We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not cheap, but ideally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred's Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alfred's Apartments to your Saves list
Alfred's Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Vitastigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Peasmoldtown
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“not cheap, but ideally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is an ideally located place to stay in the centre of Reykjavik's shopping and nightlife district (though perhaps less ideal if you prefer to sleep rather than party all night). But beacuse it is self-catering, you don't need to be awake too early for breakfast. We found the cooking facilities to be more than adequate for a shortish stay, and the rooms are furnished in an appealing, simple style (though viny flooring is a bit 'cold'). Beds and bedding were excellent. The heating is good, but much energy is wasted through ill-fitting windows; though this is not an issue in a country where energy is plentiful. One of the two apartments we rented also had a very odd smell - nothing to do with the water, more like a cooking smell that wouldn't go away. As other visitors have noted, the hot water has a pungent odour which is unavoidable- one of Reykjavik's special features. There aren't many places where the warm water for your shower comes out of the ground. The owner/manager was helpful on arrival, and the only complaint we had was that it wasn't cheap, though this is only to be expected for such a central spot. Because of the location, parking may be a problem, especially during the day. We parked in a nearby carpark over the weekend, but some trial and error is probably needed if you are staying longer.

Room Tip: Lower floor room seemed slightly larger and better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The place was easily locate, it's just at the center of the capital city. You just need to walk 30 seconds to the famous local supermarket - Bonus.

There's several rooms in the apartment, ours was located in the second floor, equipped with twins bedroom and a living room with an open kitchen. The place was quite neat, just a bit smell from the bathroom, this may be from the theomal water they used in shower. Other than that, the room is kind of nice, just the price maybe a bit high to me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in a studio apartment. It has a very good location, very close to everything. Pick up buses pick you and take you back to the apartment. It is very convenient especially if it is raining.
I do not advice anyone to book this flat. The upper part of the toilet seat is broken. This is dangerous and very unhygienic. The apartment needs to be properly cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred H, Owner at Alfred's Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment. The toilet has been replaced and we are sorry it was like this while you stayed with us. We are happy that you liked your stay in other respects! Be always welcome again! Best wishes, Alfred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A generally nice place to stay, right in the middle of Reykjavik-- it's a mere block away from the main touristy shopping street, and close to numerous restaurants which are... reasonably priced, by Icelandic standards. The room I stayed in had alright beds, and was fully furnished with inoffensive IKEA furniture; perhaps a bit too plain, honestly, but no complaints on the décor. The free Wi-Fi was rather fast, and worked very reliably. Points of trouble were the lack of an elevator, the exceedingly low flow of the shower head, and the amount of noise made by drunk locals between 03:00 and 06:00. Generally a pretty good experience, though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nites at Alfred's Apartment in Jun 2013.

The host, Halldór, was a very helpful man - he gave us a brief introduction of the city when we checked in. That includes a city map and pointing out places to visit esp. groceries-shopping.

The room was warm and clean. Space in bathroom is tight - so do not expect vanity top for your toiletries and stuff. For that matter, the apartment is basically very very tight. We requested for additional bed for the little one (extra cost) but in the end it was never open simply becos we couldn't shuffle out any space.

At the going rate, i believe the decor and space can be better but I guess the real value is its location. It is very very well located in the heart of Reykjavik. Landmark like Hallgrimskirkja is just 600m away, the street is well doted with restaurants and pubs.

Tip: the tap water, though portable, has a very strong sulphur smell. Leave it open overnight to alleviate the smell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wasn’t expecting a four star hotel, but it wasn’t even close to a one star.
Awful. When we entered the room it was less than basic. The worse problem was the bathroom. The shower and shower curtain had not been cleaned in a very long time. There was mold and mildew on the shower and shower curtain. It smelled and was gross! One couple traveling with us stays in hostels. They said it was the worst they had seen. We actually ended up staying at another hotel for two nights just to get out.
One almost funny point was the other couple said Alfred told them they could not wear shoes in the room. The rooms had slippers (dirty) and just the thought of wearing old used slippers!!!

We heard complaints from other guests. I can only assume their glowing reviews were posted by Alfred. One review said “Staff were very friendly and very accommodating.” What staff? There is no on-site staff.

To prove the uncleanlyness I posted a picture with this review.

Room Tip: Best traveling tip I can give you is stay your first night maybe two in Reykjavik. That’s all. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

You've probably looked through all the other comments on here and have already come to the conclusion that Alfred's Apartments are pretty darn good, but another comment can't hurt! I stayed there for five nights with a friend in May and found it almost entirely perfect: the only faults I can think of are that the shower flooded the bathroom floor a little (hardly an issue, really) and there was some building work going on (not that it bothered us, as we were out all day).
Otherwise, the room we had was warm, cosy and comfortable - particularly the beds, which was great news for me, as I have a poorly back. The building is smack-bang in the middle of the best place in Reykjavik to be, and really easy to find (the bus driver from the airport knew where it was and dropped me off mere seconds away).
If I ever go to Reykjavik again, I couldn't think of a better place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Grettisborg Apartments
#13 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#4 of 72 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Miõborg
Our House
Our House
#1 of 72 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#3 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Miõborg
Hlemmur Apartments
Hlemmur Apartments
#17 of 72 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Galtafell
Guesthouse Galtafell
#22 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfred's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Apartments

Address: Vitastigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfred's Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfred’s Apartments offers spacious accommodation in the heart of Reykjavik, just 20 metres from Laugarvegur shopping street. Each apartment has a fully equipped kitchen and free Wi-Fi. All units at Alfred’s Apartments have private bathrooms with a shower. A seating area can be found in the living room. Some apartments feature an open kitchen with bar chairs. Guests can buy groceries at the local Bonus grocery store 50 metres from the hotel. Several shops, restaurants and cafes are available in the surrounding area. The Church of Hallgrimur is located 350 metres from the apartments. The Life of Whales sea safari tours are a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alfred's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred's Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.