We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion Dessert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)

Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)
Skolavordustigur 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 290 restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fusion Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friend and I stopped in on a Thursday night after the symphony for dessert. I had the white chocolate mousse with dill sorbet,raspberry sauce, burnt white chocolate crumble, white chocolate crumble, and raspberry meringue. I love dill, but I was still apprehensive about it in sorbet form. But it worked! Oh. My. Gosh. Delicious!!!

The atmosphere was dark and comfortable. Perfect for a nightcap. Like everything in Reykjavik, it was expensive, but, in my opinion, worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    731
    210
    54
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Reservation a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We both had the fish of the day which was Cod. Neither of us could get especially inspired by the choice but then, we'd never had Cod prepared by a Master. Absolutely delicious as were the interesting and beautifully prepared sides. A word of advice though about dining reservations upon your arrival in this country. We arrived on a Wed. and didn't attempt to make a reservation for either Sat. or Sun. evening, until Sat. morning. Big mistake. The Seafood Grill was the only spot from my short list obtained from TA's top five restaurants in Reykjavik who made room for us on the Sun. night. At our Hotel Natura's suggestion, when faced with packed tables, we went to Hofnin's on Sat. night which was quite good where I enjoyed reindeer meatballs (disappointing wine list, however, but that seems to put them in good company in Iceland.) Make your reservations well ahead!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“grill menu wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Amazing food. We had the grill menu, this was a special meal for my husbands birthday.
The food tasted amazing and was beautifully presented.
This is a very large meal for two people but it was fun to try what Iceland has to offer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lived up to reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

like everything in iceland its not cheap - but the food was great - we tried the feast - 6 courses - i bit of everything - minki whale was yum

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tremendous fish restaurant, great dishes with thoughtful combinations of flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We used trip advisor to find this restaurant and having read the reviews thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed! The previous reviewers gave a good write up, the food was of a very high standard, full of flavour and imagination. We had a mid price set menu, of mussel lobster and fennel soup which was just stunning and I am not usually a seafood type person. The main mixed fish grill of catfish, plaice with yellow turnips (parsnips) with carrots and carrot sauce was lovely. The white chocolate mouse with dill sorbet was imaginative and very tasty. Like the other reviews we would recommend this friendly, busy restaurant a good find and well worth the visit. The menu was medium range at 6,400 each.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.