We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 125, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik) (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed there the first night of our tour of Iceland. Fantastic hotel. Very clean, good gym, great breakfast, super-friendly staff. We have one more night there on the way out and I'm looking forward to it (although not to the end of our Iceland trip - this country is amazing).

One star detracted because my room faced the lobby which meant that I could hear the staff chatting late at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    198
    85
    34
    12
See reviews for
69
173
26
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were recently at this hotel for in total 4 nights - we were travelling as a couple. It is a very popular hotel for tour groups and there were at least 3 bus loads every night. This led to problems - the breakfast buffet in the morning is a zoo - they all need to leave a certain time and if you need to also to pick up a rental car or catch a flight you are there at the same time. We ended up asking people at large tables if two chairs were free for us to sit and eat as the tour groups took up all the small tables of 2 and 4 and talked to people at other tables. At other hotels they had assigned areas for the tour groups to sit - so we could get a small table for the two of us - not at this hotel. Also getting coffee and even water were issues as the we watched the tour groups filling their thermoses and water bottles with the ones on the buffet.

The hotel is about a 20 minute to 30 minute easy walk to the center of town. Our room was comfy and clean - it overlooked the lobby - and was quiet except for one night when one of the tour groups was in the bar under our room. Although I liked the location and the hotel itself I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A pretty good hotel on the edge of the city. Rooms are plain, but functional, and conference facilities are excellent. Front desk staff really helpful. Probably a better hotel for business than for tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This really is a hotel to recommend. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the reception area comfortable and spacious. There was a bistro and a bar close to the reception, so you could choose between dining there or in the elegant restaurant.
There were quiet spots around on the different floors, where we could sit and chat before retiring to our rooms. The rooms we had were quite nice, though I've seen better.
The location is a bit outside Reykjavik, but with a free transport, there was no problem getting to the center.
We got around to see all the sights, and buses or vans picked us up right outside the hotel door, which was really convenient.

Room Tip: I heard the view is excellent from rooms on higher level. Mine, on 3rd floor, was no more than okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in April 2013. The staff were very nice but the head waiter for dinner was just so good. We are travelling a lot and this is one of the various hotels we have stayed in the just worked and nothing was outstanding other than the staff. The only disappointment really we they said we could have breakfast with our early start for the airport but there was nothing there! Including staff. It is sold as a central location but it is out of the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for four days in May and it was amazing!

Check-in was really fast and staff super nice. Our room was one the 11th floor, so we had amazing views. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathroom also very spacious and has a seperate shower and bathtub. We visited the spa on the first day and it is not big, but really calming and relaxing, great sauna, steamroom and jacuzzis!

Breakfast is from 6 to 10 and really extensive with different types of bread, cereal, juices etc. they even have an organic breakfast.

Reception is helpful and can book the tours for you.

We rented the bikes for one day and went to the city centre. Reception can also call you a cab, but that is quite expensive or you can walk (15 min).

I would certainly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the highest levels, great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainham kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First of all let me explain that I don't know the cost of staying at the Grand, as we were originally booked into the Cabin hotel. When we arrived at the Cabin they informed us that they were over booked and would we mind upgrading to the Grand at no extra cost.......Result! The hotel has 300 rooms and I think its the largest in Iceland, it looks like there is an old part and a new extension. We stayed in the new extension on the third floor, overlooking the main entrance. I cant fault the room, it was clean and spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The room had all the usual amenities, TV, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom had both a bath and a lovely drench shower, hair dryer and shower gel etc in dispensers. The rooms were cleaned and the towels changed daily. There was a bit of a strange affair going on with windows, they are electrically operated, but no problem once you get the hang of it, we do like to sleep with the window open, even in Iceland! We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which had a very good and varied selection. I particularly liked the soused herrings, not something you come across in many hotels! I thought the staff did very well and worked very hard considering how many people there were staying there. The hotel has a central atrium which gives it a nice feel of space and light, and the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus service three times a day into Reykjavik, which is about a 20 to 25 min walk away. The bus although called a shuttle service only runs in the one direction, hotel to city. On the two occasions we requested the shuttle bus, we were informed that as there were just the four of us the hotel would provide a taxi instead, another result! The taxi fare from the city back to the hotel was around 2000 isk. All in all I really liked the hotel as indeed I did Reykjavik, and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 125, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavík is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 312 rooms and 15 meeting and conferencehalls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Great Hotels of the World – Premium Collection.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.