We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Horses - Day Tours

Viking Horses - Day Tours
Almannadalsgata 19, Reykjavik 110, Iceland
+354 612 5010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 258 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small groups and private rides on the Icelandic horse in the Reykjavik area. We are open all year round. Why us? Small groups, family owned business, top-quality horses, we love what we do and love to share it with you. We offer personalized service for beginners and advanced riders, maximum 8 riders. At Viking Horses' riding center there is a cozy Cafe offering refreshments.
Mels, Switzerland
1 review
“Just fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Last day in Iceland, riding a very smooth horse - easy to handle even for a beginner like me! Fantastic, like the nature! Thanks, Viking Horses, for everything! I'll definitely be back!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolute must do-wonderful company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We visited Iceland this past weekend and I reached out to Viggo about a private tour for our group. They were extremely accommodating especially since I contacted the day before. Viggo picked us up at our hotel, took us to the stables, gave us warm clothing and gear to wear and was great with chosing the right horse for each of our experience levels. We had a blast and the landscape was beautiful. The meal after our ride was excellent, delicious lamb stew and bread and assorted cheeses and meats. His mother even made me a birthday cake for me. I highly recommend this company. It was an unforgettable experience!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect way to explore Iceland from the horseback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Firstly, the very most important thing for me is to know that the horses are being well kept and taken care of. The Viking Horses seemed to live a happy and healthy life at the stables and were enjoying the October sun outside when I was visiting.

Secondly, to be able to book a private tour or to be a part of a small group is also very important, as this gives you a unique chance to connect with the excellent tour guide. I was lucky enough to have a private tour with Viggó, and he could explain a lot about Iceland, the history, the nature and above all we had a nice chat about the Icelandic horse :)

I was also given a horse Viggó carefully chose for me specifically to match my experience and my riding skills. Jókull was a great horse with a lot of experience and comfortable movements.

Back from the tour Svava had prepared for a nice lunch at the attic, and it felt like visiting with good old friends at their home :) To Viggó and Svava, thank you so much for your excellent service and the personal welcome -- I can highly recommend Viking Horses to anyone.

And I will definitely come back :)

Regards,
Heidi

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful private tour with a very special birthday surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This was a lovely group, who went out of their way to ensure our day was extra special. My husband was celebrating his birthday the day of our ride, and Svava & Viggo provided a wonderful surprise birthday lunch and a fresh baked chocolate torte cake with strawberries and whipped cream. The ride itself was wonderful. It was our first time in Iceland, and between the scenery, the adorable Icelandic horses and the graciousness of our hosts, it made for a very memorable, one-of-a-kind afternoon. If you're looking for a small group or private ride - this is your company. Thank you again to Viggo & Svava

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little buggers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

As I am not a natural horserider this was a bit of adventure so I am glad my horse was selfgoing but you really had to hold on because they took every chance to compete with each other. Lovely sunny day so it was fine!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Horses - Day Tours also viewed

 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 

Been to Viking Horses - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Horses - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.