We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Tryggvagata 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 555 1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 68 Attractions in Reykjavik
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality movies that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Saw this place on a cold january morning. Cafe took my eye, but once inside found it was more than that.

Ordered a coffee and booked to see the 11-00 hrs show. While waiting for the show and drinking my coffee the Gentleman who served me gave me a book to look at about the eruption on the Westerman Island back in the 70's.

The first film was about that...followed by the more recent in 2010. Really enjoyed this visit and it showed how hard the Icelanders worked to get back to normality after these events.Well Done!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest, as we say in Iceland -a thousand thanks for your review! We were so happy to hear about your great experience and that you enjoyed our hosipitality, our customers comfort is of upmost importance. We hope you will visit us again if you return to our beautiful country one day.
All our best, the Volcano House staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    209
    84
    25
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The price is 2000ISK for entry and you get to watch two films on volcanic eruptions in Iceland (one of them is about the eruption that happened a few years ago, the other is from the 1970s). We went one evening and were the only people there. The films were interesting although I would have liked to have seen more footage of the eruptions and less about the rebuilding. To view the films and the exhibition takes about an hour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post this review about your visit here at Volcano House. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back anytime.
All the best, the Volcano House staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Way too expensive, but nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Aknowledgedly, the welcome we got was very nice, staff was very curteous and helpful, but the entrance fee is way beyond what it should be, pretty much twice the price as far as I'm concerned!
For 2000 isk (that's about 12 euros or 15 bucks!) per adult you get to view two 20 minute-long films and get to see a bunch of stones exhibited in the lobby. A little bit lacking, in my opinion. But at least, it was all served with a smile.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for leaving a review about Volcano House and your enjoyment with our staff. Its great to hear that you found us welcoming, that is very important for us. Our movies now run for 53 minutes together and the price is 2000 ISK. That is well within the range of a normal cinema ticket price in Iceland but here you can only see the Eyjafjallajökuls documentary as we own the single rights to it.
We thank you again and hope you enjoyed your stay,
All our best, the staff of Volcano House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Expensive place to hide out from the weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

On our last morning, it was too cold to wander round so we ventured in here at about 10.20. The films start on the hour but as we're the only visitors, the one member of staff started it for us. They were two interesting films but not worth the entrance fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about Volcan House. We are happy to say that we have imrpoved and elongated our movies up to 53 minutes in total. We hope you return again one day to enjoy Volcano House again and we are happy to answer all you questions.
All our best, Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a fairly neat little place. The movies were documentaries about volcanic eruptions. The first movie is an old one and the second is a fairly new one. I enjoyed them. There is a small display in the lobby, with a nice little selection of beers.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you so much for posting this posative remark on Volcano House and are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our beer collection.
All our best, Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.