We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek and appealing; Scandinavian breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
347 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Sleek and appealing; Scandinavian breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel Klettur had the honor of being my first Icelandic hotel experience, and here are my impressions: Overall it was modern, minimalist, and aesthetically appealing. Lobby area is tight if you have several guests trying to check in/out, but they do have a large, locked closet to keep store your luggage if you arrive too early. The elevator is quick.

Standard rooms are smaller than in the USA, but we weren't expecting anything beyond a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Our king-sized bed was actually 2 beds pushed together, and we each had our own twin-sized comforter. No sheets besides the fitted sheet, which we found to be typical at all the other 4 Icelandic hotels. My only complaint is that the comforter's duvet was not breathable- I awoke both mornings drenched in sweat even though the room temperature was normal. Bare, clean floor; the bonus is that it's heated in the bathroom, which has a glass shower with no curtain.

Reception staff is knowledgeable, but they seemed a bit harried and impatient every time we spoke with them. Breakfast in the morning offers a variety of choices that are typical at most of the others, and the large, sleek dining room is on the bottom floor. Most breakfasters bussed themselves.

The location is convenient for the able-bodied. A quick walk will get you to the main shopping district, but because of the construction next door, you might walk in the street for a little section to get from one place to another.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    408
    129
    19
    5
See reviews for
88
481
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited Iceland in November with my best friend. We had a standard room but had a view of the sea/mountains. Unfortunately, there are some building works taking place outside which did start early on the Saturday and Monday mornings that we were there.

Room itself was a twin, incredibly large with a fridge, safe and wardrobe. Room met our needs nicely, even the bathroom was huge! No tea or coffee facilities in the room though.

Breakfast is a little simple, not a huge amount of choice. For anyone staying longer than a weekend it may get a little tiresome.

The hotel is a few streets away from the town centre, very clean, spacious and on the tourist trip pick up points.

Only downside(s) was lack of wifi in rooms (only in reception area), no computer to print off boarding passes and the reception charged for the printing service. Otherwise, it was a very good hotel that served our purpose well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room avoiding overlooking the building works as they start early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Klettur for the second time in November. When booking we upgraded to a deluxe room and requested a sea/mountain view. We were given a room on the 6th floor which had the sea view.

The hotel is a bit out of town but is still a good quiet location, it is very clean and modern. There are a few restaurants and supermarket a short walk from the hotel. Also it is not far to the sea wall where you can sit and watch the Northern Lights if they are out.

The room was very clean and tidy, had tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, iron and ironing board, dressing table, wardrobe with a safe inside, bedside cabinets, the bed was 2 singles pushed together. The bathroom had a really good shower with shampoo and conditioner provided and a hairdryer. The temperature of the room was fine and could be adjusted on the radiator and we also had an opening window.

Breakfast is continental style but well presented and plentiful.

The staff were really friendly and helpful with booking trips and return pickup to the airport.

A few minor points if I’m being really fussy, Wi-Fi does not extend to most rooms, a bit more drawer space in the rooms would’ve been nice for people who do not want to live out of a suitcase, the bath towels are a bit small although useable. The building site didn't cause us a problem, a short time of noise one morning.

If I was to go back, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room was very small, but clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. Reception staff very helpful. The area is not the best with a building site next door, however we did not experience any noise from the building site. The hotel was a little out of town, but a brisk 10 minute walk got us to the centre. Bus station was about 5 minute's away. All tour buses picked up and dropped off at the hotel, including the airport buses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently returned from a fabulous 4 night break at Hotel Klettur. We had an early flight but our room was available when we arrived - a bonus! Room was spacious, warm and spotlessly clean. Beds extremely comfortable. Nice bathroom also. As per other reviews the hotel is 5 mins away from the main shopping street with numerous bars and restaurants. Breakfast was really nice and on our last day there was no problem going for breakfast at 6am due to our early flight. Hotel staff really friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here on a northern lights tour . The location is excellent , near to all main shopping area, restaurants, waterfront . Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet, cold meats cheeses cereals etc , plenty to eat excellent coffee. Having read some negative comments about building site next door, yes there is a very large building site but we had no problems at all . There is a lot of building work in Reykjavik at the moment and it didn't cause us any problems. If you want a good comfortable hotel i can recommend this one

Room Tip: There are a few restaurants nearby , can recommend Harrys which is just around the corner, very frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and as the hotel is a 3* thought we would pay for an upgrade. £50 for the 3 nights so not too expensive. However, the only difference from the standard room seemed to be that we were on the top floor (6) but at the back of the hotel overlooking a big building site with the sea in the distance.
Staff were very pleasant when we asked for extra pillows and towels. They also serve breakfast at 05.00 if you have an early flight.
Would suggest asking for a room at the front with a balcony and views of the town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#29 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.