We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle House Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Castle House Luxury Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Salem,Tamilnadu
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Convenient Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our family group from India, had a very comfortable stay at the Castle House Apartments this week. We had chosen this property based on its rating on TripAdvisor.

After having stayed in Hotels, we found the apartments to be refreshingly different. It was very convenient staying in a great location on the lake, at the centre of the town and with the tour booking offices, shopping and restaurants just a stone's throw away.

Check in was easy and quick. The rooms were adequate and very clean. Well heated with all amenities in the kitchen made us feel at home.

Freyja who was our contact was very prompt in her replies to our queries and helped us a lot in our bookings. Evelyn the manager was always available over phone and helpful.

We certainly recommend this place to all travellers to Iceland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    104
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
258
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a change from staying in hotels then I'd recommend these apartments. They're in a good location in Reykjavik just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street. They're well equipped and the milk, orange juice, cofffee and chocolate that's provided on arrival was very welcome. Apartments have wifi and satellite tv all with uk channels! The pre arrival information emailed after the booking is confirmed is very useful and covers everything you could need to know. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed apartment 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south windsor, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived at the Castle House around 3:30 PM and were disappointed that there was no one on site to welcome us. It took four phone calls before someone picked up the phone. We requested that we meet with a " real person" and the request was ignored. Fortunately someone was leaving the main entrance and we were able to retrieve our key. The person who called our room was very put out that we asked questions and told us to read the prepared literature in the room. Room was clean but not very quiet...slamming doors and noisy people outside our room. We stayed here two different nights and both rooms were quite hot with very little fresh air.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. I did miss your call and apologize for keeping you waiting for check in for 6 minutes. That should not have happened (and almost never does). Usually check in is available immediately.

We then called you at the apartment to offer you any assistance or information. You asked for and received directions for restaurants. We then made you aware of available printed maps and information in the apartment and of our 24/7 phone service.

I am sorry you did not feel sufficiently welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in suite 30 of Castle House for 2 nights in May. We really enjoyed the place, which was compact-but-not-too-compact. Everything was clean and new-looking, and there was plenty of room for the two of us. Along with the kitchen/bathroom/living room, we had a cute little balcony to look out on the city. We were a short walk from the town center.

We quickly found the Kornid Bakery down the main street, which became our breakfast stop the 3 mornings we were there. Good coffee, pastries and fresh sandwiches.

We would stay at Castle House again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Can't speak highly enough about these apartments. We had 3 separate apartments and stayed for 3 nights - good value compared to local hotels. Great location 5 minutes walk from all of the bars/restaurants but nice and quiet. Spotlessly clean and all the facilities you are likely to need - watched the England match on the flat screen TV. Very efficient booking process and good communication. Iceland is a beautiful country. Would recommend a visit and stay at the Castle House

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed one night here after completing the Ring Road. We loved this charming place and for the price, it was an amazing find. We were in room 61 which was on street level and it was furnished with a couch, bed, small kitchen (no stove), TV, small bathroom. Very clean, comfortable place. We loved the location which was in a residential area near a lovely city park and a quick 10 minute walk to the central part of the city. After booking the hotel about two months ago, as the time neared, I started receiving helpful emails about things to do, places to eat, etc. I never met the owner-manager but she had covered all the bases. I would recommend this place highly and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Me and my wife just came back from a trip to Iceland and while there we stayed at Castle House Luxury Apartments. We stayed in Apt. 50 which is perfect for two people during the week we were there. The apartment had a tv, bed, couch, small kitchen, dining room, and though the bathroom in the photo looks small its a perfect size. Freyja was my contact person from the time I booked the reservation on line and was very highly informative about what to expect in Iceland. At the end on our stay we were allowed to keep our luggage in the room between our check out time and the next guest check in time, so that we may walk around town a bit more before our departure back home. I have no complaints about the stay at this hotel and would only stay here on any return visits.

Room Tip: All apartments at Skalholtsstigur 2a are far from any clubs or bars, so its very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle House Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.