We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Nice Location in Reykjavik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Save Saved
You added Fosshotel Lind to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Trenton, NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Nice Location in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff here was so friendly and helpful. They would look up information for you, times attractions were open, and also referred me to some great local attractions. The rooms were clean, good view but small compared to USA standards. The breakfast included with your meal was UK standard - lunch meats, breads, sausages and beans. The breakfast had variety for food and drinks. They had "quilt like blankets" on the beds that kept you nice and cozy. There was one computer to use. I had a nice stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and choosing our hotel :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments regarding the hotel and our friendly staff.

Thank you for the nice photo´s :)

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    46
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
134
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a couple of days while we explored Reykjavic and toured the surrounding area. The hotel staff were friendly upon arrival and allowed us to check in early, which was nice. The room and bath were clean and simple, which is perfect. Breakfast ( was included) and it was good, with a lot of selections. The only downsides were the tap water in our bathroom reeked of sulfur and smelled when the tap was turned on. We had read this was common among the area as a lot of water is geothermal from ground. Finally, do not buy bottled water at front desk as the price is quadruple from what you'd pay in a store....just around the corner! Overall this hotel served its purpose as the location was perfect, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and choosing our hotel :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the sulphur smell of the water. It is true that the hot water in Iceland is mainly heated geothermally and because of that it smells of sulphur. The water is very clean and pure and I can assure you that it is only the hot water. If you turn on the cold water from the taps it is excellent to drink and very clean :)

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for three nights recently. The rooms were basic, clean and tidy, but had everything you needed. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the breakfast room was well stocked.

It's not 5* standard, but has everything you need for a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear that you would certainly recommend our hotel as a great place to stay while you explore Iceland. Thank you.

We are very proud of our friendly and helpful employee´s

We are glad to hear that you liked our newly renovated rooms that we finished in end of April with all new furnishers, beds and bathrooms.

Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed the Happy hour at our bar were you can get our special cocktails for half price between 16-19:00 everyday - also other drinks. :)

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday´s in Iceland.

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind

Erna Dís
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A friend and I stayed here on a long weekend visit to Iceland. The welcome was very friendly and helpful and the room on the third floor (newly refurbished) was clean and comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel so the room was basic but met all our needs. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. The bathroom is wet room style so no bath.

The breakfasts were great - buffet style with lots of choice including make your own waffles! We also enjoyed the two for one cocktail hour from 4-7 in the bar (a good deal in a country where alcohol is pricey). We didn't eat in the restaurant but food was available. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

There was free wi-fi which was great but the TV had a poor selection of channels which was a bit disappointing.

The staff were lovely and friendly and we were able to book all our trips at the desk. If you get the flybus from the airport they will do a drop off and pick up at the hotel as did our tours. It is a very short walk to the main shopping street (Laugavegur) and we had a great view of the Hallgrimskirka from our window. Everything we needed was nearby.

I would certainly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay while you explore Iceland. In addition the chain is an Icelandic one so it is nice to support a local business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late April and found the hotel very good indeed!
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and functional.
The breakfast had a good range of cereals, cooked meats, cheeses and fresh fruit and hot sausages, omelette and beans which would suit the majority of people.
The biggest asset of the hotel by far was the staff!
The Reception staff were always available with advice for new visitors to Iceland and the rest of the staff were always polite and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the start of a holiday. It is in a quiet area of town about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. The hotel is a modern building and has a lift. Our room No 406 was clean & warm with a wet room style bathroom. It was perfectly adequate for our needs. Tea & Coffee making facilities were also provided

Breakfast was buffet style with cereals, yogurt, cheese, cold meats & pastries. There was one hot option which was scrambled egg, beans & hot dog sausages. Food was plentiful and regularly replenished. No problems whatsoever and we would happily use it again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for the first and last couple of nights on a tour of South East Iceland. Very clean and entirely adequate yet not particularly expensive by Icelandic standards. When I was there some building work / renovation was going on and there was some noise until about 17:00. Very helpful reception staff, great buffet breakfast. Wetroom rather than a bathroom with a shower cubicle. I be happy to stay here again ... 4 rather than a 5 due to the building noise

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Lind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.