We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lighthouse Apartments to your Saves list
Lighthouse Apartments
Ranargata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

These apartments are the perfect place to center your trip to Iceland. From Reykjavik you can easily take day trips to fun sights in the surrounding area but all the best places to eat and shop are in Reykjavik - it's the best of both worlds. The Lighthouse apartments are in a great location, close to all the action but not on a busy street. Our apartment was clean, large, and well furnished. If we ever make it to Iceland again we'll definitely be back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family of five stayed in Lighthouse Apartments three bedroom apartment. It was very clean, bright and spacious. There is a full kitchen with new appliances and well appointed furniture. Very comfortable beds and a great multi-massage shower to get you going in the mornings. We were met by the landlord (Solveig) with a warm and informative tour of the apartment and answered questions about the surrounding area. Location is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other tourist attractions. Iceland is a beautiful little island with friendly people and lots to do. We are planning to visit again soon and will be staying at The Lighthouse Apartments. Solveig made our family feel very welcome and our first Icelandic experience very enjoyable.

Kevin Vibe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family of five stayed in a three bedroom apartment. It was very clean, bright and spacious. There is a full kitchen with new appliances and well appointed furniture. Very comfortable beds and a great multi-massage shower to get you going in the mornings. We were met by the landlord with a warm and informative tour of the apartment. Location is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other tourist attractions. Iceland is a beautiful little island with friendly people and lots to do. We are planning to visit again soon and will be staying at The Lighthouse Apartments. Solveig made us feel very welcome and our first Icelandic experience very enjoyable.

Kevin Vibe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Lighthouse Apartments for 6 nights. We had a three bedroom apartment, which was very convenient, spacious and clean. It's located very close to the old harbour and close to the city, so this made it very easy to explore the nice city of Reykjavik. The owner is a very nice and helpful person. We had a feeling of coming home and that is the best feeling you can have when you're on vacation!! We definitely recommend this accommodation to everyone who wants to visit the beautiful country of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarden, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my family in April 2013 and we all rate the Lighthouse Apartments very highly. The apartments are located close to the old harbour and is only a 5 minute walk from the city centre. They are close to some lovely restaurants and a good tourist information centre. The apartments are located in a residential area and there is no noise outside. It is nice and peaceful but still very close to the centre and within walking distance to everything you need.

The apartment is very clean, tidy and it was always warm and cozy during our stay (excellent when coming in from the bitter cold and wind outside!) The shower was powerful and hot and many good quality towels were provided. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had everything we needed and the seating area was big with a decent television (with British channels).

Unfortunately we had some very noisy people staying above us during our stay and, although we politely told them several times if they would mind being a bit quieter, they still managed to keep us up drinking until midnight most nights until they went out on the town, before waking us up again between 3am and 6am on their return for what I presume was an after party. It is not the apartments fault at all that some holidaymakers are extremely inconsiderate but please note that it could be the ceilings/walls are a little thin. This is obviously no problem at all if you have considerate non-booze fueled people staying above/below you, but if you do you might have to ask them to keep the party noise down a bit if you want to enjoy the full cosyness of your stay in the apartment! (I presume that as the apartments are not right in the middle of the city centre it is a rare occasion to have "party people" staying, I think we were just unlucky during our stay.)

Overall, apart from the above issue (not apartments fault) we would stay here again if we ever come back to Reykjavik (hopefully we will as we loved Iceland). We would all recommend these apartments if you want a cosy comfy stay in one of the nicest parts of the city. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The apartment is in a residential area perfectly located for walking into the centre ( 2 minutes!) and the harbour area but without the traffic and party noise of an in-centre location.

We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was great for a family of four. It was well equipped (although like most apartments in Iceland it seems a little light on cooking utensils) and it was fresh and clean. The shower was simply amazing - with jets all over the place and a built in radio! The host was very welcoming, despite our very late arrival thanks to Icelandair's schedules from London).

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here with two other women in the family apartment (three bedrooms). It was a delightful experience and each of us would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great location--you can walk everywhere---and quiet. So nice to have the kitchen since dining in Iceland can be quite expensive. Sweet little garden out back. Free wireless. Super clean and fresh. I hope to stay here again in the not too distant future.

(TIP: If coming from the airport on the bus, make sure you have the exact address of the apartments because none of our bus drivers--you take a big bus then transfer to a mini-bus to get through the city's narrow streets-- didn't know where it was.)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Apartments

Address: Ranargata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lighthouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.