We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Tryggvagata 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 555 1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 83 attractions in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality movies that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

... was it worth the money? They showed 2 films about volcano eruptions and how the Icelanders coped, which were very interesting. There was also a small rock/crystal collection to see but I did wonder whether it was worth the approx. £11 each.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest.
We thank you for taking the time to post a reply about Volcano House. We do wonder if you did actually get the Volcanic experience and see our movies? :) It sounds like you are wondering about if it was worth seeing, we hope these comments here on Trip advisor and our ratings give you a better input on the movies worth.
We hope to see you again and that you will see our movies next time.
All our best,
Volcano House staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    180
    77
    23
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Interesting movies, with coffee house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very interesting movies on the 1971 and 2010 eruptions. Available in English only unfortunately.

Movies are shown in small theaters. A group of students attended the sessions I attended and were less interested / raucous which was less than ideal. Ask prior to buying your ticket if a large group is scheduled on the same show.

Coffee shop is basic but functionnal, with interesting books available, if you need to wait for next representation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review about Volcano House. We sometimes get group bookings for the cinema which are not private, which means its an open show for every one. We have the movies in four languages; English, Icelandic, German and French. But during the winter time we only show it in English. If you have a group coming you can pre book the shows in another language and ask for a private show. We do hope that you enjoeyd the show just as well and had a good time here at Volcano. We welcome you back on your next trip to Iceland and hope you had a nice and safe journey home.

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two interesting volcano movies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This attraction is basically two movies of volcanic eruptions that lasts about 50 minutes. There is a small museum (free) with different types of lava.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at Volcano House and welcome you again any time.

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“An interesting programme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A delightful find down near the harbour area that shows 2 informative films about the history of volcanic eruptions in . There is also a cafe there and you can take your drinks into the cinema

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post this positive review about Volcano House and your enjoyable stay. All guests are welcome to bring in drinks, cakes and even hole meals served from Volcano house into the cinema to enjoy while watching the films.

Hope to see you again!

Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Volcano House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is basically a cafe with a small (50 people tops) cinema that shows two films. The first film is a longer documentary about the 1971 eruption in the south shore islands and the effects on the community. The archive footage and cosy room felt like watching a video in Geography at school! The second film is about the 2010 eruption of Eyjafjallajökull. There is also a small display of geological rocks.

The cafe is expensive so we just had coffee. I liked this place, it was an excellent oppertunity to sit down for over an hour and have a break from the weather during an exhausting day walking around Reykjavik. The films were informative and the coffee and service were excellent. On the flight home we actually flew over the south shore islands and thought about the film we had seen and looked at the new lava field on the island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post this review about Volcano House and for this detailed description of our cinema :). Great to hear that you liked the movies and the coffee, we might just point out that our prices are well within range of other coffee houses and restaurants downtown Reykjavík.
We thank you again and hope to see you again some day.

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Volcano House to your Saves list