We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik) (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A pretty good hotel on the edge of the city. Rooms are plain, but functional, and conference facilities are excellent. Front desk staff really helpful. Probably a better hotel for business than for tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    326
    139
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
308
42
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This really is a hotel to recommend. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the reception area comfortable and spacious. There was a bistro and a bar close to the reception, so you could choose between dining there or in the elegant restaurant.
There were quiet spots around on the different floors, where we could sit and chat before retiring to our rooms. The rooms we had were quite nice, though I've seen better.
The location is a bit outside Reykjavik, but with a free transport, there was no problem getting to the center.
We got around to see all the sights, and buses or vans picked us up right outside the hotel door, which was really convenient.

Room Tip: I heard the view is excellent from rooms on higher level. Mine, on 3rd floor, was no more than okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in April 2013. The staff were very nice but the head waiter for dinner was just so good. We are travelling a lot and this is one of the various hotels we have stayed in the just worked and nothing was outstanding other than the staff. The only disappointment really we they said we could have breakfast with our early start for the airport but there was nothing there! Including staff. It is sold as a central location but it is out of the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for four days in May and it was amazing!

Check-in was really fast and staff super nice. Our room was one the 11th floor, so we had amazing views. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathroom also very spacious and has a seperate shower and bathtub. We visited the spa on the first day and it is not big, but really calming and relaxing, great sauna, steamroom and jacuzzis!

Breakfast is from 6 to 10 and really extensive with different types of bread, cereal, juices etc. they even have an organic breakfast.

Reception is helpful and can book the tours for you.

We rented the bikes for one day and went to the city centre. Reception can also call you a cab, but that is quite expensive or you can walk (15 min).

I would certainly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the highest levels, great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainham kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First of all let me explain that I don't know the cost of staying at the Grand, as we were originally booked into the Cabin hotel. When we arrived at the Cabin they informed us that they were over booked and would we mind upgrading to the Grand at no extra cost.......Result! The hotel has 300 rooms and I think its the largest in Iceland, it looks like there is an old part and a new extension. We stayed in the new extension on the third floor, overlooking the main entrance. I cant fault the room, it was clean and spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The room had all the usual amenities, TV, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom had both a bath and a lovely drench shower, hair dryer and shower gel etc in dispensers. The rooms were cleaned and the towels changed daily. There was a bit of a strange affair going on with windows, they are electrically operated, but no problem once you get the hang of it, we do like to sleep with the window open, even in Iceland! We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which had a very good and varied selection. I particularly liked the soused herrings, not something you come across in many hotels! I thought the staff did very well and worked very hard considering how many people there were staying there. The hotel has a central atrium which gives it a nice feel of space and light, and the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus service three times a day into Reykjavik, which is about a 20 to 25 min walk away. The bus although called a shuttle service only runs in the one direction, hotel to city. On the two occasions we requested the shuttle bus, we were informed that as there were just the four of us the hotel would provide a taxi instead, another result! The taxi fare from the city back to the hotel was around 2000 isk. All in all I really liked the hotel as indeed I did Reykjavik, and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - a veritable haven of warmth in a country which, as the name suggests, can be unforgiving in terms of weather. The room was pleasant and comfortable.

The only, fairly minor moan relates to those manning reception at night who could probably do with cracking a smile and being a little more friendly. The majority of staff were excellent, and it was only one or two, but it's funny how those people can tarnish an otherwise good review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had originally booked the Cabin hotel but on arrival we were told they had overbooked rooms and we were offered an upgrade to the Grand. We decided to accept and are so glad we did, the hotel arranged a free taxi to take us there and I must say that the Cabin staff were very apologetic and helpful. The room at the grand was lovely large clean, king size bed, large bathroom with hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities I can't fault it. The staff were more than helpful the receptionist even came up to the room to help us book a fishing trip. The reception area is reflects the name of the hotel and is most welcoming. Breakfast is excellent plenty of variety hot and cold, spacious seating area, they even have a very early facility for guest checking out early like ourselves who were picked up at 5am. The only down side is the distance from the town a good 20 - 30 minute walk, however the hotel does run a curtesy bus 3 times a day but you need to book this in advance. There is a local bus stop nearby but we did not use this so can't really comment, we walked along the sea front which was a nice walk.
If you go down to the sea front and turn right going the opposite way to town you will come across a lovely coastal walk well worth walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.