We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle level price but high quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik

Save Saved
You added Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Armuli 9, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Háaleiti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #40 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Middle level price but high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In the summer Iceland ,it is not easy to find a hotel like this, the price is arround 200 Euro /room, The room is bigger and service is excellent.It is not so close to the Center,but close to the famous swimming pool,which is good for family ,etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
18
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
marietta GA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an excellent choice for me staying on points - it was the lowest level point value wtih Carlson hotels.

PROS:
incredible full breakfast buffet - a rarity for Iceland. With the cost of meals in Iceland, that makes this property a great deal, as that a breakfast of the caliber of the one they serve would be $20 or so.
Quiet property removed from any noise
nice views on top of the hill
friendly staff - desk and restaraunt both.
room was clean
c-store right around the corner if they dont have what you need in the lobby

CONS
shows some wear and tear due to age. Maybe Carlson will clean it up a bit.
Most of the properties in Iceland that i have seen have a bit of wear to them so this was not horrible - just so you know. Examples like scuff marks on the walls or doors, wear on brass handles/railings, wear on the veneer of some of the furniture, older looking carpet etc... nothing major.
not really close to the typical tourist activities - not very walkable anyway, but fine if you have a car.
not many restaurants close by

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has to be recent acquisition by rezidor sas group - it is somewhat more upscale than traditional park inn, and they still have some plates in restaurant with "Hotel Island" brand so it has to be what this hotel was before joining Radisson.

The hotel itself is located off centre of Reykjavik and if you plan to visit downtown often and/or are not planning to rent a car, then this hotel is probably not for you. We rented car and all our interests were outside Reykjavik, so this hotel was ok option for us.

The sole reason we selected this hotel was that we planned to stay on points and this hotel, being only category 1 in Club Carlson award chart was unbelievable value for money (9000 points vs. EUR 200 usual rate).

We were staying for 5 nights in July. Reservation was made well in advance and so we were not aware of refurbishment works that started in this hotel when we arrived. We were upgraded into junior suite which was large room consisted of 2 areas - one with king size bed and vanity table, another one with work desk and sofabed which was converted Into 2nd bed for us. There was safe in the wall and the fridge. Quality of bed was sufficient, pillows however were very flat and soft.

Breakfast is included for all guests and consists of some hot and cold items and pretty decent coffee. Internet is also included free for all and (potentially therefore) is slow and unreliable (e.g. I was able to receive emails on my iPad but was only able to send them from the hotel reception desk - obviously this was not a new news for hotel management - I was calmly advised that "email never works").

Hotel's biggest issue is the service overall-it is very patchy and totally indifferent, e.g. Waiter in the restaurant may start cleaning plates on your table in front of you, room service may not vacuum entire floor leaving dust in the corners, etc. etc.

Another issue we experienced is of course construction work in the hotel and in nightclub that shares same building. It was very noisy on weekdays and work would start at 8am.

Another interesting feature of this particular hotel is that it shares the building with elderly care home which occupies 2nd floor - but it did not affect our stay in any way.

Verdict: I personally will not spend EUR 200 per night at this hotel as it would be quite poor value for money. It is ok option to stay on points.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a regular guest and I frequent this hotel several times a year for business and I felt it's about time to write something here.

A nice cozy hotel and pretty much what I would expect from a small 3 star hotel.

The hotel has some wonderful staff. Reception staff are warm and helpful. Always eager to help.

Breakfast can be a little hectic during the busier times, but when a few hundred people all come at once that is to be expected.

Rooms are a little dated in style,but kept immaculately clean.

While the hotel isn't in the dead center of town, it also isn't too far away either. Public buses leave regularly and a taxi is also ready within minutes. But if it's a nice day it's a pleasant 30 minute stroll.

As a whole I do feel the hotel is starting to show it's age, but I do also know they are in the process of renovating.

I always look forward to my stay, and will continue to do so in the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: It's best to call ahead if you have any preferences. If there are any problems you should me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Basically we were looking for the least expensive decent bed and breakfast option within walking distance from the centre and that's what we got.

The room was large and had a nice view to the sea and mountains - if you looked between the office buildings. We had a twin room instead of the double room we had booked and confirmed, but the location within the hotel was so good that we didn't want to risk it by changing rooms. The shower was a bit "moody" with the water temperature and pressure sometimes and the towels were old and tiny compared to other hotels or even those I have at home, but otherwise the room was comfortable.

The breakfast was basic and sometimes the cooked stuff was cold or even raw (the potatoes). The bread selection however was excellent and we always found enough to eat.

The location was good for us: definitely within walking distance from the centre but there's also a bus stop nearby, close to the sea and the park and you don't need to walk along busy streets to get anywhere, there's always a nicer alternative. There are a few small restaurants nearby, nothing fancy but e.g. a vegetarian restaurant, some kind of Chinese/Vietnamese place (with mixed reviews) and a very local indeed restaurant called Múlakaffi, which is the closest one and which we tried. You get to choose from a few dishes and get also soup, bread and salad for very reasonable price - and the portions are huge!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If the reception WHEN we checked out had not told us the problem, I would have rated this place with a 0. He told us that the hotel was recently bought by another company which planned on shutting it down and remodeling completely.It was OLD, dirty, rugs, and wallpaper peeling. Large room, yes. BUT that is about all that can be said about the place. It is in the middle of an area that had only 1 place to eat and that too was old. If without a car or planned transportation, you would not have eating choices.Sadly this was the first of 7 places we stayed on a planned tour of Iceland. AND what a shocker! I personally saw two times Security check a side door that once upon a time, apparently, was a restaurant, but now, though lighted, was a filthy vestibule. ASK if remodeled before you book.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

THIS HOTEL SHOULD BE CLOSED (OR IMPLODED)!!! This was, BY FAR, the worst excuse for a hotel I have stayed at in my adult memory. Hotel has ZERO redeeming factors. Room had one picture crookedly hung over the bed, dirty carpets and walls (scuffed, marked up, and missing paint), the room as well as all of the towels and linens smelled sour, the hotel guide recommended using the DIAL-UP internet connection because the wireless was unreliable, and the lobby PC (which has nothing plugged into it and wasn't even close to an outlet) was OUT OF ORDER (and I'm sure had been and will be for quite some time). There is absolutely no reason for Radisson to keep this hotel going. It is a disgrace to the Radisson brand and not even worth looking at. Pictures of the hotel online must show another location as our supposedly "upgraded" room looked nothing like what was advertised. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik

Address: Armuli 9, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the new business district & within walking distance to the picturesque city centre; near Kringlan mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Island Reykjavik Hotel
Park Inn Reykjavík
Reykjavík Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Island Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.