We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“icelandic treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Lind to your Saves list
Fosshotel Lind
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“icelandic treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in room 114 over the easter period. It was a great little hotel, perfectly placed for the centre of town. Rooms are compact and basic, but clean comfortable and warm. The location really is perfect as you are close enough to town but away form the noise of the clubs of central town. Breakfast was good wide range of continental style food. The reception staff were the best part of this hotel, check in took approx 3 mins!! On one day our excursion was a little late to collect us and the receptionist was straight on the phone to call them. Really knowledgable about the local area. There were lots of free local maps and booklets of recommendations of places to visit/eat in the reception area which were useful.The showers do smell of sulpher but that is normal for iceland as its all geothermal heated- I actually found it was better for my hair and skin. The only small problem with our room was the lack of hanging space, but as we were only there for 4 days we didnt have all that much stuff with us so we were okay. We would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was quiet as its away from the road and has views of the church (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Gemma

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Your words were truly kind and we'd be happy to welcome you back!

With greetings from a sunny summer evening in Iceland,
Team Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    166
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
38
154
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thank you to the hotel manager and staffs for making my first trip to Iceland a wonderful stay.
.The hotel was clean and is really near to most of the places in the city. All staffs really showed dedication in their customer service,they even help to plan out our daytrips to other parts of iceland and took care of us. Do take note that some rooms in this hotel is undergoing renovation,so some guests might expect paint smells.

Room Tip: try to choose rooms facing the Hallgrímskirkja church,a calming view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Emirasookie

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for choosing Fosshótel Lind for your first stay in Iceland!
Your words were truly kind and we'd be happy to welcome you back!

We have now finished our construction and are very happy with the outcome of our new renovated design rooms.

With greetings from a sunny summer day in Iceland,

Team Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

They gave us a room on the first floor. There was a very strong smell of paint. Found out it was a new room which designed by little kids. Kind of cool looking but you can't give this room to anyone if the smell is still there.
So we asked them to give us another room the next day since they had no other rooms. We then moved to another room which had a broken bed and dirty towels. We had to change to another room again. It was much better. Everything was fine in the end. Breakfast was so-so. Hot food was pretty bad. Coffee was OK.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Stella B

Thank you for taking time writing an honest review and providing us with constructive feedback.

We have noted your comments and we assure you that we will work on improvement.

We are very sorry to hear that you had problems staying in your first room because of paint smell. The rooms were renovated in March and since then the room has been in use without any complaints.

Also I want to note that the newly renovated rooms were not designed by kids but by different Icelandic designers all graduated with BA degree.

We are happy to hear that the reception was able to help you and that you finally were accommodated in a comfortable room.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to welcome you with a superior experience.

With greetings from a sunny day in Iceland,

Team Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stay for five nights and had a great stay. Great breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. The road was a bit noisy- especially annoying in the morning...but still got good nights sleep. The beds were really comfortable. Very close to the main shopping street and many restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a great stay at Fosshotel Lind. The staff was courteous and helpful - in fact, when we were looking for a sub for dinner, a hotel representative actually took us to the local sub joint, hlollabatar, which was truly awesome. They also helped us with booking of some of the local tours. They were also super quick for the check-in.
The hotel is centrally located - it is proximate to the main shopping street in Reykjavik, the iconic Hallgrim's Church and the harbour/Harpa.
The only minor issue is that the hot water has a strong sulphuric smell, which is quite common in Iceland given the geothermal water sources; however, we were told that the water is extremely safe for drinking and exceeds all safety norms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Excellent friendly staff. Clean rooms. Efficient layout though small (eg only room for one chair). Central location within walking distance of central Reykjavic attractions. The front desk staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very efficient, friendly staff, great location near shops, restaurants and all the main sights. Clean room with everything you need, good sized bathroom with a great shower. I will be back. We were a group of 12 with dive gear to lug in and out every day but the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a cathedral view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Lind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.