and out safely as the builders trucks blocked the front lobby and would knock you down if you got in the way. I'm sure there must have been injuries as no thought or attention was given to paying guests. The staff whilst mostly helpful we're no use at all. God help anyone with small children. Mine is 10 years old so had a bit of common sense. I'm personally disgusted that a room you have paid for is rendered unuseable throughout the entire day, we will be chasing a refund through our travel agent and I would implore everyone NOT to book this hotel, unless they enjoy staying on a building site.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher room but to be honest the noise came from every direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived from the US at 4:30am and needed a place to rest our heads as we were heading to the Hockey Rink for a 1pm game. Our apartment was not ready until 2pm, so we booked Hotel Island based on its proximity to the rink and the price. We were not disappointed.

We were able to rest in the small but ample room. Breakfast downstairs was very nice and had lots to choose from.

When we booked the room we knew about the construction going on. I would stay there again knowing that everything will be updated and new in the very near future.

The front desk staff was very helpful. They stored our bags for us and gave great directions around the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Island

Address: Armuli 9 | Hotel Iceland, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the new business district & within walking distance to the picturesque city centre; near Kringlan mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Island Reykjavik Hotel
Park Inn Reykjavík
Reykjavík Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.