We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred's Apartments

Save Saved
You added Alfred's Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alfred's Apartments
Vitastigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A generally nice place to stay, right in the middle of Reykjavik-- it's a mere block away from the main touristy shopping street, and close to numerous restaurants which are... reasonably priced, by Icelandic standards. The room I stayed in had alright beds, and was fully furnished with inoffensive IKEA furniture; perhaps a bit too plain, honestly, but no complaints on the décor. The free Wi-Fi was rather fast, and worked very reliably. Points of trouble were the lack of an elevator, the exceedingly low flow of the shower head, and the amount of noise made by drunk locals between 03:00 and 06:00. Generally a pretty good experience, though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nites at Alfred's Apartment in Jun 2013.

The host, Halldór, was a very helpful man - he gave us a brief introduction of the city when we checked in. That includes a city map and pointing out places to visit esp. groceries-shopping.

The room was warm and clean. Space in bathroom is tight - so do not expect vanity top for your toiletries and stuff. For that matter, the apartment is basically very very tight. We requested for additional bed for the little one (extra cost) but in the end it was never open simply becos we couldn't shuffle out any space.

At the going rate, i believe the decor and space can be better but I guess the real value is its location. It is very very well located in the heart of Reykjavik. Landmark like Hallgrimskirkja is just 600m away, the street is well doted with restaurants and pubs.

Tip: the tap water, though portable, has a very strong sulphur smell. Leave it open overnight to alleviate the smell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wasn’t expecting a four star hotel, but it wasn’t even close to a one star.
Awful. When we entered the room it was less than basic. The worse problem was the bathroom. The shower and shower curtain had not been cleaned in a very long time. There was mold and mildew on the shower and shower curtain. It smelled and was gross! One couple traveling with us stays in hostels. They said it was the worst they had seen. We actually ended up staying at another hotel for two nights just to get out.
One almost funny point was the other couple said Alfred told them they could not wear shoes in the room. The rooms had slippers (dirty) and just the thought of wearing old used slippers!!!

We heard complaints from other guests. I can only assume their glowing reviews were posted by Alfred. One review said “Staff were very friendly and very accommodating.” What staff? There is no on-site staff.

To prove the uncleanlyness I posted a picture with this review.

Room Tip: Best traveling tip I can give you is stay your first night maybe two in Reykjavik. That’s all. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

You've probably looked through all the other comments on here and have already come to the conclusion that Alfred's Apartments are pretty darn good, but another comment can't hurt! I stayed there for five nights with a friend in May and found it almost entirely perfect: the only faults I can think of are that the shower flooded the bathroom floor a little (hardly an issue, really) and there was some building work going on (not that it bothered us, as we were out all day).
Otherwise, the room we had was warm, cosy and comfortable - particularly the beds, which was great news for me, as I have a poorly back. The building is smack-bang in the middle of the best place in Reykjavik to be, and really easy to find (the bus driver from the airport knew where it was and dropped me off mere seconds away).
If I ever go to Reykjavik again, I couldn't think of a better place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Has all the elements to like about it:
-Reasonable price - under CAD$100 per night late April 2013
-Has micro-kitchen with basic cooking utensils - pots, pans, microwave, electric stove etc.
-Close to Bonus grocery - note this grocery opens 11 am to 6pm? Another 24h grocery is open 2~3 blocks away but i find it pretty expensive
-Just around the corner of the main shopping street Laugavegur
-Very clean upon arrival - no signs of hair upon arrival, clean sheets
-Very comfortable beddings - down feather duvet
-Was able to check early - we checked in 11 am (bonus!) since our flight arrived 6:30 am
-Accessibile via FlyBus - shuttle service (didnt use it, but is on its route). Door phone has direct access to FlyBus
-Big screen TV (32"?) with British channels - i know we shouldve been out rather than watch TV but its hard to get up in the morning at times. Better than Best Western's.

Gave it a very good vs excellent because:
-Construction was being done on basement (8 am to 4 pm approx.). if you are on tour, its a good wakeup call anyways.

Room Tip: -Contact Halldor for arrival details - he responds pretty fast -Local car rental place found at bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Alfred's Apartments during our visit to Iceland. Our room was perfect for what we wanted. Clean, and a Small kitchen with utensils so we could make breakfast etc.

Staff were very friendly and very accommodating. I managed to get an early check-in which I know is very rare.

Location was great. Literally steps away from the Main Street but at the quiet end so you don't have much noise. Also a 3 min walk to the supermarket.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We found Alfred's Apartments to be an ideal place to stay for our five nights in Reykjavik. We received a very friendly and detailed welcome and the apartment was cosy and nicely furnished. The location was great, on the main street and a short walk from downtown. The shower could have been a bit cleaner but otherwise the apartment was perfect. We found the price to be really reasonable compared to others in the area, too. We'd definitely love to stay here again if we're lucky enough to return to this incredible city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alfred's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Apartments

Address: Vitastigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfred’s Apartments offers spacious accommodation in the heart of Reykjavik, just 20 metres from Laugarvegur shopping street. Each apartment has a fully equipped kitchen and free Wi-Fi. All units at Alfred’s Apartments have private bathrooms with a shower. A seating area can be found in the living room. Some apartments feature an open kitchen with bar chairs. Guests can buy groceries at the local Bonus grocery store 50 metres from the hotel. Several shops, restaurants and cafes are available in the surrounding area. The Church of Hallgrimur is located 350 metres from the apartments. The Life of Whales sea safari tours are a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Alfred's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred's Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.