We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, central, surrounding street just okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“good hotel, central, surrounding street just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed for one night in early June. The hotel itself is fine. It's close to the bus station. It's in the city center but not central to the city center (if that makes any sense at all). It was maybe a 5-7 walk to the end of the main shopping/restaurant street. The room was larger and very clean. The front desk was polite and able to store my luggage when I checked in early. The bed itself was comfortable and except for the person next door coming in loud and late (not something the hotel can control) it was quiet.

The only thing is that the area around the hotel looks a little sketchy. That being said, I'm sure it's actually totally safe--it's Reykjavik--it just looks a little run down--older buildings, not a lot of shops/restaurants, etc. around. A number of people had commented on construction, but I assumed since some of those were months ago that it wouldn't still be occurring. It was. However, I didn't find this at all a problem--they were working but only during totally decent hours of the day so it wasn't a problem. The construction site doesn't exactly add to the area's atmosphere, though.

Someone commented on the windows being dirty--if you have ever wandered around Reykjavik in the morning you will notice that most of the shopowners clean their windows ALL THE TIME--living on the water in a city with Reykjavik's weather conditions = dirty windows very fast. So while I agree--they are dirty--it's on the outside, and I don't know that it's a reasonable expectation to clean the outside of upper story windows constantly. That's not to belittle their comment, at all, but I don't think it reflects cleanliness conditions of the hotel in general. Just fyi :-)

So, in summary, the hotel itself is great. It was also EXTREMELY reasonably priced. I think the next time I would pay a bit more to be on or just off of the main street, but if I couldn't find somewhere I thought was decent for another $40 or $50 more I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    293
    77
    10
    5
See reviews for
60
336
31
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here one night and found the hotel to be clean, sterile and comfortable. Upon arriving in the room, we opened up the curtains....and nearly "gasped" when viewing the on-going/privacy-invasion- construction that was going on RIGHT NEXT TO OUR ROOM!! The great news: there was "no" impact to our visit in terms of noise issues, although it should be noted that we did not stay in our room much, except for sleeping...so no major impact other than the "surprise". Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options.

Logistics/Iceland Impressions: This hotel was a nice transition from our England B&B experiences to Iceland hence, the 5 star review despite the near-hideous-adjacent-construction. NOTE: While we were glad that we stopped in Reykjavik for one night....in our opinion, "one night" was MORE than enough in this city.....and resulted in our change of travel-plans to LEAVE immediately the next day. (We did "not" get the decoder-ring that explained why anyone would want to spend much time here....unless you just liked to get schnockered....but I can understand that as well :)

ICELAND is a visual "TREASURE" ....only to be realized once you leave this particular city

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived very late at Hotel Kelttur but the staff was very helpful and friendly. We got a room overlooking the construction site from next door but we were not disturbed by noises in the morning. The room was clean and good looking in its simplicity. The bed was great and comfortable. Breakfast was OK but it might get boring after a couple of days.
All in all this hotel was a great experience, but take notice that it is located about 30 minutes walk from the city center.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for rooms that don't overlook the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had been on a ring road tour for the previous 6 nights. This hotel for the most part WAS a hotel. But the area it is in (not its fault) was very depressing. Never have I seen such filthy windows (hotel) on the ground level. Reception booked us in and said though room was 400 number it was really on 3. So, went to 3. House cleaning was in the area as we searched and she laughed and sent us to 4. Room was spacious and clean. Windows up there were clean, BTW! Have no idea about breakfast since we had to leave well before theirs opened ... very late, actually. Smoking outside on the sidewalk! Expected but not one place for a butt except the street curb. Reception during the evening and before dawn was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Bright room, charming in its simplicity. Unfortunately looks out over a major construction project currently happening behind the building. So close in fact that the support for one of the cranes rose within feet of our window. Not sure how high this project will ultimately rise and what it will do to the view which would otherwise look out over lower neighboring buildings into the fjiord.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here at the start of the year and thought hotel was great. The room we were given far surpassed my expectation and I even thought we had been upgraded by accident. Staff were friendly, hotel was clean and comfortable. Good location and able to walk to centre. Wifi only available downstairs in communal area and breakfast was a bit simple but didnt go hungry and would happily stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Got to the hotel and was given a family room at no extra cost. It was lovely and really spacious.
Hotel was clean and all of the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts was simple but plentiful. The hotel is about a 10-15min walk to the centre of Reykjavik and good for us because we had hired a car so got free parking at a nearby car park. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.