We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klettur to your Saves list
Hotel Klettur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Greenock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a really good 3 night stay here, the hotel is very modern and clean and only a 5-10 minute walk to the main shopping streets in Reykjavik. The rooms were really nice and the large shower was excellent, there's a TV with some BBC channels and tea/coffee making facilities. Beds were comfortable and the duvet lovely and warm. There's a continental self service breakfast with plenty to choose from - but no hot food. We had an early flight on our day of depature and had to leave the hotel at 5am, luckily we went down to reception 10 minutes before the bus was due where we discovered there was breakfast available for us - no one in recpetion told us this the night before which was disappointing, we had literally 5 mins to eat some toast!

I'd recommend booking the flybus+ as the bus station is quite a bit away from the hotel.
We found Reykjavik very expensive but worth a visit, remember warm clothes even in summer!

Room Tip: try and get a room on the sixth floor as it had good views towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    320
    90
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
370
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've travelled a lot and have stayed in a lot of hotels, and the Hotel Klettur has some of the best customer service I've ever experienced in a hotel. Everyone is so nice and helpful and willing to go the extra mile (especially the blond guy on reception!).

The hotel itself is fine - big rooms, and big bathrooms with a huge open shower. Scandinavian looking with a lot of pale wood everywhere. Very clean. The beds are comfy and have warm duvets. The TV gets British, French, German and Icelandic channels. I found the location very good and definitely not more than 10 mins walk from downtown. It took me only about two minutes to walk to Laugavegur (the main shopping street). It took about 20-25 minutes to walk to the Old Harbour. Btw there is a good, very cheap pizza place right around the corner (if you are like me and collapse exhausted affter a long day hiking and just want to grab some quick takeout) - take a right out of the hotel and follow the road around to the right and down and it's right in front of you. There's also a supermarket which stays open late about a minute from that (turn left at the pizza place and walk along the main road).

The hotel has free wifi in the public areas, but my room was close to the lobby so I could pick it up there. There is no password for the wifi, when it brings up the log-in page, you have to click on 'create account' and choose a username and password for yourself.

The breakfast is a buffet comprised of cornflakes, branflakes or muesli (with milk or yogurt), fruit salad or prunes, different kinds of breads which can be toasted, different toppings (including jams and peanut butter), some kind of sweet pastry, and cheeses, cold meats, vegetables, and boiled eggs. Also a wide range of hot drinks and fresh apple or orange juice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had een nice and comfortable stay. Clean (simple) rooms and very friendly staff. Especially the staff of the reception. Reykjavik downtown is only 10 minutes by foot. We stayed for four nights and discovered Iceland by superjeep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here through the Iceland air package and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. It's spotlessly clean with some of the nicest staff i have ever come across.

The twin room we stayed in was well equipped and was toasty warm. The choice for breakfast was ample and the bar has a good choice of local brews. It's a short(ish) walk to central Reykjavic and/or to the front.

Just round the block is a pizza shop called Devito's which does take away or eat in and sells by the slice if required and is well worth a visit. It was also popular with the locals.

Really enjoyed my stay here and would chose to stay here if i am ever back in Rejkjavic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came across this hotel as part of a package deal with Icelandair - we were not disappointed. The hotel was modern and spotless, and the staff were some of the most helpful I have seen. They booked all of our day trips for us, and arranged buses to the airport etc. An excellent base for a stay in Reykjavik - only a 10 minute walk to the main street, and fantastic value for money. We hope to return to Reykjavik in the future, and we will definitely be staying in Hotel Klettur if we do!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week as part of an Icelandair package deal. The location is very handy, just around the corner from the top of the main street, which keeps it quiet but well within walking distance to the shops, restaurants etc. Maybe a 20 minute walk from the downtown area. The staff were extremely helpful when we had any questions, and booked several tours through independant companies for us. The hotel is fairly new, very clean, spacious and the heating works well on a cold night! Standard continental style breakfast. Not a bad work to say about our stay here, we do plan on returning to Iceland and would happily come back here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights at Hotel Klettur,modern clean hotel,great value for money and great location. Only slight improvement could be made with beds and pillows. Beds slightly hard and pillows very small,maybe a matter of taste though. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone´s throw from downtown. The hotel´s name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 86 rooms, of which there are 66 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klettur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.