We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless clean, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle House Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Castle House Luxury Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Spotless clean, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were very happy when we walked into these apartments. They are spacious and spotless clean.

There is no reception like a typical hotel - we received instructions prior to arrival and you call on an intercom and they buzz you in, where you find your keys in an envelope. There is a little notebook with all the information you need including a map, local shops, phone numbers, bus information, etc. The owners call you shortly after you've checked in to make sure you have everything you need.

Wifi is free, the kitchen has instant coffee. There is housekeeping each day.

Bathroom only had soap and a combo shampoo/shower gel, so BYO on the rest of it. There is a hairdryer. Bathroom also had a heated floor and heated towel rack.

Location is excellent, right near Lake Tjörnin, and an easy walk to the city center. If you are going on a tour, buses will pick you up here, and so will the bus to the airport. Our room happened to have a view of the Lake from our living room. Not sure if all rooms would have a view.

Only down sides (and if you could take off 1/2 dot, I would have given them 4-1/2 dots rather than 5) : 1) the hotel is in an old house which is not very noise proof. We were on the 1st floor and because floors are wood, every step the people above us took resonated loudly. We could also hear conversations. The walls were thin and the head of our bed was apparently next to the bathroom next door because we could hear not just conversation, but also handles turning for the shower faucet, toothbrushes tapping on the sink, and yes, even toilet use. Perhaps ask for an upstairs room so you will at least not have to deal with footsteps. 2) The curtains are not room darkening (see photo, taken at about midnight). They are room-dimming, but if you are at all sensitive to light when you sleep, it might not be enough so bring an eye mask.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room which may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We strive for perfection. We are not quite there yet, but we tend to do most changes our guest suggest and have upgraded our furniture, equipment and service constantly through the years.

You are right. Sound proofing is not perfect in the apartment you stayed in, no. 10 (other apartments are not affected, being on the floor above or with concrete ceilings). We have put in loose carpeting on the floor above and provided the guests on the upper floor with slippers. This has reduced any sound carrying from above but we now plan putting in carpeting wall to wall in the coming weeks on the upper floor and to find a way to soundproof the wall.

Because we want to be perfect.

The sun really does not set in the summer in our beautiful and wonderful country. Icelanders are used to this and most enjoy sleeping in the sunshine but you are right that some of our guests would prefer to sleep in pitch darkness (for some unfathomable reason) and so we have provided sleeping masks on request.

Because of your suggestions we will provide sleeping mask to all guests during summer, starting now.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    99
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
237
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in apartment 62 for three nights and were happy with the room size and cleanliness, the kitchen facilities and the location. A great bonus if free wi-fi which worked well in our apartment. I would definitely recommend the apartments to others and would stay here again when in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place to stay. You have a kitchen and everything you need in it, internet, cleaning service and it is close to the city center and many restaurants, shops and supermarkets. The room was very clean and had a sofa, fridge, stove and everything needed to cook. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms outside at the garden are on ground floor and easier to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location next to a quaint old church and small lake. 5-10 minute walk into the main part of town. 10-15 minute walk to the old harbour if you book excursions. Apartment great - no reception or anything like a hotel - when we arrived we were dealt with remotely ie we buzzed and they opened the door remotely and have a camera in the small entrance hall where we left the case as we couldn't check in until 3pm - they would have let us in if there wasn't somebody in the apartment the night before. Free wifi. Big flat screen tv. Double bed. Small kitchen but had what we needed. All nicely decorated. Only thing missing is a safe. Apartment is cleaned daily. Reykjavik Excursions pick up and drop off from the apartment for excursions and airport pick up and drop off. Supermarket nearby. Would recommend for a couple. A lovely apartment.

Room Tip: No 10 Castle Apartments is on the ground floor and would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

These apartments are centrally located. Walking distance to some attractions and sightseeing ticket center. On a quiet street. You never meet the owner or manager. A key awaits you in an envelope as you enter the building. If you forget to remove the DO NOT DISTURB sign, somebody will leave a clean set of towels in a bag at your door.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 40. You climb a few steps to get to it. Not extraordinary but very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After the great reviews I happily booked to stay here for 2 nights, and I was not disappointed.

After a busy schedule it was lovely to relax in apartment 20, it was home from home. Apart from nipping to the shop for groceries we decided to spend our last day relaxing in the apartment. Unfortunately it was raining so we did not sit out on the balcony but it was lovely to watch the ducks from the window on the pond.

I called the owners as we were heading from akureryi to reykjavik informing them that we would be arriving very late. This was no issue, the lady told us exactly what to do. Your booking email clearly explains which street you need depending on the apartment your staying in. We parked right outside and the charges 10 til 6 weekdays is so cheap it's not a concern 80 isk per hour for first two hours and 20 krona thereafter. You press the call buzzer on the door and they buzz you in remotely and your keys are in a clearly labelled envelope. I loved how they call shortly after you arrive to see if everything is to your liking. For those located in the castle house apartments, jut go down to the bottom of skalholtsstiggur and the apartments are behind the beautiful green and white church that you can see from the pond, you cannot miss them as they castle shaped turrets, the entrance is set back of the street behind the church and adjacent to listafn island the national museum of art, you will see a lit sign next to the setback entrance. It did not take us long to find at all.

They really really care that your stay is enjoyable and they go out of their wAy to ensure you understand how everything works with a great guide. We liked the remote service there if you need it but otherwise totally uninvasive. We did not need our apartment cleaning as we landed so late, but they still left clean towels etc in a lovely paper bag next to the door.

The apartment was absolutely sparkling clean, had candles you can light, slippers, free tea and coffee and wifi, satellite tv was a bonus, and a free phone for iceland numbers, flowers on the table,

The water did not appear sulphury to me as it had in other places. It was great that they have an iron and ironing board and a kettle as lot of other places have only a percolator this apartment has both and a toaster.

The only suggestion I have would be for milk to be in the fridge so that folk can make a cup of tea/coffee on arrival, if they arrive very late, however even this is a small suggestion as there was a sachet of creamer I was able to use with the coffee

It's close to all amenities, perfect location and quiet with exception of infrequent planes which fly low nearby which my husband loved taking photos off and I have to admit I liked looking at these small planes, I really would recommend staying here if I'm ever back in Reykjavik guess where I'm staying that's right back here, I leave tomorrow and I'm so comfortable in this apartment I'm sad to leave as is my husband

Well done and thank you from Dr Collister-Bartlett

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The first and last nights of our stay in Iceland were at Castle House. The apartments are clean, fully equipped, and convenient for walks in the middle of Reykjavik: right next door to the national art gallery, and about 2 blocks from the Parliament (Althing) and City Hall. The apartment for the second night was very small, but sufficient to fit us. For the first night we were upgraded to #20, one of two apartments with a view of the lake and the city, with much more space and even a balcony. Our only complaint was that our contacts with the management were all by telephone, and that did not allow for them to help us get connected to their WiFi for the first night, or most of the TV stations listed for both nights. The phone connections on the first day were mostly unintelligible, which was very frustrating.

Room Tip: ## 20 and 30 have the best views, most space, and highest price. ##50, 60, 61 and 62 are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and our exchange of emails. And thank you for your comments about our apartments  Our reception is in the small office in the back and we meet most of our guests on arrival. We have also set up a system of quick check-in even if we are tending to other apartments so you never have to wait and can check straight in.
We also have 24/7 service for hellp and advise.
You have told me that on the day of arrival you phoned several times to check if you coud check in early but we were unable to confirm this. Our check out time is 12 noon and then we need to clean the apartments and get them ready for arriving guest so our check in time is at 3 pm. If guests check out early we try to give our arriving guests free early check in. Sorry this was not possible on this occation.
When you did check in we let you in via the door phone but everything was ready for you and you could go straight to the apartment and we called you on the apartment phone to make sure everyting was to yoru satisfaction.
The apartments have satellite TV with around 60 English channels plus the handful of Icelandic channels. As explained in the guide in the apartment one remote turns on the TV and the second, marked sattellite, turns on the sattelite TV. I am sorry you could not get this to work and apologize that we did not come to the apartment to help you with this and finding the WiFi signal. Our member off staff clearly made a mistake simply telling you both were working. You should have called again to complain but I understand this is our fault and will make sure our member of staff understands this.
I do hope you stay with us on your next visit. Please let me know in advance and I will make sure you get a discount as well as our normal service which people say is just great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle House Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;