We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel, easy walk to centre of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“good value hotel, easy walk to centre of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Large spacious room, well furnished and with a good modern bathroom too. A fridge, hairdryer, television and basic toiletries were all provided. Only complaint was that wi-fi does not work in the rooms.
The breakfast room was also large, spacious and nicely furnished. There was a lounge area where wi-fi could be accessed. Breakfast itself was quite generous and well serviced so food was topped up frequently.
The hotel is a very easy 5 minute walk to the central shopping area and being 5 minutes out provides an opportunity to eat away from the touristy areas.
All in all an excellent hotel for price in 101.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    318
    90
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
366
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We echo all the comments made in recent reviews but want to add something about the staff. We arrived, tired, to find we had taken the wrong suitcase from the bus which dropped us off in the dark. Dismayed, we told the receptionist and she picked up the phone to the bus company. Twenty minutes later I had my bag back and somewhere a Finnish man must have been pleased to get his bag back too. On our third day, my husband was ill and hotel staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. I had to cancel his place on that day's coach trip and I expected to simply lose the money as it was last minute. Not a bit of it. Again the receptionist picked up the phone, said something in Icelandic, then opened the safe and returned the cost of one ticket to me in cash. No sweat. He seemed surprised at my gratitude. A good word for breakfast too. There was a lovely array of healthy cold foods, including boiled eggs, salads, fruits, dried fruit, fresh bread, honey and limitless good quality coffee. On our last morning we had to leave at 5am and after various British experiences of being refused an earlyish breakfast I didn't even ask about one. However, at 4am, there was breakfast laid out for everyone catching the bus. It made such a difference to our early start, and again the staff seemed to think that this was no more than could be expected. A special word of thanks to the lovely Basque receptionist who spoke ten languages and could not have been kinder. She is destined for great things. Thank you Hotel Klettur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just come back from a short stay at the Klettur for our first visit to Iceland and we were very pleased with it overall.

The pros:
Our twin room was large enough for two and very clean
The beds were comfortable even for me with my bad back (if a little narrow)
The breakfast was good (a bonus given how expensive it can be to eat out in Reykjavik)
There was a fridge (again, handy for saving a bit of money on food)
The hotel was very close to the shopping area of Laugavegar (a five minute walk if that), and it was an easy walk on to Harpa and the old harbour, etc.
The reception staff were helpful and polite
There was a safe in the room
There was a bar in the basement that was open in the evenings for drinks only (we didn't use it, but only because we went out instead)
It is possible to book trips via reception and staff are happy to help with enquiries/problems regarding trips
The trip companies pick up from the hotel

The cons:
No kettle - take a travel kettle
The immediate area isn't particularly scenic - I didn't feel unsafe, but I was glad to get round the corner to the shopping/restaurant area once it got dark. (If you book a deluxe room, then you get a better view from your room - other rooms overlook the street and the apartments opposite)
There is a large building site next door which meant lots of banging from 8am onwards - it didn't bother us as we were happy to get up early and I expect it will be over at some point soon
Apart from breakfast, the hotel doesn't serve food at other times - this didn't bother us at all as we knew in advance that this was the case

Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: If a view from your room is important to you, ask for a 'deluxe', otherwise, don't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Judging by some of the hotels we passed on the bus this was one of the best of its type. It was clean and simple, typically Scandinavian. The beds were comfy although the pillows very soft - no problem as I just asked for more. Fridge, ironing board, iron, hairdryer and safe all in the room at no extra cost. Kettle and daily replenishments of tea and coffee sachets. The room was lovely and warm with a radiator thermostat that you could easily alter to suit. Very easy to walk into Reykjavik. Breakfast was healthy with 2 cereals, milk and skyr, ham, cheese and salad stuff, plenty of bread and sweet pastries. The orange juice seemed diluted though.
The tapwater tastes brilliant.
The desk is always manned with English speakers ready to help.
The only problem was that wifi was not available in the rooms but it was free in the reception and breakfast area.
The location is fine and although there was building work nearby you could never hear it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a deal on icelandair website. A very good deal in fact although costs do ramp up in Iceland once you factor in trips, car hire, food and drink. This hotel was clean and simple in the Scandinavian style. Convenient for the town centre. The immediate surroundings are off-putting but the hotel itself is fine and area safe. We hired a car and had no problem parking on the street. Very close to the phallological museum where you can see males members of all shapes and sizes - strange.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. Staff very friendly, room clean, breakfast good, 15-20 min nice walk to harbour down Main Street. Wifi only in dining/breakfast area but free. Was not disturbed by building. Excellent, would go back & recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean. The hallways, bathrooms, front, beds, etc. very clean. The staff was all very nice from the bartender to the receptionist. The food was a regular buffet. There were a few more choices than a continental breakfast. The location was nice, just a few blocks a way from a shopping/dining district. The rooms were small but updated.
The only a few cons were a 35 euro early check in charge. That was about half the price of a nights stay. The view of an old apartment(or maybe abandon hostel) across the street was not much to look at. And there seem to be construction around the building through out the early morning and day. It was a little noisy.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear piasan-11

Thank you for your stay and your review. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and that you would stay with us again.

The guesthouse across the street is still in business and yes it is not much to look at. We hope that the owner will fix that up soon now that all other houses in the street have been fixed up. We offer three types of early check in at Klettur. If you arrive between 06 - 10 then it is about 34 EUR for a double room and breakfast is included for both guests. For a single room it is 24 EUR. If you arrive between 10 - 14 then it is 14 EUR. Please let me know if this does not fit with your bill.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.