We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets Basic Needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AR Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AR Guesthouse to your Saves list
AR Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Braedrarborgarstigur 3, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 102 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Meets Basic Needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights. The price we paid is unbelievably cheap. We did came before summer so it wasn't peak season. Our flight arrived at 7am so there was no one in the guesthouse to check us in. Good thing our driver was able to call the owner/manager. We were able to store our luggage while we walked around town until 2pm when we can check in to our room. There are many pros and cons to this place:
Pro:
1.) The price is very reasonable - we booked our rooms on Booking.com and got a really great deal
2.) The location is ideal - It is within 5 minutes walk to the heart of Reykjavik. It was so convenient to go to the information office, bars, restaurants, shops
3.) Heating in the guesthouse was pleasant. I never felt too warm or too cold in our room or any part of the guesthouse
4.) They have a fully functioning kitchen where you can cook food, store food in the refrigerator, a very old microwave but functioning, all sorts of utensils, sugar, spices and stuff
5.) The other guests we met during our stay were very nice decent people. When we got back from a tour around 9pm, there were a few guys downstairs that were pretty loud but when we saw one of them in the hallway, the guy apologized if they were too loud and that they're going out soon. It was only 9pm so no big deal. One couple told us we're welcome to have their left over groceries in the fridge since they were checking out that day.
6.) The bathrooms were not pretty but at least they kept them clean and well supplied with toilet paper and hand soap.
7.) It's located in a very quiet and safe neighborhood (Honestly, there was not a place in Reykjavik and the other parts of Iceland we visited that I did not feel safe)
8.) Our bed was very small but very comfortable.

Cons:
1.) The double room is very small for 2 people. We made a mistake of booking this room. In my past experience, a double room is sufficient but in this guesthouse it's way too small. Bed is too small for 2 people. I wish I did more research and booked their bigger room.
2.) The bathrooms are small and specially on the third floor, the shower is way too small. So, whenever we took a shower, we went to the second floor bathroom.
3.) The walls are very thin but we did not encounter a lot of noise during our stay. People were out in town or on tours most of the time. We only saw some of them in the morning or at night. Everyone seem very mindful of not making any noise.
4.) There is no housekeeping so you clean your own room, make your bed and use the same towel during your entire stay.
5.) The hot water from the faucet smelled like rotten eggs which is the sulfur. I'm not sure if all hostels/guesthouse/ hotels in Reykjavik are like that because of the geothermal heating. It'll be good to know. I wish I read that somewhere before coming to Iceland. It's ok because we know their water is very fresh and clean but just good to know beforehand

Staying at this guesthouse just depends on every person/ couple's needs. If you want a little nicer place with your own bathroom, pay more and book elsewhere. If you want cheap, great location, adequate place and don't mind sharing bathrooms with other guests then this place is worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Staying at AR Guesthouse for the second time. This place is blessed with a peacefull breathtaking mountain and waterfront view from both the terrace and our cosy, comfortable doubleroom also incl. a small sink, fridge and a neat dining area. - Enjoyed several strolls towards the city center, passing snuggy houses in all colors and shapes. Foodmarkets are a 5 min. walk from here. Catch up on your world history while fixing dinner in the kitchen - since this house is visited by all nationalities. If you need anything the staff is most happy to comply! Wifi 24-7.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at AR Guesthouse for 10 days. In our opinion the location is just perfect. Walking distance to the Information Centre downtown (where you can apply for tax refund), close to the whale watching dock (Elding), restaurants and shops. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was what we needed, basic but clean. The 3rd floor washroom has a shower but not installed though. Generally, the area is quiet at night time. Will recommend to those who are on budget- a definite bang for the buck.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic on the second floor mainly because the reception, washroom (with shower) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The AR Guesthouse is nice for the money. It close by all the needed Reykjavik shops and easy to get to by car. We walked around easily from the hotel. Unfortunately, we stayed on the second floor and it was bust=y day and night (like 2AM in the night) because the kitchen was there. Parking was free and there were lots of places on the street. It took a little help getting coordinated to pay but the key was there when we arrived.

Room Tip: The second floor has the kitchen and reception nearby so expect activity at all hours. On the plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a budget choice in Reykjavik. The location is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but clean, and there are good kitchen facilities available. The flybus dropped us right at the front door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My 21-year-old granddaughter and I have been here for nearly a week and it's been quite fine. Seems like a cross between a backpacker's hostel and a regular hotel. We have a room on the ground floor which is warm on a chilly day, is clean and has comfortable beds; it's close to the center of the city and the staff/manager is extremely kind and helpful. Although we did not use the kitchen except to store things in the frig, it appeared clean and pleasant had we chosen to cook something. The only issues concern the bathrooms. We did not have a private bathroom however there are two toilets right outside our door, one with a shower, both are kept clean, However the shower doesn't drain as well as it might nor does it keep the water inside the shower stall so the floor is always quite wet. This wasn't a huge problem but it did make showering a little less pleasant. All in all though we have been very happy with the atmosphere, the attitude of the management AND the price. Oh yeah...free wifi, really nice individual duvets and a pretty window out onto a nice neighborhood.

Room Tip: Even though it is a quiet place overall there are guests checking in and out and showering etc. at d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed 7 nights with my wife on second floor next to reception desk. Free Wifi & welcome to cook in a kitchen where basic utensils / seasonings are available, sometimes you can find ingredients left by other travellers for your cooking show. You can find a washing basin inside a room. Toilet & shower needs my 5 steps from my room. The owner is a gentleman who likes fashion and is patient to answer your questions politely and clearly. Location is not far from city centre, 5-10 minutes walking distance, and the same distance to a supermarket called "BONUS" - Pinky pig is a logo near the old harbour market, where you will likely go for whale-watching. What is more, the guesthouse is next to a 101 kindergarden where a group of kids wearing funny & colorful clothes playing around. They are so cute.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AR Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Guesthouse

Address: Braedrarborgarstigur 3, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AR Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AR Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AR Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.