We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time in this Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Reykjavik)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We had a great time in this Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We got here & the staff were great from the start, they booked all our excursions & a even stayed on a little before going home just to make sure we got what we wanted. Room was clean, food was good & enough. Harry's fish & chips were the best. Also great location as there is lots of things to photograph, church, art Centre & the old town so grab a map & go hunting.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    309
    116
    17
    14
See reviews for
106
274
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As stated by others, this is a basic hotel with an ok location not too far from the center of the city.
Rooms are a nice size.

I would like to have used glasses replaced daily.

The Girl in the reception is super service minded, and takes really good care of the guests.
However the staff in the breakfast room do not seem to like the guests too much. The closing down starts before 10 o'clock, and could be done with a smile, and just take your time.

Also it should be considered to add an additional toaster for the rolls.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at our Hotel.

I am happy to read our location was convenient and that our rooms are of a good size. Also good to hear that our front desk staff took good care of you while you were staying at the Hotel.

I am happy to inform you that the toaster has been replaced and thank you for pointing out that breakfast starts closing out before 10:00. That should not happen and guests arriving for breakfast just before 10 should of course have all the same items to choose from as guests arriving earlier. So this is something I will follow closely.

Again thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik for one night at the end of a week trip to Iceland. We chose this hotel for two reasons - I had a BW gift card to pay for the room, and we liked the location for walking distance to downtown.

The room we had was spacious, with a large sitting area as well as the large size bed (two oversized twins?). It overlooked the road in front of the hotel, so there was some road noise, but not enough to keep us awake. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back - buses run up this street regularly.

The area looks a bit rundown, with graffiti on some of the apartment buildings, but you're not far from the main shopping street, and we felt perfectly safe. We were also just downhill and about 10 minutes walk from Hallgrimskirkja, and 10 minutes drive from Perlan. I liked that we had underground parking for free.

Breakfast at the hotel was very busy, and the layout isn't the best (constantly bumping into people around the food area). We were down for breakfast just after the start time, and were very lucky to find a seat. Variety of food was good though, the typical Icelandic continental breakfast with breads, cheese, cold cuts, cereal, boiled eggs, fruit.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but Harry's next door (Asian and Icelandic items) was excellent - probably the cheapest and best meal of our entire one week trip. My husband had a chicken curry, I had garlic grilled haddock, and we shared spring rolls. Including a beer, the bill was less than $65 and we had food leftover.

I would stay here again - the location was good, price was reasonable and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spend 3 nights in this hotel, room was clean, nothing special, it's a 15 walk to the city center but all the majors excursions company pick up at the Hotel.

Breakfast is very basic, but in case you get downstairs after 9a.m. be aware that some of the things will not be replaced anymore. This is not ok!

The hot water in Reykjavik is a natural thing and that's what you going to get for your shower, the only bad side is that it stinks a little, so the room smells bad for a while, but you get used to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camborne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is well located in Rekjavik with beautiful clean rooms and excellent service. They had managed to sort a gluten-free breakfast for me but I did take my own dried goats milk. The breakfast was buffet style and they did supply gluten-free bread. Well done!!
When we visited the local swimming pool the hotel staff recommended that we took the towels from our room. On the first time we did not do this and had to pay a hefty £7.00 charge to hire (not buy!) towels. After that we took the towels from our room. The hotel staff readily changed them for us very frequently to allow this.
There was only one problem at the hotel and that sadly was with the room doors. Each door had a fierce catch which made it very heavy to open but worse than that, when the door closed it was with a mighty crash. That's OK in the day time but at 2, 3 or 4 o'clock in the morning as guests return from seeing the Northern Lights it was like gunfire keeping us awake night after night. If management could do something about the door catches the hotel would be perfect, but until they do, I recommend sleeping somewhere else where sleep is possible..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

Glad you were happy with our service, rooms and breakfast.

Regarding the doors, I must admit that i was not aware of this and this problem has not been brought to my attention untill now. I will have maintenance look into this ASAP so we can sort this out and avoid other guests from having the same problem in the future.

Again thank you for your feedback and hope you had a great stay in Reykjavik.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here this past week during our visit to Iceland, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We arrived at 8am local time (we had been up since 6am EST and worked the day prior, so to say we were tired upon arrival is an understatement) and were hoping to just stash our luggage there while we mainlined coffee at a cafe until we could sleep. The gentleman working there (unfortunately we never caught his name- he was blond, and had a good sense of humor if that helps management identify him) let us know that our room was already all set for us, and that if we wanted to just crash for a bit that it would totally be fine. Most US hotels will make you wait until 2pm; this was a very welcome surprise for two very weary travelers.

In general the experience was great. They do seem to lock the doors (your key will not open the front sliding door) prior to 1am, when the bars clear out on weekdays. This struck me as a bit strange, but it was a minor annoyance and not an actual problem.

Next time we go to Reykjavik (which we're already planning) we'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this excellent feedback and looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel again.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here recently for a few nights and tbh it's difficult to be critical of it. It's in a great location, just a short (5/10 minutes) stroll to the main street (good selection of shops, restaurants and pubs), about a 10 minute stroll to the seafront, and about a 25 minute stroll to Laugardalur Park where you can have an open air swim in a 50 metre pool, and partake of the spa and other hot tub facilities. This is something that you really have to do, pretty weird having an open air swim in pretty cold outdoor conditions - far better value than the Blue Lagoon, although this is a 'must do' item as well.

Back to the hotel itself, great location, very friendly (found the Icelandic people very friendly in general) and helpful staff, both in reception and in the restaurant. The room was compact but nicely finished and furnished and certainly met all our needs. The empty mini fridge was very useful for keeping drinks cool in what was quite a warm room. Breakfast was absolutely fine, and again the staff were very friendly and efficient with replenishing stocks and removing debris from the tables promptly.

There were a couple of issues with accommodating our group which was unfortunate, 2 people had to be accommodated elsewhere on the first night, and a number of people had booked twin rooms but were put in double rooms. In both cases the staff were very efficient in resolving theses problems. As far as I can see Iceland is still in the learning stage with mass tourism, apparently tourism numbers have risen 10 fold in the last 5 years which is a fair challenge so I would be happy to cut them some slack.

I had expected prices (for food and drink) to be very expensive in Iceland, but was pleasantly surprised, not as cheap as southern Europe obviously but reasonably keen.

I would be more than happy to stay here again and to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Reykjavik)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 79 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.