We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolabrautin

Kolabrautin
Austurbakki, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Wien
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a very special place with a wonderful view. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the design (e.g. each dish was served on another beautiful plate) and a delicious dinner (e.g. marinated salmon, ravioli filled with goose). We like this style of modern Nordic cuisine. Service was attentive, the prices for such a location are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great bar for drinks before the show or while exploring Reykjavik!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We didn't eat at the restaurant but did have drinks at the bar before heading out to another location. The bartender, Christian, was fantastic and knew both his drinks and the local scene very well! We enjoyed some local favorite drinks while learning about Harpa and Iceland. Highly recommend this bar and a walk around Harpa as part of your travel to Reykjavik.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went with my family for our traditional Christmas dinner. We have been going to various restaurants for about 20 years. This year was the best ever.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A sad letdown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Inexperienced and slow service mixed with bland food that doesn't quite get it right. The starters were delicious, but what followed got worse with every bite. The salmon we had for a main course was bland, tasteless and dull and the desert was straight out of the freezer and barely touched upon.

I was hoping for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic view with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Kolabrautin is located on the top floor of the concert hall at the Reykjavik harbor. The view from the restaurant over the harbor and towards the city center. The interior of the restaurant is very nice. It is very modern and open, but at the same time it has an relaxing ambiance created by the harbor view and the open kitchen. The food was very good as well as the service. I recommend all courses that have an Italian origin as that is the Chef's speciality

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolabrautin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kolabrautin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolabrautin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.