We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good value, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just returned from a short trip to Iceland. Picked this hotel based on other reviews. We found it to be clean, modern and reasonably well positioned. What elevated it to our very good rating was the helpfulness of the staff. All the reception staff were only too willing to make calls to follow up on bookings, excursions and information. The hotel did not have many frills but provided a perfectly good breakfast, comfortable beds and well presented room. The slight down side were that the walls were very thin and noise travelled a bit, but nothing too disturbing. If you are looking for an economy hotel then I would recommend you give them a try.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    282
    68
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
322
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice modern hotel near centre of town. Helpful reception staff. Don't be fooled as I was of proximity to airport on map. That's for domestic flights only! International is an expensive 50 min cab journey away. Book the bus transfer! The Rekjavyk excursions company that runs the buses is very efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a delayed Icelandair service from London and after getting the flybus directly to the hotel door at about midnight a very friendly receptionist checked us in painlessly.

Breakfast is buffet style with typically European fayre and a good selection of beverages.

The bar is open from 1700 with happy hour from 1800 which essentially offers 2 half pints for the equivalent of about £5 which is reasonable. If the Northern Lights tours do not run, happy hour is extended until 2200 which is a nice touch. Bar staff very friendly.

In fact all staff very friendly and can't do enough to help even helping us to ring around various tour companies which they had no monetary benefit from.

The only thing which I could fault was that on arrival, the underfloor heating had been set very high, with no opening window took 2 days to cool the room down. This is of course personal preference, and a testament to the excellent insulation of the building but we did struggle to sleep well due to the heat. A very minor point in an otherwise hugely recommended hotel.

Nearly forgot to mention fabulous location too. 5 minute walk to the bus station or to town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, very helpful and accommodating staff, warm and clean rooms. There is a ref in the room, and the television shows English channels. Near the town center and central bus stations.
Our flight going home is in the morning and we booked the Flybus to the airport at 0600, the staff offered some breakfast even though they open at 0700.
Would love to come back to this hotel nest time and hopefully see the Northern lights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was nice to see the flight attendants on Iceland air still wear classy uniforms with hat. No food on the flight, not even a snack but they didn't run out of food for purchase like some other airlines I been on. Nice individual screens in the back of the seat in front of you, plenty of movies, music and TV shows to chose from.

Hotel Klettur is basic but clean and comfortable, no restaurant but offers a nice free breakfast. The only thing is the breakfast menu doesn’t change, but still a very good value considering how expensive food is in Iceland. Also, I often travel alone so it was nice this hotel offers rooms for single travellers and my room was roomy with plenty of closet space. The hotel staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful (thank you Nicole). I didn't book my tours until I arrived in Reykjavik, and wish I had booked through the hotel rather than the tour office. Whether you book through the hotel or tour office the prices are the same but the hotel can handle exchange and cancellation for you if you book the tours through them. The hotel is about a 5-10 minutes walk to the main street of the city, bus station and thermal pool. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Higher floors not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of January. We booked the hotel as part of a Northern Lights package with Icelandair and then also booked the Flybus from the airport, which dropped us off right outside Hotel Klettur (a 50 minute trip - probalby an expensive taxi ride!)

If you are planning on visiting during the winter, please note that if it has been snowing/raining and frozen, then the roads and pavements all around the hotel are horribly slippery, regardless of 'sensible' footwear - especially as you have to go downhill to get into the centre. We went out our first evening there and were amazed that the council (or Icelandic equivalent!) had not bothered to grit, as we were sliding all over the place on black ice and could easily have really hurt ourselves in seconds. The hotel receptionist didn't bother to point out the risk either, which would have been very helpful as at least we'd have been forewarned. If elderly/pregnant/with small children, I honestly would not recommend this hotel location-wise in winter if the forecast is icy.

Ice aside, check in was quick and easy and we had a very clean room on level 2, which is the ground floor. Our double room was two single beds pushed together, with two single duvets and just one pillow each (though we got more from reception on request). There is not a huge amount of space in the rooms when the suitcases won't fit under the beds but we managed. Plenty of TV channels in English - BBC1, BBC2, ITV2 etc - a good (free) safe and a decent size wardrobe. The bathroom was ok: no bath, just a shower and one of those really annoying shower curtains which sticks to you every time you move. The bath towels are small and thin, but do the job. Our one genuine complaint about the room (and which was never fixed, despite asking) is that it was boiling hot in there and the temperature control thermostat on the wall did not work - the receptionist said it takes time to cool down, but 4 days is excessively long!! It would not have been so bad but the windows on our floor cannot be opened and when you are having to dress in warm thermals and top layers for the weather outdoors, you could do without your room being a sauna. We even woke up in the night hot, sticky and cross. This may have been a problem for our room only, but it spoilt our opinion of this hotel because they just did not bother to sort it out.

Breakfast is served in the basement from 7 - 10 and was ok. Most mornings we were there it was very busy and whilst you could squeze onto the end of a table to eat if necessary, you then found yourself queuing for everything as the 'buffet' area isn't quite big enough to cope with the number of guests. There were 2 toasters (1 four slice, 1 2 slice) which take forever and the orange juice is far from freshly squeezed. The cereal is also either muesli or 'cornflakes' but there is plenty of other choice: hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cucumber, tomato, melon, orange, pickled herrings, yogurt etc, so nobody would leave hungry.

All things considered, if I was to return in the summer (and be guaranteed a room with a working thermostat!) then I would happily stay here again. However if returning in winter, I would stay in a more central hotel where the pavements and roads are ice free thanks to the 'underfloor' geothermal heat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

There's a lot to like about this hotel. Very helpful staff,really outstanding. Warm rooms, very clean. Huge shower room, everything in good working order. TV shows BBC1 and other main UK channels.
Four stars is already very good. To award the fifth I would like to have had more storage space - each person has a small bedside drawer and there is one very narrow cupboard with a hanging rail at a height more suitable for a Norse god than an average female.
Would not hesitate to use this hotel again. As we didn't get to see the Northern Lights we will just have to go back! With pleasure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and would recommend especially for the terrific view of the New Year fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.