We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel outside city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik) (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stavanger
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good hotel outside city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is a bit high end, located at the very end of laugarvegur, a mere 20 minutes walk from the very centre. Rooms spacious and nice, shower smells sulphur as expected, breakfast and lunch is excellent ! Basement gym so so but usable for the traveller who needs a morning run.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    316
    139
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
300
40
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The only downsides to this hotel, for me, was that the room overlooked the atrium so book one on the outside and that whilst gym entry was free Spa entry cost.
With those negatives out of the way let me say that the rest of the hotel was very good. The staff were very helpful (I didn't meet an Icelander that wasn't), the hotel (and room) was clean, there was plenty of parking for our tiny car and it was close enough to walk to the seafront. The choice for breakfast was also very good, and tasty.
It's a nice building in it's own right with the large stained glass window overlooking the atrium, and with fire- and water-features down there too.

Room Tip: Outside better than the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Iceland isn't a place you go for buzzing nightlife so don't let the title fool you into thinking I expected it! On arrival (by hire car about 40mins from Keflavik airport), we parked up and dashed into the hotel to get out of the snow. We were greeted by very friendly staff in perhaps one of the most beautiful hotel lobbies i've been in.
I'll keep it simple because I know most of you only want to know a few things (Staff, Food, Location, Room Quality and overall experience).
The staff were great, they always say hello when you pass them and are more than happy to help you with arranging any excursions etc. We went on a Northern Lights tour on our last night as we had been lucky the rest of our trip with seeing them on our own.

We only had breakfast at the hotel as we were out all day and most evenings. That said, the breakfast quality was great, plenty of hot drinks however the food choice was limited and didn't change at all so I found myself eating pretty much the same breakfast every day which did get boring. The bar and snack bar, just like everywhere else in Iceland is expensive. We found a supermarket about a 10minute walk away along the coastal road so we went there instead to stock up our room's fridge with a few snacks and drinks.

The room was spacious and had modern decor, and they were cleaned daily to a good standard. You may have read about the hot water smelling of sulphur? This is common in Iceland due to the water being heated Geothermically so although it is a bit off putting, I didn't mind as it does mean that Iceland's carbon emissions are basically 0! Room service is available 24/7 but we didn't use it. The hotel also has wi-fi which if you're in a room close to the lobby, you can use in your room.

The location of the hotel in my opinion was excellent for us. We hired a car for the whole trip and the hotel is on one of the main roads in/out of the city so that was handy for us when we wanted to travel out of Reykjavik. If you plan on exploring the city a lot, the hotel does offer a one way shuttle bus service 3 times a day, but of course you have to walk or get a taxi back.
There are plenty of cafes and restaurants near the hotel in the direction of the city centre, the closest being Hamborgfabrikkan (Hamburger Factory) which we visited and had some great, cleverly put together burgers at similar prices to you would expect to pay here in the UK.

So our overall experience was very good. The hotel was a great, comfortable base for exploring Iceland. The only thing I would say is that the hotel is so quiet. Like I said at the start, I didn't expect the hotel to have a buzzing night life but the lobby and bar area was so quiet (there wasn't even any music) that we didn't spend any time there as it just felt awkward, almost like a Doctor's waiting room!

My advice to you is if you're visiting Iceland purely for Reyjavik city centre, find a closer hotel than this. If you're in Iceland to explore the country, whether hiring a car or not, this is an excellent hotel at a very reasonable price.

If you have any questions about the hotel or local attractions, please feel free to message me. On our trip we visited/took part in:

- Reykajvik city centre
- Hallgrimskirkja church
- Blue Lagoon
- Geysir
- Gulfoss
- Northern Lights Tour

Room Tip: If you can, get a room away from the front of the hotel as the road noise was sometimes annoying and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Loved this hotel. Great food. Great location for a hotel if you have a car. Free parking. If you dont have a car tours are available in the lobby. The only negative was the smell of the water in our room. It has a real surfer smell. Not pleasant. We stayed in the room with 3 double beds known as the family room I believe. It was the older part of the hotel so maybe that's why. Otherwise everything was awesome and the front desk people were very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 4 days in Reykjavik in March 2014. I chose this hotel after reading many good reviews and was not disappointed. The location is good, about 20 mins walks to the centre or 40 mins via the scenic route along the water.
The place is easy to find and you don't need a sat nav! The rooms are clean tidy and warm, the underfloor heating is great. The beds comfortable and the bathroom very well designed. The views of the mountains were lovely.
There is a a great selection for breakfast all included in the price and the hotel has many good facilities. The only let down was the Wi-fi signal was weak in the room and you had to stand by the door to get a signal, not the end of the world as you could go down to reception if you wanted and there was a nice bar and fire there. Would recommend this as a good spot to stay for a few days and a great base to use for getting out to see in the beautiful surroundings. Also Iceland is not as expensive as its made out to be, you just need to shop around. Have fun....

Room Tip: High rooms are good for the mountain views but Wifi will be a bit patchy. The Red Chilli over the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Easy and fast check in. Rooms are good size with comfortable beds and duvets. Only the shower was a bit small.
Breakfast is great. Good selection of bread, cereal, yogurt, meats and cheese.
They were very accommodating when we had a 9 am flight and allowed us for breakfast when they were not open till 7am.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel has a lovely foyer in which you can enjoy a drink and many people can comfortably wait for their excursions. We found there to be plenty of storage for two people for three nights in a 'superior room'.
The breakfast is good, with a special organic food section, coffee pots on each table and lovely hot chocolate in the machine. There's even miso soup if that's your thing.
The bathroom was also lovely with a bath and separate shower. If you know about Iceland you won't be surprised to hear that there's plenty of hot water with good pressure! In our room we had dispensers with shower gel/soap but no other toiletries.
A couple of slight quirks - firstly, the double bed was two singles pushed together and made up as a double, apart from the duvets, of which we had two singles. I imagine if you asked this could be changed but we didn't find this an issue. Secondly, the restaurant didn't have a vegetarian option for the main course - the chef kindly made something for me but I would have liked to have seen something on the menu. Worth noting if you're a fussy vegetarian.
Re the wi-fi: if good connection in the room is a priority it's worth checking it before you unpack as our room didn't have the strongest connection (room 554). This wasn't an issue for us especially however.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free shuttle to the city centre which goes a few times a day- remember to noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.