We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, roomy, clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, roomy, clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights last week, and were VERY pleased with the Klettur. The room was good-sized, spotlessly clean, and, as other reviewers have stated, the reception staff couldn't be more pleasant, patient and helpful. We had an early pickup for the airport, and they made sure we had breakfast before we left. I would heartily recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Holly22

Thank you for your stay and your wonderful review :-). We hope to see you again in Iceland.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    283
    70
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
323
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were transferred to Klettur as the hotel we originally booked turned out to be over booked, but were so pleased it was! The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, one of the rooms we had on the bottom floor was much bigger than expected too.The hotel is in an ideal location, near to the centre and is a known pick up point by all the tour guides.

Probably the most outstanding aspect of the hotel is the staff, especially those on the front desk. There is always someone there to ask questions even in the early hours of the morning when coming back from the northern lights! They offer great advice on what tours are the best (the tip on what company to go on the golden circle tour was spot on) and what restaurants to go too, 'Potturinn og Pannan' was a excellent choice. Even after we left, they were great in sending an item left behind back to us.

The hotel was amazing and everything we wanted and came at good value too. We had an amazing time and if we come back to Iceland Hotel Klettur is the hotel we will come to!

Stayed Feb 2013.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were larger, but higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Matt18878

Lucky us that you were sent to us :-). Thank you for your stay and your review. I will make sure the staff will hear about your compliment.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package booked via Icelandair. Staying only for three nights.The hotel is a short walk away from the main street in Reykjavik. At the time of our visit a large building site was being worked at the rear of the hotel. This did not pose a problem for us, as this was a siteseeing break and not one where we needed time and space to relax, although there was some noise during the day, and the outlook from our rear window was over this building site. The hotel is clean and modern and the breakfast is adequate. We found the young woman who was managing the reception desk to be extremely helpful, knowledgeable and kind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Billmarge

Thank you for your review and your stay at Hotel Klettur. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and our receptionist. At the building site they are building apartments so our neighborhood will look really good in a short time. The noise will be kept to a minimum and of course only during the work day.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely three days at Hotel Klettur, which was a welcome and unexpected upgrade from the original hotel we were booked in, Cabin Hotel. The gentlemen looking after us, Kristjan Jóhann and Gonnar Eli Sigurjónsson were superb! Very friendly, and Gonnar especially extremely knowledgable of the history and area of Reykjavik and the whole island. We had some amazing dinner and excursion recommendations that we wouldn't have been able to find out on our own. Great location, lovely breakfast (G/F options which I appreciated!) and very clean, modern, comfortable rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear CarolS676

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and we will make sure that Kristján and Gunnar hear about your review.

We hope to see you in Iceland again

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Klettur is in a good location just off the quiet end of Reykjavik's main shopping street and has some very helpful staff (especially the guy who works nights) who speak perfect English.

Rooms are of a good size and simply furnished. Our room was a little cool on arrival and we discovered that the underfloor heating needed quite a time to respond to the thermostat being turned up.

Breakfast was adequate with limited cereals and no hot dishes. The hot chocolate was delicious!

Free wi-fi is advertised as being available only in the bar/dining room area and in reception but it is possible (just) to get a signal in rooms just above reception on the third floor.

Free parking is available in a car park just to the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear digitl

Thank you for your review and for your stay. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and our staff. We are always trying to improve the wifi connection so I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy it in our room also but that is not something we can guarantee now. We also have free internet connection in the rooms with a cord connection.

Hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A great hotel in an excellent location. We stayed at the hotel as part of an Icelandair Northern Lights package. The rooms are modern and functional and the hotel staff very obliging. We departed early for our flight on the departure date before the advertised breakfast time (Good Friday, which was also a total holiday in Iceland) however the hotel had laid up the full continental breakfast early for everyone departing anyway. A thoughtful touch, and much appreciated. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or holiday. On this trip we were on a couples holiday but having travelling independently, this is a hotel (and city) I would have definitely felt comfortable staying at on my own.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear honey_pammy

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and our city. We always try to offer early breakfast, can´t have our guest going on their flight on an empty stomach.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Warm regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

April - 2013. We where 5 of us staying in Hotel Klettur for 5 nights (including weekend) as a part of a deal with iceland air. I write this review on behalf of all of us as we had an excellent stay and the hotel had exactly what we where looking for.

It is a very clean hotel and staff and customer service is excellent. We arrived very late at night and the check in was very easy and smooth. The breakfast buffet is very nice and good quality, not massive (sized according to hotell) but absolutly to our taist. The staff catering the breakfast buffet is also very quick to refill when food/drink is running low. The hotel is a close walk to town and in a very quite area. It should be mentioned that at the time we where there it happend to be a building site just beside the hotel and some noise was coming thrugh some weekdays at some point after 8 in the morning. The noise was never was an issue to us as we arrived very late Friday, the workers was home during weekend, we had things booked every day and were up around this time all weekdays anyway. If you arrive late (are easly disturbed by noise like some of us) and facy extra sleep the next day (not weekend) you might like to send an email in advance asking for a room facing away from the building site. (This could mean your view might not be as nice though.)
All of us would definitly stay here again and fully recomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear SissOnTravel

Thank you for your review and for your stay. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel.

An apartment building is being built on the next lot and the builders are doing that in a good cooperation with us. Therefor there will be no noisy work being done in the weekends or early in the morning. We are glad that the surroundings of the hotel will be improved a lot after the building is ready.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Warm regards
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.