We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
UK, Southampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spacious hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited Iceland in November with my best friend. We had a standard room but had a view of the sea/mountains. Unfortunately, there are some building works taking place outside which did start early on the Saturday and Monday mornings that we were there.

Room itself was a twin, incredibly large with a fridge, safe and wardrobe. Room met our needs nicely, even the bathroom was huge! No tea or coffee facilities in the room though.

Breakfast is a little simple, not a huge amount of choice. For anyone staying longer than a weekend it may get a little tiresome.

The hotel is a few streets away from the town centre, very clean, spacious and on the tourist trip pick up points.

Only downside(s) was lack of wifi in rooms (only in reception area), no computer to print off boarding passes and the reception charged for the printing service. Otherwise, it was a very good hotel that served our purpose well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room avoiding overlooking the building works as they start early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    289
    74
    7
    5
See reviews for
57
328
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Klettur for the second time in November. When booking we upgraded to a deluxe room and requested a sea/mountain view. We were given a room on the 6th floor which had the sea view.

The hotel is a bit out of town but is still a good quiet location, it is very clean and modern. There are a few restaurants and supermarket a short walk from the hotel. Also it is not far to the sea wall where you can sit and watch the Northern Lights if they are out.

The room was very clean and tidy, had tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, iron and ironing board, dressing table, wardrobe with a safe inside, bedside cabinets, the bed was 2 singles pushed together. The bathroom had a really good shower with shampoo and conditioner provided and a hairdryer. The temperature of the room was fine and could be adjusted on the radiator and we also had an opening window.

Breakfast is continental style but well presented and plentiful.

The staff were really friendly and helpful with booking trips and return pickup to the airport.

A few minor points if I’m being really fussy, Wi-Fi does not extend to most rooms, a bit more drawer space in the rooms would’ve been nice for people who do not want to live out of a suitcase, the bath towels are a bit small although useable. The building site didn't cause us a problem, a short time of noise one morning.

If I was to go back, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room was very small, but clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. Reception staff very helpful. The area is not the best with a building site next door, however we did not experience any noise from the building site. The hotel was a little out of town, but a brisk 10 minute walk got us to the centre. Bus station was about 5 minute's away. All tour buses picked up and dropped off at the hotel, including the airport buses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently returned from a fabulous 4 night break at Hotel Klettur. We had an early flight but our room was available when we arrived - a bonus! Room was spacious, warm and spotlessly clean. Beds extremely comfortable. Nice bathroom also. As per other reviews the hotel is 5 mins away from the main shopping street with numerous bars and restaurants. Breakfast was really nice and on our last day there was no problem going for breakfast at 6am due to our early flight. Hotel staff really friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here on a northern lights tour . The location is excellent , near to all main shopping area, restaurants, waterfront . Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet, cold meats cheeses cereals etc , plenty to eat excellent coffee. Having read some negative comments about building site next door, yes there is a very large building site but we had no problems at all . There is a lot of building work in Reykjavik at the moment and it didn't cause us any problems. If you want a good comfortable hotel i can recommend this one

Room Tip: There are a few restaurants nearby , can recommend Harrys which is just around the corner, very frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and as the hotel is a 3* thought we would pay for an upgrade. £50 for the 3 nights so not too expensive. However, the only difference from the standard room seemed to be that we were on the top floor (6) but at the back of the hotel overlooking a big building site with the sea in the distance.
Staff were very pleasant when we asked for extra pillows and towels. They also serve breakfast at 05.00 if you have an early flight.
Would suggest asking for a room at the front with a balcony and views of the town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

when I booked this hotel I was told by the agent for ALL ICELAND that I could get an ENGLISH breakfast and pay for an evening meal if I needed to,neither were available(not the hotels fault).the hotel is very nice,the staff are very friendly and helpful the room was nice ,the beer in the bar was always FLAT (the room had underfloor heating which is very good)

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back for a slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.