We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timer In Iceland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Reykjavik)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Timer In Iceland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed in the Best Western as part of the package I got with www.traveldepartment.ie to Norway and Iceland in April 2013 to see the northern lights. BTW, not wishing to rain on anyone's parade but, I must admit that the northern lights look better on TV than what I saw in Iceland.

Anyway, back at the hotel, the room on the third floor was small and the single room supplement was large. Like most hotels in my budget range, the Best Western was not luxurious. It was functional and clean and the buffet breakfast was ok. I happen to like pickled herrings and was glad to see that I was the only one. However, they seemed to recycle the herrings everyday as I'm sure I recognised one from the day before! There was also a range of other standard breakfast fare to choose from, if you got there early enough.

There was no pool or spa or evening meals, which was fine as there is plenty to do and see on various trips outside the hotel. I particularly liked eating out in the nearby restaurants (Harry's next door is highly recommended) or downtown, which was a 15 minute walk away.
I loved Reyjavik, the restaurants and bars were good and there was free wi-fi widely available. Probably because of their recent financial crisis, they also accepted credit card in absolutely every shop,bar and restaurant, so much so that I never once needed local currency. I would definitely go to Iceland again and though the BW was adequate, I'd probably try another hotel..maybe a little closer to the centre of town

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Reykjavik was conveniently located ,away from noise, but within walking distance to shopping, bars and restaurants. Not that many restaurants in the immediate area so had a 5-10 minute walk to an eatery.Spent most of time in the City Centre so that really wasn't a problem. The hotel staff were exceptional, friendly and helped with all tours when we arrived. Tour buses picked us up right at the door!
Many thanks to Jon and Reynir for all their help and suggestions. Also to Fransisco, our terrific bartender, who we had a wonderful chat with one evening.
Breakfast was not the typical American breakfast but that is the way it should be. All the baked goods were delicious, fruit, meats, etc. were always fresh and plentiful. (Skyr was similar to yogart but not as thick).
Weather in beginning of May was in low to mid forties, but the rooms upon our return each day, were warm, and very clean, although very simply decorated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne33789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigulda, Rigas, Latvia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was nice hotel, nice room, nice service. Reception was very fast, kind, and helpfully. The breakfast was for all kind of types. So everyone can be satisfy with food and drinks. In our bathroom was bath, this was surprise for us (in positive mean). We were satisfy with all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toms N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this hotel, mainly on price and also because we felt that Best Western had a reputation to maintain and it was unlikely to be rubbish.
We arrived at about 10am, hours before our 2pm check-in time. We were hoping to be able to leave our bags at reception and go for a small walk before checking into our room but, the receptionist asked us to take a seat and, less than 5 minutes later, told us our room was ready and we could check-in.
We were very pleased with the room which was clean and comfortable.
In the mornings, the breakfast was continental style but was fresh, well organised and there was plenty of it. There was a fresh fruit salad every day, with meats, cheeses and a choice of warm rolls as well as Pain au Chocolat.
The location was, admittedly, in an area of Reykjavik that resembled Easy Berlin during the cold war, but was only 5 minutes walk from the high street, which headed down to the old town.
Overall, a great country, a great hotel and the staff were attentive and helpful.
If i ever return to Iceland, i will stay at Best Western again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Pros:
-Free wifi - no problems accessing the internet, although the service stopped at 8am??! 4 hours before checkout. I didnt ask reception to re-enable if though
-Free parking - free covered parking - a plus in the city where typical parking fee is ISK 100 per hour. Parking enforcement officers are the only law enforcement i saw in Iceland other than the custom officers, so they DO take parking offenses seriously :D.
-Continental breakfast included - bread, ham, coffee, pickled herring, fruits, cereals are available so no complaints about continental breakfast
-Big balcony overlooking the rooftops-im guessing designed for smokers, there is a door on the side of the bed behind the curtains which opens to the balcony. You can take pictures from there.
-Accessible to a couple of restaurants - if you think walking one block is too far, then there are two restaurants accessible - La Luna (pizzeria-didnt try, look at Tripadvisor reviews) and Harry's (Filipino-Icelandic cuisine-tried and do recommend)

Cons:
-Small TV, semi-functional remote
-odd layout
-No microwave
-Not really a con, but just like any hotel, no cooking amenities

Summary:
Nothing outstanding about this hotel that comes to mind except breakfast, wifi and parking
All else are at par with north american sta

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishtihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Best western hotel had just what i look for in a holiday hotel. Good location with nearby shops, resteraunts and tour operators. Friendly helpful staff, clean and comfatable rooms and a decent buffet breakfast. Free wifi in rooms is also a nice bonus. You can't go wrong with that for the price

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Uk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location about 10 minute walk from the sea and about the same from the city centre.
The rooms are warm but a little dated, we were on the top floor with great views over the city.
One you get used to the room layout its OK but at first was a little weird, the room was triangular with the bathroom taking up a lot of space.
Breakfast was OK plenty of cereal and fresh pastries enough for everyone.
If I was in Reykjavik again i would stay here.
Like others have said free WiFi was a real bonus.

Room Tip: Room at the top is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrism1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 55 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#30 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Reykjavik Lights
#18 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 79 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing