We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)

Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)
Skolavordustigur 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went to Sjávargrillið and had the "Grill menu", consisting of various dishes. The quality of the food was absolutely great, and each course was appealing in its own way - even those that had difficult ingredients such as puffin meat. The service was a bit "inexperienced", but only because our waiter was obviously new at this :-) He made that up with being very keen however, so it didn't bother us one bit.
Just a couple of minor complaints: We were seated upstairs, and it was too hot. The "Grill menu" was great, but if anything it was too much food! In the two desserts served in the menu, some of the same ingredients were used as garnish (same crumble, same sorbet) - having two completely different desserts would have been more fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    321
    76
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great fish, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed a catch of the day special and a "meat" special of lamb and minke whale. Fantastic. The children's grilled fish menu with salad and a small order of fries was attractively presented on a board and little copper pots. A complementary blueberry sorbet & crumble was offered to our child at the end of the meal - the most intense blueberry taste of smooth sorbet ever. Server was excellent. The best value meal we had in Iceland (it was recommended by a shop keeper)- gourmet for 3 and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me and my partner chose this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary whilst on holiday in Iceland and we are both so glad we did. The food was fantastic as well as the customer service and atmosphere. It also gave my partner the chance to try puffin which he had been dying to do since getting off the place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really great food in nordic style. Beautifully plated, very fresh, local and tasty. The space is warm and cosy, the service is nice and quick. This was our last meal in Iceland and we couldn't have expected more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I'm not a big seafood fan, but this was the first place ever I loved it! It was simply amazing and also not too expensive. Strongly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.