We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added Castle House Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I don't give five star reviews often but Castle House deserves it. I'm writing this from Apartment 20 right now and am so sad that I have to leave in the morning. It's very clean, for example, to our surprise the maid service cleaned our dirty dishes after breakfast. Its well furnished and decorated but not overdone. Above all else however is how helpful the staff is. When we first got here I needed help with parking and Elena (I believe thats her name) came out and physically showed me where I could park and even showed me how to use the card reader since I was having a hard time with it. Love this place and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Loved Apt 20, can't speak for the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    92
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
224
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Castle House for 4 nights, and it was the ideal base for exploring Reykjavik and other areas. The two staff members we met were friendly and welcoming, and the apartment was extremely comfortable, immaculate, and well set up. Everything was new and of good quality. The location was perfect; in a quiet area right next to the Icelandic Art Museum with its handsome architecture, yet a 5-minute walk from the main shopping and dining street. There was a supermarket and a bakery very close by. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I didn't book this hotel and was hesitant. I didn't need to be at all. It is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The location is perfect. It is quiet. The owners are helpful and kind. The coffee in the room was great. The space is very cute. We loved it and will stay here on our next Reykjavik trip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the separate building are very convenient. I highly recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our apartment had everything you could want from a base to travel to and from whilst holidaying...and if you couldn't find something or needed anything, the staff were great. Clean apartment and surprisingly very warm.
Great location, making it easy to get home after an excursion or a night out.
well and truly recommended. If we were to return i would stay here again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Echoing all the other reviewers, the location of this apartment is perfect for the shops and restaurants in Reykavik. Not particularly luxurious but probably the cleanest hotel/apartment I have ever stayed in, not a speck of dust anywhere and has a well stocked kitchen. We had apartment 20 with the lovely balcony and view and would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Book apartment 20 for the balcony and view of the city pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in apartment 61 for 3 nights. It was the perfect size for us and very relaxing and quiet. We made breakfast each morning and dinner one night - the kitchenette was perfectly stocked with everything we needed. We couldn't of asked for a better location as it was easy to walk to all the sights we wanted to see. We did a couple days trips thru excursion companies and it was no problem for them to pick us up from the apartments. The bathroom was big and the floors were heated - a nice treat coming in from the cold weather! We would definitely stay again and recommend to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed this month and had a phenomenal time! We rented Apartment 20 and could not have asked for any better. It was plenty of room for two people and our gear. It had a beautiful balcony and we made a lot of good use of it watching people and the pond. There are plenty of great shops and restaurants extremely close by. There was so much to do in Iceland, we couldn't fit it all into our trip! We rented a car, and though street parking was inexpensive, we walked about two blocks each day for free street parking. Couldn't have been simpler.

Some people have commented about the lack of customer service, but this was right up our alley. We are admittedly very low maintenance and relatively introverted people. We were very glad to be buzzed in and have our keys waiting for us after a long flight. We received a phone call very shortly after we arrived making sure everything was okay and telling us about the area and amenities. We also received tons of information via email from the staff prior to our trip. Very helpful. They even left us a nice card, fruit, and flowers after we had offhandedly mentioned we were coming for our anniversary! We chose to only have our room cleaned once for our week stay since we generally tidy up after ourselves, but the service was top-notch and quick. We even received fresh towels by our door on the days we chose to clean up after ourselves.

One suggestion I would give, but not even a big deal was, I wish they had a separate refuse container for recycling. We kept ours in a bag by the sink which was taken (and hopefully recycled!) when we had our room cleaned. We took some of the other recycling we gathered for the rest of the trip down the street to a public recycling box. It just would have been more convenient if it had been there, but nothing that took away from our trip.

We loved staying here and it was part of making memories for us that will last a lifetime! We hope to come back again and will definitely stay at the Castle House apartments. I cannot say enough good things about it!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with the balcony where you will be the ones making noise to those below, not vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad our efforts are appreciated :)
We have now put an insulating carpet on the staircase and hope this
will minimize disturbance from guests leaving very early in the morning.
We do recycle all glass, bottles, cans, paper and cardboard.
There is a 24/7 customer service and we quickly respond to any call.
We look forward to your next visit to Iceland and to Castle House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle House Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.