We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Lind to your Saves list
Fosshotel Lind
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is fine and the room size was big enough for us. If you are looking for 5* luxury though, you maybe shouldn’t go to Iceland. We liked the location, the quietness at nights and the breakfast was good. Never had dinner there so can’t comment on it. The hotel bar is not the biggest ever but certainly does the job for having a nightcap. I do however, not think they are open until all hours. Especially, I'd like to mention how helpful the staff was. We forgot something in another one of the Fosshotels in Iceland and they made sure that we received it before travelling home. Thanks a lot to both sides of the Fosshotel staff in Reykjavik and Reykholt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    176
    51
    8
    1
See reviews for
38
164
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Only needs to be a short review as others have said it all before. Just a great location, very pleasant and helpful staff. Hello Freya, Elin and Halldor. Clean, as is the whole of Iceland, good breakfast. Room size, seemed fine to me. Nice having free wifi in the room.
Used Flybus+ to get to hotel so door to door service. Very good. Did not realise until we got to the hotel just how good a location it has. Within walking distance to everything. Main shopping streets, local swimming bath, (recommend you visit that) the pearl, the church, sun voyger, the harpa. Cosy coffee shop round the corner. Top tip, to save space in your luggage, buy your warm clothing there from the charity shops round the corner. Very nice stuff. You could donate it back again before you go home.
To round off, when I go back, I shall simply book here again. No Hesitation.
Jason

Room Tip: 201 has wifi in the room. Maybe they all do. But 201 certainly has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is in a good location ,rooms are clean,breakfast is served in dining room downstairs and was very good.They also serve pizza,fries in the bar which opens at 5pm and has a happy hour till 7pm .We used Grayline for our airport transfers which takes 1hr .They pick you up at the Hotel but you have to change bus at there office at the harbor which was no problem. Had wifi which was useful .There is a supermarket just round the corner and Bonus just a bit further which is cheaper .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our needs. We stayed for a long weekend and needed a base. The room served basic needs with tea/coffee making facilities, though bathroom is small. Breakfast offered a range of choice, perfect start to a busy day. The staff are absolutely brilliant. They were really friendly and helpful even arranging for us to eat dinner elsewhere! I would definately reccommend Floss hotel Lind

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our tour and at the end. The first room we has was too small for 2 people, we were tripping over our suitcases. I think the hotel was just trying to get us into a room quickly as our flight arrived hours before the rooms were ready. The room at the end of the trip was larger and much better. Excellent buffet breakfast and all staff were helpful, Finnish bartender was friendly. Good location to walk all over Reykjavik which we did. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fosshotel Lind is in a great location, close to the shopping strip, restaurants and harbor. Rooms are small but spotless. Don't forget your shampoo, even though they did have a liquid soap that says its for hair and body. Water is naturally hard in Iceland so be prepared for a sulfur smell when you first turn on the water. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to get into our room early and we were off and running. Estanis was working the front desk and was extremely helpful in pointing out places in the area we could get to easily. Food in the hotel was very good and more than enough variety to choose from. We stayed there on our first night of our Northern Lights tour and the last . I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering going to this wonderful country!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just got back from a short break in Iceland and have to ask if they are the friendliest people in the world? This hotel was excellent, a budget price but more than quality service. The staff were are friendly and helpful, especially Freya on reception who cheerfully re organised our travel arrangements to the airport 3 times on our last day.

The room was clean and comfortable apart from the individual lamps over the beds which could only be worked by screwing the bulbs in and out as the pull switches were non existent. The breakfast was far more than I expected and provided a great selection of choices from fresh fruit to make your own waffles.

The happy hour in the bar was good value and the barman remembered our choices each time we went in.

The location was very good, 5 mins walk from the main shopping street, 5 mins from the sea front and 10 mins from the famous church on the hill. I would certainly be happy to return there and will happily recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Lind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.