We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dessert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)

Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)
Skolavordustigur 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The service is good as other reviews.
What surprise us the most is the dessert. It is good looking and taste better! We ordered the second dessert right after we try the first one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    321
    76
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food and service was excellent! We didn't have a reservation but they fit us into the small bar area which was just fine. Recommend making a reservation. We had the 4 course lamb dinner and mom had the Langostina both were delicious and full of varied flavours. To our delight, servings were larger than we would have expected from a fine dining restaurant. Desserts were also hefty and a great finish to a perfect Icelandic meal! We would definitely go back if we had more time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We first went to the Seafood Grill (Monday night) the place was packed and there was a 45 minute wait. Rather than waiting, because we were all so hungry, we decided to make reservations for the following night. When we arrived on Tuesday the staff was very friendly and remembered us from the night before and sat us immediately. They were very quick with their service and provided complementary appetizers. The food, although a little on the pricey side, was AMAZING! I am not a big seafood eater and enjoyed everything that was ordered. It tasted so fresh and was cooked perfectly. It is definitely worth the price!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Heaven on plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was the best meal I have ever had. Ever. Every single course was beautifully prepared and brilliantly executed. We ooo'ed and ahhhh'ed over ever dish. Can't recommend it highly enough. A truly incredible dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very tasty and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fully booked so I had to wait 20 min for a table but the food was really worth it! Affordable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.