We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a perfect holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a perfect holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We got back from Reykjavik yesterday, and we were extremely impressed with both Hotel Klettur and all of the excursions that we went on. We booked our stay as part of the Icelandair Northern Lights Tour.

Before we went, we sent a quick email to the hotel to ask for an upgraded room, they handled our request with great ease, and when we arrived we were given a 6th floor room with a fantastic view.

Our room was spacious and clean, with a huge window & stunning views. It came well equip with a kettle, hairdryer, flat screen TV, spacious shower and nice big mirror. When we arrived we found that two pillows between us wasn't quite adequate, but the guys on reception were more than happy to provide us with another two - the bed was extremely comfortable, too.

Everyone on reception works extremely hard - especially Christian, who we found to be particularly helpful. He booked all of our excursions for us and nothing was too much trouble.

Whilst we were there, we used Reykjavik Excursions for all of our tours, the tour guides are VERY knowledgeable and they love their jobs. We did the Northern Lights Tour (included in the package), Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle Tour and South Shore Adventure. I would recommend each and every one - we have learnt a lot about Iceland and they were all great fun.

NB: The receptionist at the hotel will let you know whether or not the Northern Lights Tour is on each night, if your tour is cancelled (due to bad weather) you will have the chance to re-book for the following night.

The breakfast in the hotel was basic (like many have said), but we didn't find this problematic. Everything that you would usually have at home was available; cereal, toast, fruit etc. We were always out very early in the morning for our excursions, so breakfast was a very quick event.

I would recommend waiting until you arrive to book excursions, the reception can help you get the best deals, and you'll find that there are extensive lists of tours that you never knew existed before arriving.

Overall, the hotel was lovely and clean, and in the perfect position for a wonderful trip to Iceland. This is not a luxurious hotel, and it doesn't need to be - we spent no time at all in the hotel - and were out on excursions for the majority of our stay. I am particularly fussy when it comes to hotels, and I thought this was just great.

On a separate note, Icelandair is a WONDERFUL airline - our flight from the UK was just 2.5 hours, and we each had a TV in front of us with a huge selection of films and series. I was extremely impressed and would recommend the Icelandair packages available on the website.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a room on the 6th floor and it was FANTASTIC. We had big windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    321
    91
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
371
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 3 night stay. We had a fantastic trip and thought the hotel was great!
We upgraded to floor 6 - we gained a kettle, bigger room, nice bathroom and less noise from the street! Our hotel room was well equipped with a nice view from the balcony. It was warm, but never too hot. The beds were really comfortable and we had a really powerful shower!
We enjoyed the breakfast-lots of bread and fruits to choose from, always fresh and plentiful!
We didn't book our trips until we arrived as we had read that the reception staff would offer advice, and they certainly did! They were all very helpful and helped us select a Golden Circle trip (Gateway- a fantastic tour, definitely recommended!), Blue Lagoon and planned our day around the city!
A great stay, we will definitely stay at this hotel again when we next visit!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Light, bright, modern, clean and airy rooms
Helpful and friendly staff who helped book all our tours (which pick you up from outside the door)
Breakfast a bit basic boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, bread, cereal, juices, teas and coffees but perfectly adequate
Well located with a 7/11 type shop, takeaway pizza, Thai restaurant, noodle bar all within a few minutes walk, one evening we were short of time and reception ordered us pizza from dominos to be delivered, they even delivered it to our room.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, not luxurious but for a good value base absolutely ideal

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel was OK, not good, not bad, just OK. The breakfast was OK, the bed was OK, the room was OK. The staff could have leaned to be a bit more courteous and the building was way too overheated but it was in a good location, close to the city centre, even if the area surrounding the hotel was unimpressive. Oh, and it would have been better if we could had opened the window so that we could get some cool fresh air into the room. I wouldn't be coming back here again, it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Modern design. Friends were upgraded to deluxe room however did not think it was worth paying for. Clean and central to city centre. Excellent breakfast, cold food not hot although plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Myself and a friend shared a twin bedroom with ensuite for one week at this hotel. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk (if you know where you are going- ask the reception staff!!) from the main street Laugavegur. It's staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. All the trips we booked collected us from the hotel which was very handy especially after a long day of glacier hiking! The breakfast is a nice buffet with tea and coffee on tap. The hotel is very clean (rooms are cleaned daily). I noticed some reviews saying the rooms were too hot; however I don't quite understand as our room was hot but I just turned the heating down/off and opened a window if necessary. A nice warm room is welcomed if you've been out for a day trip in -12 up in the north! I will stay here on my next visit to Iceland and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here on a 3 day package with Icelandair, staff were very helpful and recommended places for us to eat. Bar was fine - especially when happy hour is on which is extended if northern lights tour is cancelled, they also served complimentary snacks which was a nice touch. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice - toaster if you wanted warm food i.e. Toast, fruit bread. Clean, very warm 3 star hotel close to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.