We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wi-fi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castle House Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Castle House Luxury Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Free wi-fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in apartment 62 for three nights and were happy with the room size and cleanliness, the kitchen facilities and the location. A great bonus if free wi-fi which worked well in our apartment. I would definitely recommend the apartments to others and would stay here again when in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    102
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
251
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place to stay. You have a kitchen and everything you need in it, internet, cleaning service and it is close to the city center and many restaurants, shops and supermarkets. The room was very clean and had a sofa, fridge, stove and everything needed to cook. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms outside at the garden are on ground floor and easier to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location next to a quaint old church and small lake. 5-10 minute walk into the main part of town. 10-15 minute walk to the old harbour if you book excursions. Apartment great - no reception or anything like a hotel - when we arrived we were dealt with remotely ie we buzzed and they opened the door remotely and have a camera in the small entrance hall where we left the case as we couldn't check in until 3pm - they would have let us in if there wasn't somebody in the apartment the night before. Free wifi. Big flat screen tv. Double bed. Small kitchen but had what we needed. All nicely decorated. Only thing missing is a safe. Apartment is cleaned daily. Reykjavik Excursions pick up and drop off from the apartment for excursions and airport pick up and drop off. Supermarket nearby. Would recommend for a couple. A lovely apartment.

Room Tip: No 10 Castle Apartments is on the ground floor and would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

These apartments are centrally located. Walking distance to some attractions and sightseeing ticket center. On a quiet street. You never meet the owner or manager. A key awaits you in an envelope as you enter the building. If you forget to remove the DO NOT DISTURB sign, somebody will leave a clean set of towels in a bag at your door.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 40. You climb a few steps to get to it. Not extraordinary but very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After the great reviews I happily booked to stay here for 2 nights, and I was not disappointed.

After a busy schedule it was lovely to relax in apartment 20, it was home from home. Apart from nipping to the shop for groceries we decided to spend our last day relaxing in the apartment. Unfortunately it was raining so we did not sit out on the balcony but it was lovely to watch the ducks from the window on the pond.

I called the owners as we were heading from akureryi to reykjavik informing them that we would be arriving very late. This was no issue, the lady told us exactly what to do. Your booking email clearly explains which street you need depending on the apartment your staying in. We parked right outside and the charges 10 til 6 weekdays is so cheap it's not a concern 80 isk per hour for first two hours and 20 krona thereafter. You press the call buzzer on the door and they buzz you in remotely and your keys are in a clearly labelled envelope. I loved how they call shortly after you arrive to see if everything is to your liking. For those located in the castle house apartments, jut go down to the bottom of skalholtsstiggur and the apartments are behind the beautiful green and white church that you can see from the pond, you cannot miss them as they castle shaped turrets, the entrance is set back of the street behind the church and adjacent to listafn island the national museum of art, you will see a lit sign next to the setback entrance. It did not take us long to find at all.

They really really care that your stay is enjoyable and they go out of their wAy to ensure you understand how everything works with a great guide. We liked the remote service there if you need it but otherwise totally uninvasive. We did not need our apartment cleaning as we landed so late, but they still left clean towels etc in a lovely paper bag next to the door.

The apartment was absolutely sparkling clean, had candles you can light, slippers, free tea and coffee and wifi, satellite tv was a bonus, and a free phone for iceland numbers, flowers on the table,

The water did not appear sulphury to me as it had in other places. It was great that they have an iron and ironing board and a kettle as lot of other places have only a percolator this apartment has both and a toaster.

The only suggestion I have would be for milk to be in the fridge so that folk can make a cup of tea/coffee on arrival, if they arrive very late, however even this is a small suggestion as there was a sachet of creamer I was able to use with the coffee

It's close to all amenities, perfect location and quiet with exception of infrequent planes which fly low nearby which my husband loved taking photos off and I have to admit I liked looking at these small planes, I really would recommend staying here if I'm ever back in Reykjavik guess where I'm staying that's right back here, I leave tomorrow and I'm so comfortable in this apartment I'm sad to leave as is my husband

Well done and thank you from Dr Collister-Bartlett

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The first and last nights of our stay in Iceland were at Castle House. The apartments are clean, fully equipped, and convenient for walks in the middle of Reykjavik: right next door to the national art gallery, and about 2 blocks from the Parliament (Althing) and City Hall. The apartment for the second night was very small, but sufficient to fit us. For the first night we were upgraded to #20, one of two apartments with a view of the lake and the city, with much more space and even a balcony. Our only complaint was that our contacts with the management were all by telephone, and that did not allow for them to help us get connected to their WiFi for the first night, or most of the TV stations listed for both nights. The phone connections on the first day were mostly unintelligible, which was very frustrating.

Room Tip: ## 20 and 30 have the best views, most space, and highest price. ##50, 60, 61 and 62 are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and our exchange of emails. And thank you for your comments about our apartments  Our reception is in the small office in the back and we meet most of our guests on arrival. We have also set up a system of quick check-in even if we are tending to other apartments so you never have to wait and can check straight in.
We also have 24/7 service for hellp and advise.
You have told me that on the day of arrival you phoned several times to check if you coud check in early but we were unable to confirm this. Our check out time is 12 noon and then we need to clean the apartments and get them ready for arriving guest so our check in time is at 3 pm. If guests check out early we try to give our arriving guests free early check in. Sorry this was not possible on this occation.
When you did check in we let you in via the door phone but everything was ready for you and you could go straight to the apartment and we called you on the apartment phone to make sure everyting was to yoru satisfaction.
The apartments have satellite TV with around 60 English channels plus the handful of Icelandic channels. As explained in the guide in the apartment one remote turns on the TV and the second, marked sattellite, turns on the sattelite TV. I am sorry you could not get this to work and apologize that we did not come to the apartment to help you with this and finding the WiFi signal. Our member off staff clearly made a mistake simply telling you both were working. You should have called again to complain but I understand this is our fault and will make sure our member of staff understands this.
I do hope you stay with us on your next visit. Please let me know in advance and I will make sure you get a discount as well as our normal service which people say is just great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days in Reykjavik last month and stayed in the Castle House Apartments. There is a lot of good to be said about the apartments and the people who run them. Here are the pros:
- The room was VERY clean and housekeeping kept the room sparkling throughout our stay including washing and putting away the dirty dishes we had set in the dishwasher in the kitchen.
- The bed and pillows were comfortable
- The room had a good layout and everything worked perfectly
- Food for breakfast was excellent, plentiful and always left for us in the fridge. In fact, there was SO much food, that we made dinner from it each night and still had plenty left over for breakfasts
- The apartments are located immediately next to the Icelandic Art Museum, a small church and within a short walking distance from the harbor district
- The owners / managers are very concerned for your comfort and listen to your feedback.

Here are some of the cons
- Finding the apartments was difficult. Take a print-out of your on-line hotel reservation with the address and phone number of the hotel. Not all taxi drivers know where it is.
- There is no desk, so checking in involves finding the front door and then pushing the "Call Box" to open the door where you will find your check-in materials and keys waiting for you on a table inside. We would have never figured this out without our taxi driver's help and his cell phone.
- We were on the ground floor (room 60), next to a walkway, and the windows just had sheer curtains. There were supposed to be roll-down blinds for privacy, but we couldn't find them (could be that we just missed them...)
- We could not permanently turn off the alarm on the bedside alarm clock. The only solution was to remove a battery.
- The hotel does not have a contract with the FlyBus company, so when you come in from the airport (or leave for the airport) by bus, expect to disembark at the town bus station and take a cab the remaining mile to the hotel (or walk if you feel up to it).
- The hotel is about a mile away from the Reykjavik airport, and several times per day, a big noisy turboprop takes off over the hotel. But, all of Reykjavik is at the end of the runway, so any hotel in town will have this problem...

Despite these awkward issues, all of which are easy to deal with, I would completely recommend this as a good place to stay in Reykjavik. I'm planning a return trip, and I will again stay at the Castle House Apartments again when I do return.

Room Tip: Rooms are not available until the afternoon, so if you are coming in on an overnight flight, it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our location, service, comfort and cleanliness. We really try hard to please our guests.


The FlyBus stops only at the larger hotels. In our confirmation emails we tell guests that the
other bus service, Grayline - airportexpress.is, takes them to our doorstep and picks them up
for the return journey.


The domestic airport has 2 runways and most often the planes take off in a different direction.
It seems this has to do with from where the wind blows at the time. But sometimes they do
fly over the city centre. Thankfully they operate during the day only.


The door phone is straight forward to operate as is the alarm clock. All the apartments have roll down blinds for privacy and to minimze the midnight sunshine in the bedrooms.


Guests seldom have problems finding the hotel and it‘s location is carefully explained in our
confirmation emails and a map is provided. Taxi drivers have known us since 1996 and this is
the first time I learn of one who has not heard of Castle House.


We are close to the centre but outside the „noise zone“ of the late night patryers. All the tour buses pick up from our doorstep and return guests at the end of their daily adventures. You can walk into the centre in about 5 minutes. We are next door to the National Gallery of Art and on the banks of the city pond, a lake where you find will find varied bird life, many types of ducks, geese and swans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle House Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.