We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik) (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
bury st edmunds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just come back from here ,we had a great stay here too!ms were comfy with good views we stayed on the 4th floor staff were friendly and helpful ,breakfast was very good with lots to choose from filled us up for the day ! I just wish I knew about the free bus to town ! Though I would stay here again hopefully in the summer to see more of iceland ,our special treat was by accident when we heard the young receptionist practising on the piano he played and sang beautifully he was unaware we were watching !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    316
    139
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
300
40
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had a great three night visit in a room on the 9th floor of the tower, our son and partner across the hall also enjoyed their stay. We went to Iceland to see the Northern Lights but it wasn't to be. On a good night you can see them from your window! Maybe next time. The room was clean. The buffet breakfast catered for everyone and the staff were all very friendly and efficient. The hotel was excellent the only problem is location, if you want to be near the city centre. It's not far to walk, say 20-30 minutes but when it's cold wet and windy and the pavements are covered in ice, believe me a taxi is the only option!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 5 nights for the new years. I think out of most of the hotels in Reykjavik our one stood out as it looked a lot more modern and definitely is big hence the name. Most hotels in Reykjavik looked like hostel or very small.

It was a pleasant stay I wouldn't say it was excellent but I have no complaints. I stayed on the 4th floor. the rooms had double glazing so you never heard any noise. The food was nice and the staff was helpful on planning our day tours.

I would recommend reykjavik exursions who were reasonable priced and comfortable coaches with wifi. the double beds also had two single duvet covers which I found a bit weird but never mentioned it to the staff

The hotel had bad wifi points especially in the rooms, the best wifi connection was either in the lobby area but even that at times would disconnect and be slow. The hotel is a bit far out form the city center I never tried to walk and got taxi all the time.

my room was always cleaned everyday as I would put a sign on the door handle to "make room" which was always done and had not complaints for the room service people.

Great stay in general and would recommend it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had a lovely 3 nights visit to this hotel amd would definitely recommend it. We had a room on the 3rd floor which was very quiet with a lovely view over the city and mountains. The beds were very comfortable and everything was spotless. All staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was fab, with plenty of variety and excellent choice of organic produce. You can get the free taxi into the city centre and then it is a lovely walk by the sea overlooking the mountains to return to the hotel. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A friendly, efficient hotel about 30 minutes walk from the centre. Our room was comfortable, with a bath and shower over it. Reception staff were good, checking bookings and giving advice. The restaurant was a notch above the average big international although the service was a little slow -but the food was excellent.

If you don't want to eat in the hotel there is a mexican nearby or you will have to go into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights, hotel very busy indeed, some sort of convention going on, what amazed me was how the reception staff could go from talking German, French, English and I guess icelantic, very impressive, room was on the 10th floor with great views over Reykjavik, some traffic noise, great bed, very comfortable, very clean, a little stingy on the tea/coffee in room, only two of each, no biscuits either, breakfast, however, was a different matter, tons of everything. Also had an evening meal there which was superb, came to about £50 a head, with wine, spent a lot more in London at celeb chefs places and this was just as good. It was a good walk into Reykjavik centre, there are public buses, also hotel ran a free bus into the centre 3 times a day. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The staff were extremely helpful, our room was spacious, stylish and well maintained. Although not in the heart of Reykjavik it is only a short walk or bus trip into town. It is easy to book all kind of tours from the hotel and be collected from the reception at the time stated no sooner no later.
The buffet breakfast options are endless and both the bar and restaurant offer good food options for other meals.
Staying here was so easy and comfortable would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.