We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Island to your Saves list
Hotel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Armuli 9 | Hotel Iceland, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson) (Háaleiti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Was a lovely friendly hotel, was extremely disappointed on arrival to find out our TWIN room was infact a double bed. And was told because the hotel was being done up there was no where else to go. the rest of the stay was pleasant but this did disappoint me a lot.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
26
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was expecting a better quality of Radisson but it's dated hotel (more towards to motel type). Still it is clean and well-maintained.
The breakfast was delicious both warm and cold.
We made a reservation of one double room and when we got to the room, it was like a junior suite. I think they didn't have the double room any more therefore they upgraded us to a junior suite. We really appreciated it.

The WIFI is very fast, it's not in the center of Reykjavik though. It's about 25-30 minutes to walk. We arrived to this hotel late in the evening and didn't mind staying one night only. On the next day, we moved to a different hotel room in the city. FYI there are buses going to the city center.
Staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights as I was working in Iceland. It was a half hour walk from the city but an easy and interesting walk which I enjoyed. Room was a standard hotel room (reminded me of a Travelodge) but bed was very comfy and room was warm and cosy. There are lots of places to eat within a short distance and it was great to explore. Breakfast was plentiful although not sure about chips at that time of day! Staff were all very friendly and you could have a drink in the bar after a long day at work.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

After arriving at Keflavík Airport, the Flybus from went directly to the hotel. The staff at the lobby were friendly, polite and helpful. The Reykjavík central business district is a half-hour walk west, and but worth the chance to peruse the local shops. The room was spacious and clean with a large, comfortable bed. In the bathrooms, there is a sign stating that the hot water comes directly from underground, and as such is slightly cloudy and smelly, but the bath rivalled the Blue Lagoon in relaxation and made for an excellent night's rest. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet provided a large variety of choices, both hot and cold; the pastries were particularly nice. An excellent experience for the price, considering I was travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: High rooms on the north-western side provide a stunning view of the harbour and huge mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

the only food served at the hotel is breakfast. No room service/restaurant facilities during the winter we were told, however the very helpful young man in reception helped us order some food from outside the hotel.
The hotel is very dated but rooms were very clean. The hotel is not a Radisson hotel so don't expect the typical Radisoon room style.
There were no tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom which was a miss, though you could get drinks in the reception area downstairs.
It is a good 20 minutes walk into the town centre but buses also run from main road.
If you are on a budget and don't expect or want 5* facilities the hotel is fine. But if you are looking for a little bit of luxury this is not for you

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city. Excellent view from floor 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I did not stay here so cannot comment on the rooms. My hotel was a 5 min walk away but I could not check in until later so came here for a drink. Had to write a review because the staff were nice whenever I popped in. The young man on reception was great, very helpful, better than the staff at my hotel, I was a bit lost and popped in here upon my arrival. He gave me a map and scribbled on places which I needed to get to. He was also as attentive to an elderly guest and came back over to tell me that I needed the correct change for the bus and offered to change my notes so that I could catch one. Coffee was also ok, small but cheaper than most places.

The actual place looked nice enough. It is in a good location. There is an ATM almost next door which is important because there are not many in the centre and no others nearby, you would need to walk to a supermarket 15 mins away. The bus stop Nordica is over the road opposite the Hilton, it is 2 stops into town and cost 350isk. Iceland is cold that you do not want to walk far. There is a place to eat and a rock/sport pub virtually next door which is not great but about as good as it gets in Iceland. It is also behind the Hilton, the lights hotel is not far away and there are a few places to eat near there.

If the price is right, it could be good as there was nothing near my hotel and I had to walk to this area for cash and food.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Expected better of a Radisson Hotel. This very dated hotel (don't think it had been refurbished since it opened in the late 80s) had all the charm of the Crossroads Motel.

The breakfasts are indeed plentiful and naturally veer towards the continental breakfast style. The cooked options will not impress if you are a British tourist! - ghastly American style bacon (crispy/streaky), scrambled eggs and hash browns!


Our booking expressly asked for a twin room, and surprise, surprise, they were planning to put us into a double, so there was a lot of faffing round on arrival trying to get us an alternative room.

What we did end up with, was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room (despite being advertised as provided). We had to ask for them, which was eventually provided.

Also, despite satellite TV being promised, we had just TWO English language channels, and about 3 in other languages. We asked whether this was a problem with the TV signal, but nothing happened about sorting it.

Bedrooms were serviced regularly and kept clean. Bathroom extremely pokey, but the room itself was fairly generously sized.

Staff very helpful, informative and knowledgeable generally (regarding local info etc)

Location OK - a few places to eat nearby, but otherwise not much going on. The city centre is about 30 mins brisk walk, but there are buses.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Island

Address: Armuli 9 | Hotel Iceland, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the new business district & within walking distance to the picturesque city centre; near Kringlan mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Island Reykjavik Hotel
Park Inn Reykjavík
Reykjavík Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.