We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION AND HOSPITALITY!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred's Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alfred's Apartments to your Saves list
Alfred's Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Vitastigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“LOCATION AND HOSPITALITY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our bus from the airport was later than expected but Halldor was at the door to greet us when we arrived early morning and helped us with our luggage. We had booked the room for the night before so we could go straight to bed and catch up and be on our way.

They are building an additional basement apartment which will rent more cheaply but work can be noisy. Hallidor stopped work while we napped. That kind of consideration was a hallmark of Alfred's.

It is near EVERYTHING! Grocery store, Information center where you can book trips. Bus station, shopping,.many of the main attractions.

Walk to thermal bath - Sundhöllin, and if you are over 70 you enter all the city thermal pools free. #14 bus to the huge Laugardalslaug pool - also free if over 70. We would stay there agai and definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. We got a very low rate through booking.com and had the smallest studio w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a business trip to Reykjavik. I can't stress how great the location of this accommodation is. The apartments was spotless, modern and well heated!
Everything you might need for a short holiday stay is provided including downie slippers which you are encouraged to wear(Keeps the noise down and the place clean!). Within two minutes walk of the accommodation is a supermarket, tourist information, bank fantastic shops and restaurants and within ten the lovely lake and harbour area. The only negative(and its not really a negative) isthat the apartments say they can sleep four. Whilst in theory they can(fold out beds provided) I would say that two is the max for comfortable living(unless the other two where children). The other things is that it's single beds (of that might be a bonus for some couples!) The wifi works and is free, the tv has lots of channels including British ones which I know is a help for those with little ones missing CBeebies!. There is a small family run restaurant directly opposite that does Turkish food ...go...its delicious. The owner kindly took care of the booking of the bus back to the airport and lots of useful info left in flat. If looking for something clean, safe and central this is the place to go. I would definatley return on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked this apartment on the strength of reviews on here and were not disappointed!
Modern, clean and functional apartment and most of all amazing comfy beds! Satellite tv is fantastic. The location is superb for the cost, central to everything, tourist info, supermarkets and restaurants! The staff are very friendly and helpful. If you decide to stay here it is definately worth a visit to Caruso restaurant, food is amazing and they are so welcoming, it is also walking distance from the apartments. We would highly recommend these apartments and will definitely use again when we return. This was an amazing holiday, Iceland is awesome. We hired a car and did "The Golden Circle" ourselves, the Gullfoss waterfall is breathtaking, amazing views. Also an excursion to see the Northern lights is a must. All in all this was a holiday of a lifetime for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Alfred's Apartments for 5 nights on a recent trip to Reykjavik. In a town that is far from cheap, we thought this was great value for money and it was nice being able to make your own breakfast on the small electric hob. The studio was very clean and the satellite TV was great.

The location is great, just off the main street, but quiet enough and only a 10-minute walk into the main part of the town centre. It has great amenities nearby: a cheap but good supermarket round the corner, a little tourist information centre and a lovely burger place round the corner as well.

If you're sensitive to light at night, take an eye mask, as there's a streetlight right outside the building and it's quite bright. We also thought the beds were on the soft side, but that's of course a personal preference. The walls are a bit thin as well, but it wasn't too much of an issue.

All in all a great place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We knew with maximum 4 hours of day light in Keykjavic in late December we would want somewhere with space to lounge and work and so chose an apartment over a hotel.

What we liked about Alfred's
Location; literally steps away from the main street, 1 minute walk to the supermarket and opposite the excellent tourist information, the location was known to pick-ups and taxis meaning you could have a hassle free door to door service

Kitchenette; great for drinks and very light meals, there is a hob, kettle and fridge

TV; dozens of English language channels, if you fancy a night in

Staff; super-helpful but not at all intrusive, call if you need help, otherwise only visible check-in and check-out = perfect!

What we didn't like about it
Beds; Everything was of the cheapest quality possible, sadly this also ran to the beds, this meant 5 days of back ache for me. plus 2 singles which wasn't so romantic

Size; the one-bed we took was advertised for 3, luckily we were only 2 and we felt it was rather "cosy" for us, forget about anyone else!

Room Tip: we had the front, which meant we could watch out on the street but it was a little noisy, if you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the studio apartments, during the Airwaves 2012, and the apartment was perfect for us, it had all the necessary items for cooking some small meals, and having some breakfasts, also perfect location... very close to the center but in a quiet area so you can skip the noise of the main streets ...

The check in and check out was easy breezy... and for us being experts in Reykjavik it was a very good place to stay...

I would recommend these apartments and the location, and also the service... and for sure we will go back and this would be our first option....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 1night in a studio apartment which was a bit too small for us. The apartment had all that you need and was clean. The owner was very kind and helpful. There was no TV in the room. Requested the owner for a radio and he did manage to get us a radio. so for 1night it's a fairly decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfred's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Apartments

Address: Vitastigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfred's Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfred’s Apartments offers spacious accommodation in the heart of Reykjavik, just 20 metres from Laugarvegur shopping street. Each apartment has a fully equipped kitchen and free Wi-Fi. All units at Alfred’s Apartments have private bathrooms with a shower. A seating area can be found in the living room. Some apartments feature an open kitchen with bar chairs. Guests can buy groceries at the local Bonus grocery store 50 metres from the hotel. Several shops, restaurants and cafes are available in the surrounding area. The Church of Hallgrimur is located 350 metres from the apartments. The Life of Whales sea safari tours are a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Alfred's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred's Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.